We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for location and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Shell Inn
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for location and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted to spend some time away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary. However, we didn't want to spend too much money because we had other places planned to go this summer with the kids. When we first arrived there we were a little apprehensive and we thought it was directly ON the beach, but after getting settled in we were very pleased with our decision to stay. The room was incredibly clean, the people were very friendly and it was conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. It is on the same side as the beach, there is just a couple houses between this place and the actual beach. We were very pleased with their "barrowing beach necessities" available for us to use. I used a beach chair, umbrella, and a raft at the beach. I thought that was nice to not have to go buy those things. The pool was right outside our door, so we didn't have to fight for a chair or ride an elevator to go to the pool. It's a small place and pretty quiet. There is a grocery store directly across the street, which was nice and it was very close to many great restaurants. But at the same time not right in the middle of the madness. You must eat at Heavenly Biscuit, Hoosier's in Paradise and rent bikes to rides! There are not fast food restaurants on this beach or any chain stores or restaurants. It's a very unique beach. It's not over crowded and the shells we found were ridiculous. We had to buy another suitcase just to get all of the big shells we found on the airplane. It is a short distance to Sanibel Island (you will have to pay $6 to go over the bridge each time) but it is a must see. Ultimately, I would recommend staying here if you are looking for something low key, close to the beach, and inexpensive. We were glad we didn't spend more on a fancy condo because we go to spend more on other things to enhance our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katieandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
117
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durant, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

every one was great and friendly the room was clean and the pool was just out our door. the beach was just a close walk. we are planing on making this the only place we stay at.they even have beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, some water toys, and ice chests to use at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this place by reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It really is a vice nice place about a block from the beach. The rooms, pool area and general hotel area are incredibly clean. The room was very comfortable, provided a refrigerator, microwave, iron, large screen tv and a VERY comfortable bed.
The staff are Great and they also provide small ice chests, beach towels, floats and everything else you need for the beach or pool. It is located a cross the street from a market and liquor store as well.
The beach is about a block away. This is a great find and the cleanliness cannot be matched in this area. Thank you all for the great accurate reviews on this great place to stay. I will go back again soon!!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms, so pick the best one for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agentgwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location , charming hosts, comfortable & immaculately clean, in all a beautiful little oasis by the shore with everything on hand.............thank you everyone at Beach Shell..............truly a gem! Would not hesitate to return ..........................................................................................................

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peejLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is quite a jewel. Read the wonderful reviews and they are correct!!!! Room is very clean, decorated nicely. Comfortable bed, everything as advertised. Just a very short walk to the beach. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Found this thru Trip Advisor. If your looking for an inexpensive, CLEAN, nice place to stay that is quiet and a few steps from the beach, this is it. Older, but in good shape, nice pool. Owner on premises, she cares about her guests and it shows.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4snowdog .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay here and found the room fairly small but very clean and comfortable. Really lovely location by the beach and just a 20 minute stroll along the beach to the pier and town centre. Very good, friendly, attentive service too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#22 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Property: Beach Shell Inn
Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing