We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean, clean and friendly”
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Shell Inn
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean, clean and friendly”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I just spent a short weekend at the Beach Shell Inn. This is typically not the style of hotel we stay at - we usually stay at larger hotels. We really enjoyed Beach Shell Inn. We had a basic queen room that was small - but clean and comfortable. The owners manage the daily operations so anything you need they are there to address. The hotel is on a beach access road - so a mere 100 feet and you are on one of the best sections of Ft. Myers Beach. The Inn is conveniently located and in walking distance to restaurants and shops. We will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Fo a small Inn - they have many different rooms to meet needs of couples or families. We were out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    65
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights and found this place to be all we were looking for. VERY CLEAN, reasonably priced and centrally located (but not in the middle of the tourist area). Staff was very helpful. This is not a new property, but is well maintained and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaNative_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Quite studio apartment type room clean and comfortable staff is very pleasant and helpful
A short 5 min walk to the beach
Very reasonable rates centrally located to San Carlos Boulevard within walking distance of several good restaurants about a 30 minute drive to Lovers Key preserve

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwconch734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealdC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As I wrote, our second visit and it was fair and beautiful.

Very nice location and beach access, parking lots, free wifi which works, nice community and "family feeling". I'd love to sit at the pool in the evening, meeting different kind of people of different states and regions ( many greetings to the man from Ohio I met, perhaps he read it )

Ok, some things could be renovated because they are a little bit older, but all was clean and thats very importent for us.

Nice stuff, nice and friendly management! If something doesnt work you can be sure it will be arranged in a short time.

Our two teens had fun at the square and its safe to walk there at the street, ( its better not to walk a long the beach at night, take the street at night ( a resident told us ) ) Also trolly station is directly at the street.

So, we will come again for sure. Greetings from Switzerland and Beach Shell Inn - I miss you ;-)

Chris

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is such a great hotel. The pool is always clean and the rooms are always getting constantly cleaned up at the right time. The people that work at this hotel are very caring. It's very quiet. Definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filosofo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May 2013 after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, an excellent find. The welcome was warm and the room surprisingly spacious with full cooking facilities and a well stocked kitchenette. Very good value for money. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to the centre Times Square, we walked there along the beach and ambled back via the road. There is also a Trollee bus service that runs past the hotel and costs $0.50. Parking in Times Square is at a premium and charges range from $6 to $8 so walking suggested. Small pool but perfect for a chill out, the beach is just a couple of minutes away and you are allowed to take hotel chairs to the beach if you wish.

. An excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beasles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinios
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Beach Shell Inn on Fort Myers Beach proved to be exactly as most other reviews had described: just steps from the beach, clean, comfortable, and perfect for a family getaway. We stayed for a week in their 2 bedroom apartment with my 1-1/2 year old grandson and his parents. The place was flawlessly clean and well stocked with all the little things necessary for a laid-back beach vacation. We had views of the gulf and the well-kept pool area and were located across the street from a small supermarket. The Beach Shell Inn is within walking distance of several decent restaurants and is efficiently managed by its owner, Cheryl, who serves as concierge giving directions and great recommendations. All in all, this jewel of a place was just what we hoped it would be!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxDensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Property: Beach Shell Inn
Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing