We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our first stay at Silver Sands was a good one - great location, great pool, great atmosphere, friendly staff. However our unit was a little rough. There was a small glob of toothpaste in the sink when we arrived, part of the bed was missing which created a sort of swayback but was immediately fixed, and the vertical blinds did not close completely posing a privacy issue at night since the unit faced the courtyard. Also the entry door did not seal completely leaving a huge gap which could allow any insects to enter although we didn't see any. Assured of more privacy we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 504 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at Silversands 5 times and we have always had a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly and helpful and always respond to any requests. The Villas are two blocks from Times Square and 40ish steps from the beach. This is not a fancy spa-like resort. It has a relaxed old Key West atmosphere. We already have our reservations for next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meroslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I've stayed down on the beach, at many locations, for almost 20 yrs, but for the first time at the Silver Sands. The location can't be beat, well unless you want to be right on the beach. Across the street is just a short hop to the sand and central Times Square locale. Stayed in a basic room w/micro & small fridge, and everything was fine, and clean. Bathroom was quite sufficient, with a large shower. Overall, no complaints can be made, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed 3 days over New Years Eve. Two friends had a room with full kitchen living room and outdoor patio on a canal. My room was a small room with micro and fridge, which is what I reserved. We had so much fun in FMB. and the people running the desk ( Debbie And I forgot the name of other gal, sorry, were funny and friendly.)and hotel in general were great. Near Times square and Mermaid Bar right across the street. Great hot dog place onsite. Rooms vary a lot in style and size so choose what you need. Fireworks, at midnight, on the beach, were some of the best I've seen.

Room Tip: I had room 15a. beer bottles next door are dumped at 2 or 3 a.m.. Didn't bother me but might s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We made a trip to FL this year from MI and stayed at Silver Sands like we have in the past. We always arrive in FL in the early hours of the morning since we drive straight through, unlike past years the older gentleman that greeted us was not as accommodating with giving us access to our room and made us wait till the 3pm check-in time, when the room had been cleaned for hours. We sat outside in the sun with our 9 year old son and dog. Not sure if he forgot about us, but it was kind of hard when we were sitting by the office/pool area. At least the weather was nice.

There were also some issues with the room. Though the sofa and chair were new, the bedroom furniture left a lot to be desired. Drawers that didn't work, the closet doors not functional. The kitchen was not as clean as it could be (splatters on underside of cabinets above sink, that I wiped off). Fridge had knife marks on the side, missing shelves. The cabinets were in bad shape. Lack of serving bowls....There is also an issue with the floor in the bedroom, not sure the laminate wood floor should flex when you walk on it, was afraid it was going to pinch my foot.

There were a number of other items that popped up in the 8 days we were there; the hot dog stand owner asking us to move our car from our assigned spot because it was obstructing peopling seeing his place, the cat that attacks dogs and kids (though this is a dog friendly place??), the staff that smoke constantly and was not helpful when we asked to use a vacant parking space on the side of the resort to packing out vehicle to leave (they had plenty of open parking as most guest left NY's or the day after, this was 2 days after). The owner Andrea is very nice as she always has been and I can understand that she can't be there all the time but the other staff may be hurting business. I am not sure we will be back....I think the whole areas FMB has forgot what pays the bills, the tourist....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just stayed one night but the experience was excellent. Room was large, modern and very clean. Full kitchen, Flat screen TV and steps from the pool. Pleanty of resturants, bars, and a 7-11 steps away so no need for a car during the evening. The beach is right across the street and outdoor shopping plaza a few bloack away. Very friendly staff and the grounds were inviting with plenty of places to sit privately. Has an old Florida feel which is great. Highly recommend you consider.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the fron of the property for a bit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nice idea and great pool, ideal location close to beach & bars/restaurants. Bed was way too soft and made a lot of noise every time I moved. Every morning got woken up by very noisy dustcarts at 6.30am, and neighbouring bars created noise until late.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve81278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
445 reviews
4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Villas

Address: 1207 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $146 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 60 steps to the sand and only two blocks from Times Square, Silver Sands Villas features "Key West" style charm. We invite you to spend your next vacation or weekend in the heart of Fort Myers Beach at our quaint property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Villas Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing