We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to like this place but can't”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skip One Beach Seafoods - CLOSED

Skip One Beach Seafoods
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 11-9 Everyday! Full Bar! Happy Hour Everyday 3-6! Half off well, house wine, & drafts! Amazing seafood! Specials Everyday! Beach Seafood Market right next door! Salads, soups, seafood, burgers, sandwiches, homemade pies, & kids meals! Come & eat & drink & enjoy!
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I wanted to like this place but can't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'm a local and was happy to see the building be occupied and very excited about the possibility of a decent restaurant in the area. Sadly the highest rating I can offer is "average" but I'm being generous with the rating with hopes of them improving rather than going out of business. I know it's off season but the food shouldn't suffer because of that. I don't know how the management could take such an elegant space and run it down the way they have. Also, the market next to the restaurant is pitifully stocked and doesn't have the odor of a fresh seafood market. I really want Skip One to do well, but from what I can see, failure is on the horizon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatsandsleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    186
    70
    49
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing at Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went there to celebrate a anniversary. I ordered a seafood combo. To begin with you were able to choose 2 side dishes. "BREAD" was on of the sides. I have never gone to a restaurant where bread was considered a side. I ordered salad and a baked potato. My salad was warm to say the least instead of chilled. My baked potato had a strange taste. My seafood, which consisted of grouper, 3 shrimp and 4 scallops had its problems. The shrimp was very good, 3 of the 4 scallops were good but the 4th one had a bad taste. The grouper was "extremely" fishy which fresh good grouper is never fishy!!! When I told the waiter his comment was that sometimes the grouper is fishy. I think what he meant to say that when grouper (if that is actually what the fish was) is old and not fresh it is fishy. Unfortunately I will not return to this restaurant. The prices were on the high side especially for poor food. Also their hostess was way too young and acting quite silly. Not a very professional atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had the house's grilled platter.
The Grouper did not taste very fresh to me.
If you like lots of tarter sauce on your fish this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the very best in Ft Myers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

there is 2 locations now, one on 41 and 1 on San Carlos Blvd where sandy butler was at one time. they have the best fresh seafood in Ft Myers. there is a market also and it has the best prices and freshness found around. small comfortable bar. Plenty of parking and outdoor seating is available. I had fired oysters and they were the best I have had, hubby had the grouper nuggets and he got full and still brought home four pieces we could not eat. both were platters and total was right at $50.00 this place will be packed when snow birds get down here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch at Skip One for the 2nd. time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The service was great, the waitress took good care of us and the frog legs were great. Others in the party had a crunchy grouper sandwich and clam chowder soup and commented on how good the food was. I had both on a previous visit and that's the reason we came here. They were not disappointed with my recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skip One Beach Seafoods also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing