We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh homemade food”

Maria's Smokehouse and Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Description: Maria's Smokehouse and Seafood Restaurant features a zesty Cajun menu, great drinks, and award winning dishes. With remarkable smoked seafood and dockside patio seating, Maria's exceeds anything in the area. Our restaurant may look a little unimpressive from the outside, but don't judge a book by it's cover. Enter and you'll find a dining establishment full of kitschy character. Your taste buds will explode when you indulge into our menu, from our 2012 Best Dish Award Crawfish Etouffee to our wildly popular gumbo, everything pops with unforgettable taste. All dishes are seasoned with secret blends of spices taken from our little garden plots and pots around the restaurant that are bursting with fresh herbs and spices. No short cuts here at all. For all around best food, a zesty Cajun taste, and great drinks, Maria's exceeds anything in the area. This is THE place to dine.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good fresh homemade food”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

First off the food was very good. But this place is not for everyone. Here are a few things you need to know. If you blink you'll drive right past it. The parking lot is very small. The place is very small and is basically an enclosed shack and not much to look at in or out (it was however very clean). The bathrooms are in a different building in the parking lot. The service is slow but very friendly. All that being said, it is still a place I would go back to. Had the all you can eat fried fish which was fresh and delicious. Fried shrimp was also very good. I would not recommend the crab cakes. If you give it a try, don't expect anything, other then the good food.

Helpful?
Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Bend
2 reviews
“Best fish and best coleslaw. Don't judge place until you eat the food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is over the bridge from Fort Myers Beach. It is an older, very small place that is considered a shack but the fish, coleslaw, and potatoes were some of the best EVER. I hope they never (have to) change the atmosphere as it is part of it's character. Don't judge until you eat the food. Don't go if in a hurry or want white glove treatment. Place is clean but dated. Will go again and recommend to family and friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeO132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We was recommended the restaurant by the hotel,and it was a good choice.
The restaurant was full when we arrive, but 10 minutes later there was a table free.
Extremely good service, excellent food, and the best bones we have had in a loooong time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UnTjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Maria's Smokehouse and Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
I'm so glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us, and were seated so quickly for your meal. We always want you to feel taken care of with us and enjoy a delicious meal. Hope to have you back again for more delicious food soon.

Until then,
Damien, Waiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best shrimp in Ft Myers beach!!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After eating fried shrimp at many places, Maria's is the freshest and most delicious!!! If you love shrimp, it is a MUST try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This eating establishment is well, let's say, unique. If you are thinking elegant environment to have a dinner then this is not the place. If you are thinking "don't care about the ambiance just give me some good food" then this might be your place. Food is decent with some being fresh Florida fish and some being farm raised (all you can eat is farm raised fish). Service is no frills "kind of take it or leave" approach. So not a bad spot but I am sure are better locations to eat than here where fish is fresh and service is better at the same price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nascardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Smokehouse and Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria's Smokehouse and Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing