We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit much better”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited here last year and was not happy about the service, but we like the position and food so much we decided to give it another try. This visit our waitress was Debbie and everything was very good. The service was excellent, attentive and friendly, food great and love the position. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for trying us again. I believe I met you Saturday on a return visit after you wrote this review. My pleasure meeting you and hope to see you soon. ~Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 683 of 986 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have driven and boated here on multiple occasions. My husband really likes the pizza which actually comes from somewhere else (not sure I fully understand that feature). I really liked getting a full carafe of water so that us thirsty folks could re hydrate without having to wait and feel like a major imposition on a rather hot day. The jazz on Friday night is quite pleasant to take visiting folks to hear. The food is satisfying without being too expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamela and thom... f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for coming in and the nice review! Our pizza is a creation of Chef Dave's from our previous restaurant Dockside's Sports Pub. Currently the lot Dockside's was on is The Harbour House. We did however, keep our brick ovens in our satellite prep room located across the street from Matanzas. It is here we continue to make our pizzas from scratch. Hope to see you soon! ~Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is great! Spent an afternoon with friends dining waterside at a marina table. All 4 of us ordered the shrimp burger: mouth - wateringly good. Nice accompaniment of sides to go with it. Waitress, Karen, should be easy pick for employee of the year at this restaurant. Friendly, helpful, accommodating with just enough attention to not be intrusive and highly respectful of fact that we were visiting FL and seeing our friends for first time in several years. Do not miss this Ft. Myers Beach treasure.

Thank funtripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Wow! Thank you for coming and we are very happy that you had a wonderful time at our restaurant. Karen is an excellent server and I will personally thank her for this review. Please ask for me on your next visit. ~Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We go to FMB for two or three weeks every year and Dave's Dockside Pizza is always on our list of Must Do's...we usually sit at a table to watch sports that is serviced by the bartender and we usually get little attention and have to go to the bar for service...this year we sat in a different part of the bar and was served by Chelsea...she was SUPER and we really enjoyed our visit. Bar closes at 10PM and you may have to leave to finish watching your game at another bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brewery97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

First of all, thank you for coming to our restaurant! Dave has been working on that recipe for 25 years so he appreciates the feedback. I will also pass a "thank you" on to Chelsea. Although we would love to stay open to accommodate our guests, we have an agreement with our neighbors across the canal to cancel all noise after 10pm. Thank you for your review. ~Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I love the crunchy gouper sandwich!, this is always first on my list as soon as we cross the bridge. This is a fun place to sit, eat, and watch the boats coming and going, and the attempts at docking at the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank guilt-trip-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Always nice to read reviews like yours. Thank you for coming and we hope to see you soon! ~Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing