We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
Ocala, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The portion size of our dinners was disappointing for the price. The taste was just ok, not impressive. If you go for a sandwich or their pizza, its worth it. Nice deck to sit and eat on overlooking the bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank calhoun2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    310
    80
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot to drink or dine-or BOTH!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The upstairs open air bar is perfect, even in the hot, late July heat because the breeze blows through beautifully. The bar menu is very good, and in the off season they will allow you to order more complete meals from the down stairs restaurant menu. The food is simply delicious. PERIOD. The fried oysters were perfect, as well as their conch chowder. The shrimp salad is heaven. No complaints what-so-ever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vin1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to see dolphins”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Kids loved the dockside table. We spotted some dolphins swimming by. However we thought the food was average. Not fantastic, and a bit pricey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy041617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Blackened Grouper Sandwich on Deck”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great sandwich...fish was super fresh...service from Kelly was super...even live music. The server even offered to go downstairs to get us the main rest. menu if we didn't see anything we liked on the deck menu. Highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, outstanding service”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our party thoroughly enjoyed the chef-prepared meals we ordered. Everything was delicious and technically prepared in a manner that made it obvious to us that professional chefs are working in the kitchen. Even better than the food is the service staff at Matanzas. Every server we have had takes a real interest in the guest's dining experience. This makes the experience one of the best on the island and keeps us coming back year after year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing