We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great food”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location and great food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant twice while we were in Fort Myers. He chose twice from the top end of the menu going for the full works lobster, crab etc and he thoroughly enjoyed both of his meals. I chose from the cheaper end - stuffed fish and stuffed shrimp. Both meals were delicious. The setting was water side and on the first evening we were entertained by a dolphin and jumping fish. Good service as well makes this a restaurant well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    319
    82
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Water side lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped by here after a morning on Fort Myers beautiful beach for a bite of lunch. This restaurant and Inn is "under the bridge" on the north end of the island and very convenicently located within a short walk to the "Broadway" tourist area.
This place has been there for quite awhile and after we ordered and ate the baby back ribs and the stuffed grouper we were very happy with our choice of a place to eat lunch.
I'll be back there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing view , a mouse and over priced meals !”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Been to Matanzas loads of times love the view but menu never changes. They have a new menu so we thought we would give it a try .we where seated outside by our server who told us there was a mouse running behind our table , we saw it !! my friends wife hates mice so I saw there was a free table by the water. I told the front of house about the mouse and if the table was free she replied I Duno in a uninterested voice . We moved our own silverware to new table . Had a carafe of Chablis at a great price . The onion rings are amazing . Our mains New York strip good , Grouper very small , chicken dish very dry . All mains where top dollar and not good value compared to Nervous Nellys just down the road . All in all we had , amazing onion rings , good value Chablis , a fantastic view but next time we will go to Nervous Nellys it's a great place and great value and the same view .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We'll come back here next time we are in Ft Myers Beach”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was our last night of a wonderful week in Ft Myers Beach and we were looking for a comfortable casual place with good food. We chose to sit inside because of the heat and had a window table with a nice view of the docks. I had the Rum battered coconut shrimp and my wife had the blackened Mahi Mahi. both were great! the Mahi Mahi was especially tender and flavorful. Myriam was a very good server as well.

The margaritas were also good, as was the glass of house Chardonnay which my wife had.

This was a very honest restaurant, not one that was trying to be something more than it had the potential to be.

we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deleed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view & Yummy Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The outdoor seating was fabulous. There was also indoor overlooking the outside. The food was better than most of the places we found near or in Times Square area. Would go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing