We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great location”

Charley's Boat House Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: A tradition of excellence! Charley's is always a local favorite. Taste of the Islands Award Winner, year after year. We strive for perfection in quality, service and taste. #1 Certified Angus Beef Restaurant in Florida, aged and hand cut on site.
Hurst, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food, great location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

love the location right on the inland waterway side of ft myers beach. can watch egret feeding on fish at dusk. service very good, they pull off refined in a casual resort town. prime rib is good. fresh full salad buffet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    450
    174
    60
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durand, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“wonderful salad bar”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a short ride from our hotel. Good food, good service, but we sat by the window and the inland water it is on was green and yucky!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank judishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Come Hungry Leave Happy”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Took family of four (two adults + two teens) on a whim when our first choice was found to be booked solid (Fathers Day), We were not disappointed! First the salad bar is all that the other reviewers have said - fresh, well stocked and an extensive array of offerings I've rarely seen on any salad bar. There were over a dozen choices of dressings alone if that tells you anything. All their steaks are AGED Angus. If you've never had or don't know what aged beef is, then go here and find out why it's something to brag about. Very friendly and attentive service. The interior is a little dingy with a decent albeit limited view of the water(from where we sat at least) but the food and service make up for it. We will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent, not great”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I went here and were not overly impressed. The atmosphere and service was very good but the food was average. I had the blackened grouper and it was ok, I've had much better. Meals were $20+ and for that amount I except a lot better food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin042781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reality Check”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As fairly regular visitors to Fort Myers Beach, we have been to this restaurant a few times. The food has always been okay. But, considering the description offered by the establishment, it falls considerably short of the mark. Prices are a bit high for the quality and quantity of food provided, stay the salad bar, which has always been an excellent, standard options, selection.
On our last visit, we again went to the restaurant. Our server was a gentleman named Tim. Service was less than mediocre. Drinks remained unfilled, and a request for additional bread went unfulfilled with multiple requests. The restaurant was not particularly busy. The 1/2 pound snow crab was very good. Typical for such a meal. A full slab rib dinner, with "fall of the bone" description, was unbelievably served. The ribs were overlooked, dry and chewy as the need to tear them off the bone proceeded. 2 filet steaks were ordered and the ensuing steaks were divinely tender, perfectly cooked and COMPLETELY TASTELESS. They were beautiful choices of meat but absent of appropriate seasoning.
My wife decided to simply consume some of her filet and then offer the remaining to our son who proceeded to dip the steak in ketchup to make it more palatable. I informed our server, Tim, of the tasteless meat. He simply said "okay" and took my plate away. No apologies, no offer of replacement or remedy.
Our bill was delivered and a $25 deduction was made. The steak that was returned was a $32 selection. Again, no apologies and no visit or query by any member of management.
Apparently, customer satisfaction is an exceptionally low priority.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Boat House Grill also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Charley's Boat House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing