We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charley's Boat House is simply great !!!”

Charley's Boat House Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: A tradition of excellence! Charley's is always a local favorite. Taste of the Islands Award Winner, year after year. We strive for perfection in quality, service and taste. #1 Certified Angus Beef Restaurant in Florida, aged and hand cut on site.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charley's Boat House is simply great !!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic meal at Charley's tonight. We witnessed a very strong team effort in assuring that patrons had an excellent experience at this wonderful eatery. The team work was exceptional starting with the Manager Michael and supported by all of the staff including our server Jen and the kitchen staff who delivered our meals to our table and as we witnessed they served meals to all of the tables. Such cooperation of staff is unusually strong including other support staff who made sure that patrons had water when they were seated as well as the clearing and re-setting of tables when patrons left. The food was - lets just say wonderful - and in my wife's opinion - as with mine - 5 star quality - we will definitely be back there prior to leaving this area - overall it was a truly wonderful dining experience !!!! ***** It is a great place for couples and families - the menu offers many wonderful choices and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronchie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    448
    171
    60
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's good, not great but that's OK”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had the steak and coconut shrimp. Portion sizes were large, food was tasty, and we had great service. The salad bar was really large and had all sorts of choices. I wouldn't say it was awesome, just tons of toppings and well stocked. I could see why some people rated this place so high, but to me, it's really good, but not great. I'd definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“salad bar is huge but average at best”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I ate alone at this resturanat. I had the salad bar which is huge, but not overly impressive. Much of the fruit looked canned and the pasta type salads were bland. I know this place gets rave reviews and I really wanted to love it but just was not that impressed.

Service was great, sitting by the window with a view of the backwaters was nice, cost of the salad bar was ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Salad Bar........decent food.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the first time in a couple of years we tried Charlie's Boat House. The entree's on the menu aren't spectacular, but the salad bar is! I'm really impressed with the quality and freshness of the food on the salad bar and obviously this place is a favorite of many as it was packed.

Really cool view of the back canal/bay and the terriaki kabob was really good. My husband had the Rib roast and said it was ok...not the best he ate, but was good.

Will return there next year...probably will only get the salad bar as it's the best thing there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdicke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Food is good salad bar is excellent service was very attentive. This is a nice place not super fancy and has some good prices. We try to hit it once each year we are here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonpig62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Boat House Grill also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Charley's Boat House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing