We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Charley's Boat House Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tradition of excellence! Charley's is always a local favorite. Taste of the Islands Award Winner, year after year. We strive for perfection in quality, service and taste. #1 Certified Angus Beef Restaurant in Florida, aged and hand cut on site.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We tried this restaurant because of groupon. We were pleasantly surprised by the food and service. The salad bar is pretty good, and the server we had was great. Their warm Bread is awesome. Between the salad bar, bread and soup, we filled up before our entrees even came. Other than that the restaurant was pretty busy, atmosphere was casual, entree portions were average, and we would definitely go back again...even without a groupon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    436
    167
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Go to Charley's every year when visiting Fort Myers Beach. Always very good food, esp. the salad bar and steaks. This year we had an excellent waiter at our table that made the experience even more enjoyable. Will definitely ask for Rob McKenney next year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great salad bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed Charley's so much we ate there twice while visiting Fort Myers Beach! The food and service were excellent. I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlySoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always the culinary highlight of our trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

With so many dining choices in and around Fort Myers Beach it can be hard to know which are worth the money and which should be skipped entirely. Over the years we have enjoyed many meals all along Fort Myers Beach and none of them compare to those we have been served at Charley's. Our visit this trip was no exception. We arrived at around eight-o-clock and the place was fairly busy. We waited in the lounge area for no more than ten minutes before we were shown to our table. Upon arriving at our table our server Toni quickly greeted us and she was very warm and friendly, even stopping to crack a few jokes with us. She made us feel welcome and assured that we wanted for nothing during the duration of our visit. After wine service, we helped ourselves to the immense salad bar which is always a treat. I could have gone back for seconds but I was saving room for my main course. I ordered the tuna steak, rare which was prepared perfectly and accompanied by a side of wasabi and an asian dipping sauce, both delicious. My wife had broiled salmon which was moist and delicious also. Upon the completion of our meals, the manager Mike stopped by to check on us and was warm and jovial and really made us feel at home. We can't wait to come back to Fort Myers Beach as we look forward to Charley's being a very important part of our trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reekaverbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dinner EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've lived in Ft Myers for 20 years and would have never found Charley's Boathouse without Groupon. If you want a big cocktail selection, the freshest, best salad bar ever, and a dinner you will not forget (my husband says they have the best prime rib he ever ate). I had King Crab - cut nicely so I didn't have to struggle with it! The service, from the hostess and cocktail waitress to the server and bus staff were attentive at just the right times, and very nice. The 45 minute wait didn't phase us, because a good meal is worth it. If you want to avoid the wait, get there right at 5:00 or have a party of 6 or more to make a reservation. We will be back again, and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Boat House Grill also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Charley's Boat House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing