We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid bar food. Nice view.”
Review of The Beached Whale

The Beached Whale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The best BBQ and Seafood restaurant on the Fort Myers Beach featuring outdoor dining and happy hour Mon-Fri from 2-5! Amazing food, spectacular service, and 26 TV's for all your family's sports fans!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Solid bar food. Nice view.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were there when it wasn't so busy, so were able to sit at a booth on the deck that had a decent view of the Gulf. I advise going when it isn't that busy so you can enjoy the view of the Gulf as well. We had wings which were way too greasy but at five bucks for a dozen I was not about to complain(the five bucks is during happy hour). We had a really nice shrimp flatbread which I would get again without hesitation. The pulled pork sandwich was also pretty good. During happy hours they have some great drink specials like 99 cent drafts. Not a bad spot for the beach. I would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    479
    182
    69
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the first place we ate at when we arrived in Ft. Myers. The food was good and they gave you a large plate of food. We sat upstairs on the outside deck and enjoyed the view. The table also had an umbrella to provide shade from the sun. Enjoyed it very much!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found the Beached Whale to be a great place to eat.
Sat up on the upper floor overlooking the street we could watch the world go by as well as eat some really great food.
The service was good and whatever food we ordered on our visits it was first class.
I would certainly recommend a visit (or two) if you are in the locality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Read the reviews, not really up to the ratings”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews, sounded good so we tried it. Burger, grouper sandwich, hot wings, 2 sodas and $42 later we were charged for soda refills. I do not remember being charged for a refill of my soda in a long time. The burger was good as we're the wings, but had to put lemon on the Grouper to get past the heavy fish taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomkimbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The crawl......”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we decided to try a few tripadvisor recommendations. On the list was the Beached Whale, also recommended by our server Jason (rodeo) at SOB. We sat downstairs, ordered our drinks and asked about happy hour. NO disappoints here......Tasty mussels and excellent wings. Atmosphere wasn't what i imagined. food was amazing and everyone was pleasant and accomodating......... it was a great start to our afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lily429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beached Whale also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Beached Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing