We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beached Whale

The Beached Whale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The best BBQ and Seafood restaurant on the Fort Myers Beach featuring outdoor dining and happy hour Mon-Fri from 2-5! Amazing food, spectacular service, and 26 TV's for all your family's sports fans!
Midwest
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived just after 6 on a Friday and wanted to sit on the upper deck because the weather was beautiful. We had to wait about 20 minutes. It would be nice to see more of the beach or the sunset from the top deck, but the buildings across the street mostly block the view. Service was not super friendly during the busiest time but loosened up later. The food came out in a timely manner and was delicious. I had the fish tacos, two tacos overstuffed with chunks of grilled fish and pico de gallo, which I didn't think I could finish, but I did! The coleslaw was perfectly dressed and tasted freshly shredded. My daughter raved about the Yucatan Shrimp tacos. The inside part of the restaurant downstairs was pretty empty if you didn't want to wait. The tables and booths on the deck are a tight squeeze if your party is larger than 4-5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    472
    180
    69
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second time here. Both times we've sat up on the roof deck. The first time was for lunch and it was great.
This trip we went for dinner and again sat up on the roof deck. It was pretty busy and we had to wait at the bar for a table. No big deal. Bartender was fast and friendly.
When we were seated the server was over right away. All in all the food we had that night was decent. This isn't a fine dining establishment so if you go expecting that you may be disappointed.
We enjoy stopping in here when we visit and have never been unhappy with the food or the service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coachdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loud music and party types”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food was fair to terrible. How can someone ruin a hot dog. Some of the kids we were with enjoyed the food. We did not enjoy the tight fit of the crowd bumping the people sitting down trying to eat. We will never go back, but the twenty something crowd loves drinking there, especially on the upper deck.
Not a great place for a family with kids or older folk who might object to being jostled around. My ears hurt by the time we left.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrannyB716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great View and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to eat on the Beach. My wife and I split and order of their delicious Buffalo Shrimp. Man they're good. For the main course I had the Fish and Chips. The fish was perfectly fried as well as the fries. My wife had the Margaitta flat bread. That sad to say was not very good. The crust was tough and tasted like it was frozen. She couldn't finish it. The server and service was great. He took the Flat bread off the bill. We sat upstairs and enjoyed a nice breeze an watched the sun set. Except for the flat bread we never had a problem. The food is very good. You'll see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BW639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Enjoying food, family and friends on the upper (outside) deck is a great experience. It's a MUST on any trip to Fort Myers Beach. Atmosphere is great, casual and the food is fabulous. Everything from pulled port to fried grouper.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddmca515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beached Whale also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Beached Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing