We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beached Whale”
Review of The Beached Whale

The Beached Whale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: The best BBQ and Seafood restaurant on the Fort Myers Beach featuring outdoor dining and happy hour Mon-Fri from 2-5! Amazing food, spectacular service, and 26 TV's for all your family's sports fans!
Detroit Lakes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beached Whale”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We didn't feel like dining out but wanted some gulf shrimp, so we called in a to-go order. Kids got burgers and adults got peel and eat shrimp. We enjoyed it enough that we called in orders 3 days in a row! Everyone there seemed very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    483
    184
    69
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hot peel n eat shrimp!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a fun place - the food was mostly good (avoid the oysters - they served them in a watery ice slush that slopped up onto the oysters; they did take them off our bill though.) The peel n eat shrimp were the absolute best that we had anywhere on the beach. The band SuperBOT was there the night we went and they were a great rock band to listen to and dance to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrshdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice terrace but the bad service and poor drinks don't make it a place to go”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

There are many terraces in Ft Myers, plenty of better choices. We came for drinks and the service was careless and overall poor. Hate they served wine and a whiskey in plastic cups, while all beers come in bottles...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurinfunzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terrace upstairs”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Need to sit on the upper deck overlooking FMB. Buzzling place as there is also the holding bar up there. For sunset ideal place, but crowded. Service is fast and efficient. Food very tasty, especially tuna appetizer is excellent! Portions for American taste and common practice rather small. Foe Europeans just nice. Hardly see anybody leaving carrying doggy bag
Will come back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank StuttgartWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not the best”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Restaurant on Estero Blvd at Fort Myers Beach: indoor seating or outdoor seating upstairs with a view of the street and the water/beach in a distance. Very friendly service and attentive young people. The food wasn't the greatest. I had the fried oyster dinner and the oysters were chewy and gritty. The dinner came with a hugh serving of excellent red skinned potatoes and steamed veggies (which was good because the oysters were so bad). My husband had steamed scallops and shrimp and although the portion was small, it was nicely prepared. We had a wonderful dinner the day before at Pinchers where the food was excellent, so I would recommend for fried oysters to go to Pinchers Crab Shack instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beached Whale also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Beached Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing