We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Better view.”
Review of Junkanoo

Junkanoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Junkanoo is the perfect location for some fun in the sun. We offer everything you will need for a memorable beach day. Great food and fantastic frozen drinks either indoors with gulf views and breezes or on our outdoor patio. You can even get your feet in the sand on our beaches. Beach chair, wave runner and kayak rentals are available and plenty of parking. For more formal dining, step upstairs and visit the award winning Fresh Catch Bistro which offers the finest in seafood and steaks with panoramic views of the gulf and stunning sunsets.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food. Better view.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fabulous view steps from the beach. Huge bar area. Food was very good with large portions. I had Lobster Macaroni and Cheese. It was served in a crock and came with generous portions of lobster claws. I highly recommend. My friend had a blackened Grouper sandwich which was huge and thoroughly enjoyed. I will be returning to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acnjcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    394
    198
    65
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Long day, so so dinner”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had spent the day at Manasota Key searching for sharks teeth. On the way back to the resort stopped in for a bit to eat. We ate there several years ago during the day and it was pretty good. This time the service was good, the staff was friendly and helpful but the food was barely average. We both had the fish taco(white fish). They served three tacos. On both our plates two tacos had a strip of fish each and one had two pieces. But the taste of the tacos using I believe coleslaw instead of the plan lettece was good. Beside the lack of white fish they used fresh tomatoes but forgot to drain the juice so if you didn't eat fast the tacos got soggy and broke apart. It was a little pricey but the location right on the beach helps out. We would go back because anyone can have a bad day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Run of the Mill”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We dined here on a recent evening. The food was average; nothing that stood out and said "wow". It's a bit pricey for an average meal but we realize that part of the $ is the view and that it's on the beach. The grouper was flakey and tasteful. The clam chowder was good and described as "better than what was consumed at another beach restaurant (not as thick)".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
“Perfect spot on the beach”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

One of out favorites on the beach. We generally make it our first stop when we get back to the island. I always recommend the grouper sandwich. Bob was our server today and he did a fantastic job. Always good service at Junkanoo's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“flighty service, but great location and good food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The location alone deserves a 4 star review. It is right on the beach with wonderful sunset views. The food was all really good and the Pina Colada was excellent. Our server was nice, but really out of it. We had to tell him multiple times what we ordered. He messed up our appetizer order and one of our drinks. Fortunately for him, it was our last night of vacation and we were all in really laid back good moods. I don't think that under normal circumstances, any of us would have been so forgiving of his bad service even though he was nice and apologetic about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reggieindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Junkanoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing