We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food, indifferent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Grille

South Beach Grille
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: South Beach Grille specializes in serving cuisine that is traditional with a creative flair. We take pride in offering fine dining, exceptional food and high-quality service. The art deco decor with a warm atmosphere, exquisite entrée presentation, and great service guarantee you an impressive time. Our experienced chefs prepare each and every dish in a way that meets or exceeds standards of culinary excellence.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, indifferent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We eat at this restaurant every year we travel to the beach. We have consistently excellent food and consistently poor service. We have been waited on by every waiter (they do not allow women to wait tables here, only bartend or hostess!?) and it is rare to find one who extends any sort of a service mentality or attitude. We have heard a waiter chastise a guest for ordering a steak well done, have heard snotty and indifferent comments bordering on apathy.
The manager has no conversation with the guests and seems only concerned with turning tables. Such a shame!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rodeogirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    177
    62
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Happy customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived with a group of six without a reservation on a very busy evening. Was a bit unsure since it's in a strip mall with no view of the water. We were seated within 10 minutes and had a very friendly waiter, Tomash. Had a great night and all of us were very pleased with our meal choices. We had mahi mahi, grouper, scallops and crab dishes. Some of the best food of our vacation. Considering returning again before our vacation ends!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank japindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great server and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The hostess did not give us a welcome greeting when we arrived as she informed us that it was close to closing time. However, our waiter made up for her rudeness. He was a absolute delight. He was helpful and polite. Our food was great and we can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Harmony177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Although it's been a few months, I've eaten here several times and was always quite impressed. This is one of only two restaurants on the island with a slightly more upscale feel (the other one being Bayfront Bistro) and it's worth spending a little extra to get away from the greasy touristy restaurants in Times Square. I've had the scallops, the prime rib, the mussels, among other things- all fantastic. They have good specials and a decent wine list. Sadly, the outdoor seating is extremely limited since it's in a strip mall but the inside is nicely designed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodietravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I was visiting Fort Myers Beach and read the reviews so decided to eat here. We were very disappointed. We arrived and waited 1/2 hour for a table which isn't bad. We was seated at 7 o'clock and waited 15 minutes for a waiter, we ordered a drink and the Shrimp Scampi appetizer. We was served the Shrimp after about 20 minutes and was shocked that for 12 bucks we got 4 small Shrimp, we kinda laughed it off and hoped the meal would be better. We waited another 1/2 hour for our meal and it was not better. The flavor was decent but the portion was small and meat was tough. We got our bill another 10 minutes later, by the time we paid our bill and walked out the door we had been there a total of 1 hour 40 minutes from the time we were seated. We spent about 70 bucks here and I am positive we would have gotten a much better meal for less at either Fresh Catch Bistro or Nervous Nellies. O well live and learn, we try everyplace once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brownsmanOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Beach Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing