We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of South Beach Grille

South Beach Grille
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: South Beach Grille specializes in serving cuisine that is traditional with a creative flair. We take pride in offering fine dining, exceptional food and high-quality service. The art deco decor with a warm atmosphere, exquisite entrée presentation, and great service guarantee you an impressive time. Our experienced chefs prepare each and every dish in a way that meets or exceeds standards of culinary excellence.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Strange food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We had one meal at this place, and found a recent reasonably critical review quite accurate. All male kitchen and serving crew, our waiter was distant and perfunctory. The only time he really engaged with us beyond the minimum was to point out that the bill did not include gratuity. We had reasonably straightforward entrees, and were happy with those but were surprised at our shared appetiser: crispy calamari (nice), but with plum sauce? The menu had a lot of strange, poorly thought out flavour combinations - like somebody had been to an Asian fusion restaurant and tried to reproduce the idea but with no idea of what flavours work with what.

Decent ambiance and a couple of family groups near us seemed very happy, but we wouldn't go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    182
    63
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just recently spent a week on Fort Meyers beach. Stayed at a very nice Condo and while talking to other guests at that resort was told about South beach Grille. Several guests all stated that this was a great place to eat. We went there the last night and had an excellent meal, we thought the service was excellent, clean,beautiful restaurant. Our experience there was totally worth the price and we will definitely return there on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyD798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went twice, because we liked it so much. I am a vegetarian and would highly suggest the Roasted Pear Salad. It was divine. My sister loves seafood and said that it was fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank catwomanIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very overpriced, arrogant staff, hot-air food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The crew is an all-male-crew with considerable arrogance and opinionatedness.

They imitate the european chefs who during the last 20 years combined items which previously were on different plates or even different courses into one dish - lacking, however, the solid vocational education of those.

It looks like they caught a cook from the local asian food store and told him to spill anything from far east over all local, american dishes, and consider this scheme to be experimental cuisine which justifies a tripled price.

The wine list is long but without prudence and is - who would have guessed - overpriced. Wine by the glass tastes like being poured from Gallon containers, the Sauvignon had a fishy bouquet.

Worst is - very opposed to their own announcement on the menu - that they automatically add 18% gratuity - INCLUDING TIP ON SALES TAX - on all bills for less than eight people, even on a bill for two guests.

Their desire to fleece people is so obvious that one has to ask himself why so many people fall for that. It is either the US citizens simply assume wrongfully they get great European food or the clientele consists of mostly tourists who come only once.

Stay Away!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank edenliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Where was the Staff?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had my first visit on Sept 22...great food, service(Liz)....excellent visit. However what a difference a couple of days make!!On Sept 25 my husband and I take seats at the bar then the chaos starts to begin. The bartender was serving everyone seated at the bar for food which was full(about 15 seats)...and preparing drinks for the entire resturant which gradually started to fill up as well as more people standing at the bar. All of our food ( oysters with panko,chicken satay, burger, and the mussels on angelhair) was either overcooked or under cooked. Even Doug, our host , was serving salads and drinks throughout the resturant. Poor food and service. Also,such a beautiful atmosphere to allow guests to wear grey Hanes T-shirts and flip flops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Grille also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Beach Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing