We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a Pig”
Review of A Beach'n Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Beach'n Place
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The photographs on their website and Groupon are a work of (con) art in comparison with how the actually place looks. There are cinder block grill stands, bundles of pipes, assorted hoses lying around et cetera. Beach n Place makes Sanford and Sons seem classy. It’s clear that any remodeling was completed sans permits as the electrical wiring doesn’t possibly meet building code. There are exposed cut off cables coming out of the siding, clearly visible wire ties coming out from the fixtures, extension cords wired into the breaker boxes etc.
My stay at Beach n Place started off with confusion. The unit listed in my email for our stay from Rhonda was different from the unit we ended up being assigned. We found this out after dragging our luggage up a flight of stairs to the unit listed in the email, then found out over the phone with Rhonda that we should disregard her email and relocate to a different unit. The check in process was simple enough: the key was under the mat (for both units). Though simple, not secure.
We were immediately disappointed upon getting into our actual “bungalow.” The unit was very small and hot. The décor was a mishmash of jungle prints, tropical fish, geometric patterns, plastic flowers, and empty wine bottles which is to say that a blind person might have done better. It was completely downhill from there. We were NOT expecting a window unit air conditioner. The window unit, which was located inside the bedroom, did not cool the living and dining areas adequately and didn’t reach the bathroom at all. Besides not completing the primary function cooling the rooms, the AC was loud and rattled.
The bedroom was too small for the king sized bed squeezed in there and the mattress was sinking in the center, so my husband and I kept finding ourselves falling into to this center of the bed abyss. The sheets were well worn and of poor quality.
Common items like towel racks and stands for electronics were MIA. We hooked up the DVD ourselves using a stack of pillows on top of a chair as this was the only way the cords would reach. There was one roll of toilet paper, a couple sheets of paper towels, and leftover dish soap in the unit upon our arrival. The kitchen cabinets were rickety (the top drawer under the counter was broken and inoperable). I found hairs in both the refrigerator and microwave (ick). Rhonda told me over the phone prior to check in that the cleaning crew had finished just prior to our arrival however the condition of the unit suggested that they never started.
Then there were the roaches and sewer bugs (both living and deceased). While using the restroom a roach the size of a hot wheel car crawled out from beneath the vanity. Living and dead sewer bugs were also present in the bathroom (sewer bugs are associated with improper sewer venting).
Until Beach n Place, I’ve had nothing but fabulous experiences using Groupon Getaways. Before writing this review I called and emailed the property owner to give them a chance to rectify the situation. No response. There is a reason that the fine print of the Groupon deal mentions no refunds after check in…once you get a good look at the place you’ll want to get out, but they’ve got your money so you’re SOL. I called Groupon too, but they are closed on Saturday. We roughed it for the first two nights of our stay foolishly thinking that our concerns would be addressed and the whole experience would somehow turnaround, but by day two we’d had enough. We left early and got a hotel room, which was both clean and cool.
Along with this review, I have posted pictures from the property and images of handwritten reviews from other disgruntled travelers, written in the comment book inside our unit. See for yourself.

Room Tip: Keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cococobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Florida on our honeymoon. (We are from Oklahoma). We arrived at the property on 9/24/12. We had a unit on the bottom, and our parking spot was right next to our door. The unit was nicely decorated, but like others said, the bathroom was an issue. There wasn't a vent, and it did get stuffy in there. Also, it would have been nice to have more towels provided. We also noticed the shower wasn't cleaned as well as it should have been.

We enjoyed being right down the street from the beach. It was nice to walk to the shops and beach, and it was really nice to have a quiet place to retreat to. We stayed 2 nights and didn't have any issues, or need to contact the owners at any time. We had purchased our stay from Groupon. We would stay again if we were coming to the area, and there was another Groupon available.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GlendaS966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our hopes were high, but we could not have been more surprised and pleased at the beautiful unit that Philip and Rhonda placed us in! It was just perfect for our needs, and beautiful to boot. We loved the fact that we could easily walk to the beach, shopping, dining, and hanging out spots, and felt that we got very good value for our money. We really liked the way that the unit was furnished and decorated, and everything was very comfortable. Our favorite feature was the fantastic shower - easily a 10 in the shower rating scale! You won't go wrong if you are able to book this lovely place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

All went very well - didn't know what to expect (had purchased this on Groupon) but were pleasantly surprised that the unit was so nicely and recently updated.
We arrived on a Friday evening, and the key was at the agreed location. The place is not on the first row, but walking distance from everything - which means it is a quiet location (much preferable to being right on the main road).
We had good communication with Philip and Rhonda - we had to change our booking several times, and they were very accommodating.
We will almost certainly return.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon arrival, the key was under the mat as promised. When we entered the bungalow, we were really surprised that it was so small. That’s not their fault – we saw the pictures on line and just didn’t realize that it was so small. Also, we are a couple of really tall people. To say that we felt cramped would be an understatement. It was like a house for “little people”. We proceeded to unpack and realized that the refrigerator and freezer had not been cleaned, nor had the microwave. I cleaned them with the stained and dirty sponge that was under the sink.
The wall air conditioner in the bedroom kept that room nice and cool, but the rest of the bungalow (all 200 s.f. of it) was warm. The air circulation was poor, in spite of a ceiling fan in the bedroom and living room.

Upon taking a shower that evening, we discovered that there was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom, nor were there any towel racks. The shower curtain was about an inch too short and the water splashed out onto the floor. The drain in the floor of the shower was not secured and there was an exposed wire in the light fixture over the sink. Also, there was no vent fan which led to the bathroom getting pretty steamy. None of this presented a big problem but then we realized that there was one set of towels per person. No huge deal, but here’s the problem…it was evident that a lot of money had been spent making a sow’s ear into a silk purse. But…there was very little attention to detail. Yes, the sheets were good quality (and from what we have read, we were lucky that they were clean) but the bed was sunken in the middle and we had to climb UP to get out of bed. There are no substitutes for good hospitality (of which there was none), a clean product and a well maintained product. These are the things that separate the “superior” from the “mediocre”. I believe that the owners’ hearts are in the right place but they just don’t care enough to insure the return of their guests. I have to wonder if they even read these reviews - they have never responded to one.

Interestingly, we had a Groupon for a night’s stay and a bottle of champagne – “a $344 value” for $99. But…when we reviewed the paperwork, we discovered that the rack rate for that room from June – Oct. was $99. Thus, we got a $5 bottle of champagne that was placed on the table outside the room after our arrival.

This is a clear indication of a lack of education in the hospitality industry and a lack of knowing your customer. You can put Italian marble in the bathrooms, the finest linens on the bed and call your facility anything that you want. But…without cleanliness, proper maintenance and a hospitable staff, nothing really matters.

Prior to arriving in Ft. Myers, we stayed at a facility in Venice for $40 more than we paid here. What we got was incredible hospitality, cleanliness beyond belief, a one bedroom suite, facing the ocean and a feeling that the owners truly CARE about their guests and their experience.
At A Beachin’ Place we felt only shortchanged and kan unwelcome interruption.

Room Tip: We saw no other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiveDiva314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeIsland, Manager at A Beach'n Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We do have several different size units. This couple chose to purchase our smallest unit. The price varies based on size of suite and dates of stay. We do ask if anything is not satisfactory to let us know upon check in and give us the chance to rectify it for you. We are on the property site daily and available to address anything of concern. This is a vacation rental property and not a hotel so we do not offer maid service or daily cleaning, there is a laundry facility on site for laundering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I wanted to visit my older daughter who is in college at Ft. Myers but we wanted to stay by the beach to enjoy the weekend too. We stayed on the bottom floor with parking space right next to the front door. It was more like an apartment with full kitchen, dining/lounging area and two spacious rooms. Very clean and alothough not on the beach, the beach was literally accross the way. We actually ended up preferring it that way since the street/strip along the beach was crowded - so being a few steps away turned out to be best. The location was excellent - we walked to the shops and restaurants where there were live bands without the worry of finding parking. The only downfall to the place was one bathroom, which did not have a fan or window making it very hot and steamy (not great combined with the Florida heat or after a long day at the beach that you want to cool down). But don't let that keep you away - you will fall in love with their plush beds and linens - felt like home! Just know what to expect before you go. We were told we were receiving a body scrub - I never found it. We were also told we would have free beach chairs and umbrellas, I assumed they would be with a rental company on the beach but that was not the case. Since we were already on the beach we didn't bother asking. Prior to our arrival I tried calling several times but didn't get an answer or a call back but did finally receive an email with instructions and was able to communicate via email just fine. (if it matters, I purchased this though Groupon. I do not think I would pay more than the Groupon price - only because if it is off the beach, then it should be less than other beach properties). Would I stay there again? Yes, if the price was around the same - we truly enjoyed ourselves and wish them much success.

Room Tip: This is an apartment style accommodation so take your own toiletries, all kitchen appliances and nec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3miamigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from our anniversary weekend in the Fort Myers Beach area and our stay at the Beach’n Place using our Groupon deal. I have to say I agree with almost everything by the reviewer “joesbutterfly.” We also had a difficult time reaching them initially, but once we booked the weekend, Phillip called a couple of times to confirm the reservation and to see if we had any questions. We specifically wanted this weekend because it was our anniversary. The one-bedroom bungalows were booked so Phillip offered us an upgrade to the two bedroom unit for half price. We decided to take the upgrade instead of going at a different time.

There were sufficient towels, washcloths and hand towels for two. As joesbutterfly mentioned, the bathroom was very nice but could use some towel racks. Phillip is still working to install a pool and general outside improvements.

These are rental units, not hotels or motels. There is no daily maid service and if you are staying more then a couple of days you will need a trip to the local Publix for paper supplies. We were in ground floor unit 584. It was wonderful. It looked newly renovated and very tastefully done. It was clean and neat. The sofa was very comfy and the bed was outstanding. We used the room with the king-sized bed.

As others have said, it is about 5 house lots from Estero Blvd and the beach. You are close to everything. It took us about 20 minutes to get to Sanibel. We plan to return next year and are anxious to see the results of Phillip’s and Rhonda’s hard work. We can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: This is a quiet, peaceful location. A/C in our unit was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Motel
Beacon Motel
#44 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
#43 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Villas
Silver Sands Villas
#2 of 28 in Fort Myers Beach
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Gypsy Inn
The Sea Gypsy Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Terrace Resort
Palm Terrace Resort
#29 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach'n Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach'n Place

Address: 584 - 590 Palermo Circle, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your A Beach'n Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing