We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice if you are a light sleeper--very noisy”
Review of Beacon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Motel
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Not a good choice if you are a light sleeper--very noisy”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This beach hotel (not directly on the beach, set back behind another building) is a good budget choice IF you are not a light sleeper. There is a bar directly to the left and in front of the hotel (between the hotel and the beach) named The Cottage. When you arrive, there is a sheet posted in the room that says: "To our valued guests: Should you feel disturbed by the uncomfortable noise level coming from The Cottage or any other establishment, please contact the Lee County Sheriff at 239-477-1830 and complain about the situation and they will resolve the problem." I guess that should have clued us in right away that it would be noisy. Yes, it was noisy at night, but not something I would feel comfortable calling the sheriff about. It's just the proximity of the bar (right next door) and the thin walls. If you are a deep sleeper or if you can put in ear plugs and sleep (I tried ear plugs, still didn't block the noise sufficiently), it may work for you. Just beware of the noise level before booking.

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 or 10, both of which have the best views and are the furthest away from the next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    11
    14
    24
See reviews for
24
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this place for one night, and I am glad we only had to stay there for one night.
Extremely noisy at night from the bars nearby. Extremely noisy in the early morning because of the pickup trucks. Won't stay here ever again.
The property has direct access to the beach, which is a plus. Close to Time Square. Good for people like to have late night drinking.
The room and facilities are very basic, but very clean. Nothing unpleasant in terms of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northyork369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A pleasant place in a fabulous location, right on the beach.
Not 'luxury' but honest value and a very pleasant staff, particularly Lyndsey, who made every effort to see that I had the room I wanted.
Would not hesitate to revisit at some stage

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_allen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is old and the remodeling could have been done a little bit better, but to stay in a 2 bedroom suite in the heart of Ft. Myers beach it is well worth it. We were able to get a room for under $100, try that anywhere else for a suite. If you want to enjoy the nightlife this is the place to be, if you are looking to read a book and enjoy a quiet night not the place for you, plain and simple. We will make this a regular place to stay when we want a night out on the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrt-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here on 4th of July and absolutely loved it!!!! The staff was great the room was clean and the beach was right there!!! The staff made me and my son feel as if we was at home. We will definetly be going back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indygirl270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

have a family trip stay at the beacon and it was the worst chioce i make service sucks rooms terrible overall it was horrible

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

With all the stress in life we decided to hop in the truck and head down to Ft Myers on a Frideay morning just for an over night get away. When arriving the place we thought we would stay was disappointing so we started looking and found The Beacon, we stopped in they had one room left with a king size bed we took it and had the best 24 hour get away the room was very clean, bed very comfortable and the Manager and her daughters where as nice as they good be so we decided to come back for a 3 days wkend during the Shrimp Festival can't wait to get there.

Room Tip: If you are a couple the room over the office is awesome large living room with kitchen to the side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sea Gypsy Inn
The Sea Gypsy Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
#45 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holiday Court
The Holiday Court
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Property: Beacon Motel
Address: 1240 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2700
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beacon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Fort Myers Beach
Beacon Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing