We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, dated, but LOVED the place !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matanzas Inn
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Older, dated, but LOVED the place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed there last week....they were full and turning people away. Yes, it is an older place....old fixtures, old bathrooms, old pool, etc....but VERY clean. It served our purposes quite well. The restaurants are great...very quiet....the bay was great as our room opened in front of it....nice to sit outside with a coffee or beer and watch the boats coming in for dinner or lunch.

Patty at the front desk was very nice to deal with...and a great sense of humor. The people staying there, older than us, were very friendly and loved to strike up a conversation. We have been going to fort Myers Beach for 28 years now and this may have been the best place yet....4 days of sun and 79 degrees certainly helped.

The UPPER DECK restaurant/bar is a great place to go and the bartenders are all great.
I urge you to try this place...or at least check it out for the next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkelly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Fort Myers Beach. It's the first time at this hotel. We had stayed at the Lighthouse twice before but it was too loud with drunk yelling people at 3 am and the room we had the last time was terrible. The Matanzas Inn has an amazing location right on the water opposite side of the island (not on the beach) The beach and Times Square is just a small walk away. What a beautiful location! Very safe. The music at the bar would shut down at around 9pm so there was no problem getting a nice quiet nights sleep. We stayed in the large villa. I would call it a one bedroom condo instead. It had no villa feel to it. It was not attractive but it was very clean and the housekeepers did a nice job keeping it that way for the 10 days we were there. I would say it was a 2 star. The flooring in the bathroom was cigarette burned and curling although the room did not smell of smoke. It was supposedly smoke free. The best thing about the large villa is that you can close the bedroom door and watch tv or read without disturbing anyone in the bedroom. There was an extra single bed between the bedroom and the kitchen/living area. Much more room than the 2 of us needed. There is a beach trolley that goes by the hotel all the time to the main land. I feel I paid too much but then if you had a small family, it would be ideal and a cheap solution since the kitchen is well equiped. The hotel staff are exceptional on every level. The restaurant has the best clam chowder we ever ate and we are people from the Maritimes so we know good chowder when we eat it. The pool is small but adequate. There's also a hot tub. I would go back but I would take the small villa which I saw (it's a small studio).

Room Tip: If you want lots of room with a door to the bedroom, choose the large Villa. Otherwise the small vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the only lodging available at the time without having to pay a lot. So I guess it could be " you get what you pay for". The rooms are old and need updating. On the plus side, the pool area was very nice and the water was heated along with a whirlpool. Their restaurant served delicious food and was very scenic being at the intercoastal waterway. The location is great to the beach and all the activities associated with it.

There was a water taxi available. But did not take it.

Room Tip: free computer use at the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Buffy123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed here on and off for about 12 years. This most recent stay was disappointing. We stayed in a 2 bed room unit that should have been awesome...right on the water. But the blinds were broken and very dirty.There was film on the windows that obscured the view of the canal. The door leaked and when it rained the water came in under the door. I feel bad writing a review that is so negative, but I have to be honest. A great location, nice people, super pool and hot tub...but the rooms need some help. I did mention these items and the condition of the unit when I checked out, hopefully the owners will take some action to make repairs, etc.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank go2ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Beverly
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What we liked about staying here: could walk to beautiful beach (see the sunset) and other restaurants, nice pool, great water-front restaurant on property. Did not like our motel room... really old and shabby. If you are not spending much time in the room it may be ok. By the way, most shops in the area are pretty touristy unless you leave the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyloverBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great food, reasonably priced. Nice spot on the water. Chicken sandwich, cod sandwich, spinach salad and club sandwich...all very good! Waitresses very friendly. The resort has a pool, dingy dock, laundry room all within walking distance to Times Square...much fun.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angelfire7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here early March. The hotel room was just an average room, but very clean and comfy. Hotel is just a couple blocks from beach and Times Square. What I liked about it was that you were close to everything, yet away from the noise. I liked to sit outside at night on the lawn (yes, grass) and watch the water. It was so relaxing. On the other end of the property was a restaurant on the water (not the beach but good scenery) with outside seating and above that was an open air sports bar. You could have as much company as you wanted. I would stay here again definitely. We checked out and went to the beach and they let us use a very nice restroom/shower facility before we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#22 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites
#27 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shipwreck Motel
Shipwreck Motel
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matanzas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanzas Inn

Property: Matanzas Inn
Address: 414 Crescent St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matanzas Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Matanzas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matanzas Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing