We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Playa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Playa Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Green Brook, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Casa Playa for rest and relaxation. Room # 605 was a perfect bay view. The room was clean and and everything we needed was provided. The location of the hotel is just far enough away from the center of Time Square and close enough to Bowditch Point Park for morning walks. The staff: Debbie, Victoria, Al, Grant and Yancy were all very helpful and friendly. The beach is perfect and the pool had just enough shaded areas for those days when I had too much sun. Debbie was able to provide me with an umbrella which was so helpful for beach time. Chairs and towels are provided for the beach and the grill and picnic area are a plus although we did not use it. We would recommend this hotel and come back if we return to Fort Myers Beach FL. Thank you to everyone for a wonderful stay at Casa Playa Resort!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid the rooms next to elevators ours was 605. We were not affected but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review, and nice pictures.
We are happy you enjoyed your vacation at the
Casa Playa Resort.
Thank you and hope to see you soon
Thank You
Debbie Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    90
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
145
261
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We took our vacation to Fort Myers Beach in the middle of spring break, and weren't sure how crowded and crazy it would be. Casa Playa's location was perfect... about 1/2 mile from the center of the action at Times Square, but toward the north end of the island where the party people didn't go.
The view of the Gulf from our beachfront balcony was awesome. Having a screened balcony saved us from bugs and birds!
The staff at Casa Playa were wonderful... always friendly, professional and eager to please.
The resort was very well maintained. Our unit could probably use an upgrade of furnishings, but was very comfortable and felt more like home than a hotel. The sofa bed probably wouldn't work too well, and the king bed has seen better days, but the other great facets of the room overcame those shortcomings.
This will be the only place we ever stay at Fort Myers Beach.

Room Tip: The 1 bedrooms Gulf front are well worth it! We stayed in 703, and the view was tremendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunedinDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for you great review! We look forward to your return.
We take pride in keeping our units and property clean.
703 will be getting new furniture in the very near future.
Thank you for spending your vacation with us at the Casa Playa Resort.
Debbie Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely ten day stay at Casa Playa. We love the location, the beach, the pool, the views, and the fishing. We enjoy walking into Time Square for food,fun and shopping. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The staff is very helpful and polite. We are looking forward to next years stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Casa playa resort.
Thank you so much for the nice review. We look forward to
seeing you again next year. We are happy you had a great vacation.
Thank you
Debbie Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a four night stay at Casa Playa. We had a Wonderful time in Estero Island and the room was just a place to sleep. We didn't go for the beach view which I wished we had. Our room was dated, bedding was clean but worn, pillows awful. I had expected the room to be larger, a lot of furniture crammed into a smaller hotel room. They don't mind giving you extra towels but you have to get them yourself, toilet paper too. Room was only cleaned once, as per their policy, but that's not enough. It was okay but I would spend the extra 100. A night to stay on the gulf side, or a newer property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for you review,
I think you would have been happier in our larger gulf front units, I hope you return and try one on your next visit.
Most all our gulf front units have been remodeled. Maid service is every other day on a 4 night or more stay.
Most guests call our office for extra towels or paper products, and we have our housekeeper being them to your unit, unless our housekeepers have going for the day.
We hope you come back and try our larger units.
Thank you
Debbie Robinson
Casa Playa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from 10'days at the casa playa. We have stayed there many times in the past. On this trip were were joined by several couples. As always we had a great time.


Rooms clean pool and beach area also well maintained the staff is nice and helpful in any situation
Danny and Mary Clark

The resort is far enough away from the pier area so the beach is not crowded at all but close enough to walk without any problems.

Once again our group would recommend this resort

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for the great review!
We are very happy you had a great vacation at Casa Playa.
Your review makes all of our staff proud to be part of your happy vacation.
See you next year and again thank you.
Debbie Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently spent eight days at Casa Playa in Room 401. First of all, this resort has many positives: million dollar views, clean beach, convenient parking, two great restaurants (Mantanza's and Smokin Oyster Bar) within a mile, lovely pool area and pleasant, generally responsible staff. The condos are basically clean with varying levels of remodeling, all with a screened porch; we have stayed in four of them.

Our concerns and inconveniences are as follows:

1. Security. There is no key-required entry to the elevator or stairs leading up to the rooms; anyone could walk up to your room from the beach or street. Our room safe was not working, so we had to carry our valuables with us every minute while on the beach. An employee told us that safe had been broken for at least a month; it was not repaired during our visit.

2. Noise. The rooms ending in 01 are across from the elevator and the constant on/off whine of the motor is barely noticeable in the living room, but very much so in the bedroom when you're trying to go to sleep. If we return, we would try to avoid this side of the building. Equally annoying is the exceptionally loud slamming of doors from sunup to bedtime and loud voices of guests in the hallways. We are all at the mercy of fellow travelers, but couldn't some improvement be made in the door's closing mechanism, or insulation, or something??

3. Smell of cigar and cigarette smoke from other guests' porches. Smoking is allowed on the porches (lanais) and it definitely does drift to other porches. It drove us indoors on two occasions. I wish smoking would be prohibited on the lanais.

4. Dated rooms, fixtures and appliances, cramped bathrooms w/ tub/shower curtain set up...yes, it's an older building but surely some more updating could be done. Thin bed linens, semi-clean upholstery, occasional mildew smell and rickety toilet (room 302), tricky door locks, other nuisances too petty to mention but which prevent that little touch of luxury travelers seek. To be fair, room 401 on this visit was newly painted and seemed a bit nicer than previous rooms.

While the exterior of Casa Playa is lovely and well-maintained, it just seems as if the owners are doing as little as necessary in their individual units, reflected in the lack of a guest evaluation procedure. Upon check-out I asked for an evaluation form on the unit and was told to just write it on TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01 hear the elevator engine whine and loud guests at the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I decided to book Casa Playa upon reading reviews on here. Everything everyone mentioned was true. Our room was clean, quiet and even though we were on the first floor facing the bay we still loved the view.

The walk to the beach is the best part and loved how excluded it felt. Its on the quiet side of the beach but not a far walk from the pier.

Can't wait to return!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lstone421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Playa Resort

Property: Casa Playa Resort
Address: 510 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2019
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Playa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now have high speed internetWe allow pets, cats and dogs up to 50 pound for a small fee $25.00 a night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Playa Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing