We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
451
98
20
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
98
20
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square beach chairs the north end bay view within walking distance full kitchen king bed top floor screened porch great place to stay town square ft myers beach home away from home pull out couch heated pool can't wait to go back love this place
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 579 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We took our vacation to Fort Myers Beach in the middle of spring break, and weren't sure how crowded and crazy it would be. Casa Playa's location was perfect... about 1/2 mile from the center of the action at Times Square, but toward the north end of the island where the party people didn't go.
The view of the Gulf from our beachfront balcony was awesome. Having a screened balcony saved us from bugs and birds!
The staff at Casa Playa were wonderful... always friendly, professional and eager to please.
The resort was very well maintained. Our unit could probably use an upgrade of furnishings, but was very comfortable and felt more like home than a hotel. The sofa bed probably wouldn't work too well, and the king bed has seen better days, but the other great facets of the room overcame those shortcomings.
This will be the only place we ever stay at Fort Myers Beach.

Room Tip: The 1 bedrooms Gulf front are well worth it! We stayed in 703, and the view was tremendous!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunedinDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for you great review! We look forward to your return.
We take pride in keeping our units and property clean.
703 will be getting new furniture in the very near future.
Thank you for spending your vacation with us at the Casa Playa Resort.
Debbie Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely ten day stay at Casa Playa. We love the location, the beach, the pool, the views, and the fishing. We enjoy walking into Time Square for food,fun and shopping. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The staff is very helpful and polite. We are looking forward to next years stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Casa playa resort.
Thank you so much for the nice review. We look forward to
seeing you again next year. We are happy you had a great vacation.
Thank you
Debbie Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at Casa Playa. We had a Wonderful time in Estero Island and the room was just a place to sleep. We didn't go for the beach view which I wished we had. Our room was dated, bedding was clean but worn, pillows awful. I had expected the room to be larger, a lot of furniture crammed into a smaller hotel room. They don't mind giving you extra towels but you have to get them yourself, toilet paper too. Room was only cleaned once, as per their policy, but that's not enough. It was okay but I would spend the extra 100. A night to stay on the gulf side, or a newer property.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for you review,
I think you would have been happier in our larger gulf front units, I hope you return and try one on your next visit.
Most all our gulf front units have been remodeled. Maid service is every other day on a 4 night or more stay.
Most guests call our office for extra towels or paper products, and we have our housekeeper being them to your unit, unless our housekeepers have going for the day.
We hope you come back and try our larger units.
Thank you
Debbie Robinson
Casa Playa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just returned from 10'days at the casa playa. We have stayed there many times in the past. On this trip were were joined by several couples. As always we had a great time.

Rooms clean pool and beach area also well maintained the staff is nice and helpful in any situation
Danny and Mary Clark

The resort is far enough away from the pier area so the beach is not crowded at all but close enough to walk without any problems.

Once again our group would recommend this resort

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobinson281, General Manager at Casa Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for the great review!
We are very happy you had a great vacation at Casa Playa.
Your review makes all of our staff proud to be part of your happy vacation.
See you next year and again thank you.
Debbie Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently spent eight days at Casa Playa in Room 401. First of all, this resort has many positives: million dollar views, clean beach, convenient parking, two great restaurants (Mantanza's and Smokin Oyster Bar) within a mile, lovely pool area and pleasant, generally responsible staff. The condos are basically clean with varying levels of remodeling, all with a screened porch; we have stayed in four of them.

Our concerns and inconveniences are as follows:

1. Security. There is no key-required entry to the elevator or stairs leading up to the rooms; anyone could walk up to your room from the beach or street. Our room safe was not working, so we had to carry our valuables with us every minute while on the beach. An employee told us that safe had been broken for at least a month; it was not repaired during our visit.

2. Noise. The rooms ending in 01 are across from the elevator and the constant on/off whine of the motor is barely noticeable in the living room, but very much so in the bedroom when you're trying to go to sleep. If we return, we would try to avoid this side of the building. Equally annoying is the exceptionally loud slamming of doors from sunup to bedtime and loud voices of guests in the hallways. We are all at the mercy of fellow travelers, but couldn't some improvement be made in the door's closing mechanism, or insulation, or something??

3. Smell of cigar and cigarette smoke from other guests' porches. Smoking is allowed on the porches (lanais) and it definitely does drift to other porches. It drove us indoors on two occasions. I wish smoking would be prohibited on the lanais.

4. Dated rooms, fixtures and appliances, cramped bathrooms w/ tub/shower curtain set up...yes, it's an older building but surely some more updating could be done. Thin bed linens, semi-clean upholstery, occasional mildew smell and rickety toilet (room 302), tricky door locks, other nuisances too petty to mention but which prevent that little touch of luxury travelers seek. To be fair, room 401 on this visit was newly painted and seemed a bit nicer than previous rooms.

While the exterior of Casa Playa is lovely and well-maintained, it just seems as if the owners are doing as little as necessary in their individual units, reflected in the lack of a guest evaluation procedure. Upon check-out I asked for an evaluation form on the unit and was told to just write it on TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01 hear the elevator engine whine and loud guests at the elevator.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews