We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
PITTSBURGH
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed in the Hyannis room for 5 days with my two children ages 5 and 7. The room or suite is huge. The place was spotless. I was able to cook all my meals in the kitchen for the week saving a lot of money. The beach is a 5 min walk with kids. It is not far at all. The trolley runs across the street every 30 mins or so. It costs 50 cents. I was able to pull up the schedule on my iphone and its easy to get around even for our first time in town. There is a grocery store Topps that is next to a great public pool about 6 blocks away. ( 50 cent trolley ride or $6.00 taxi.) The Pier, town square and several restaurants are close by. The hotel is the perfect location to access anything you need yet still have your privacy as well. The owners Rae and Rick go above and beyond. They are there if you need anything yet they don't hoover you and they give you your privacy. I could go on and on about his place, the owners, the location ect... This was our first trip to Fort Myers. We are counting down the days until we can return. What I liked best about this area is how safe it was. Great place to have a family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ironcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    35
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
65
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Myself and several friends have enjoyed many memorable stays at the Sun Deck Inn on Ft Myers Beach. Every room is different, and I've seen them all. The owners, Rick and Rae are on site, and readily offer a cell phone connection should they have to be away. They keep the place very clean and comfortable. The location is unbeatable. A quick walk to nearby restaurants and shops on Old San Carlos; the beach, pier and time square; and the night life of Estero Blvd. Yet, set back from the crazy street noise so that you can sleep soundly in comfy beds. The buildings are like the lost boys treehouse and the hotel name should clue you in that there is a great huge sun deck with tables and chairs for all guests to enjoy. Florida beach hotels do take a lot of wear, but this one is kept well and the best value on the beach.

Room Tip: view the photos and descriptions of each room. Weigh your choice based on how much lounge space you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lareenfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sun Deck Inn in early June and over the July 4th weekend. During both stays, I was very happy with our room and the owners. They are very helpful and laid back. Our room was HUGE! Two king beds, one Queen bed, pull out sofa, full kitchen, and two bathrooms.

The only downside is the parking situation. During both stays our parking spot was occupied by other visitors and people from the Lighthouse Inn across the street. We were told that if our spot was taken to just park in another spot that was available. Unfortunately this led to other Sun Deck Inn visitors not having a parking spot and coming to our room and asking us to move. It wasn't really their fault, but it was still an annoyance.

Even with the parking situation, I would stay there again. It's affordable, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Van8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel way back in December of 2013 for the 4th of July Celebration. I looked online everywhere, but most of the hotel in Fort Myers Beach was either booked or they charged way too much! I booked it through Booking.com. During my search, the Sundeck Inn was the only one that popped out that still has a room for 4th of July. It's our first time to see fireworks in Fort Myers Beach. Last year, we were in Key West. My husband and I wanted to see a different place for fireworks displays so we can compare them. I booked our hotel for 2 days. Checked-inn on the 4th. The owner of the hotel called just to confirmed our reservation. She was nice enough to mentioned about the traffic if we were to travel on the 4th of July. We didn't know about the parade until she mentioned that too. She offer us a low-rate to booked the day before, so we could be in Fort Myers Beach before the chaos starts. I'm glad that we booked the extra night because if we came on the 4th of July, they closed the bridge from 9-12 for the parade. The traffic was crazy too coming in the town. If you're just coming in to see the fireworks, they jacked-up the price for parking and there's not enough places to park. I'm just happy that our hotel was about 2 block from the pier where they had the fireworks. We were surprised too how clean the place was. We had the Bostonians, we are on the ground floor. Easy access to our parking because it's in our front door almost. The room Is very roomy. We have a small fridge, microwave, and we even have a stove so we could cook. We're very pleased at this place. Very convenient...close to shoppings, restaurants, and the beach. I will definitely get a room here again. If you're planning, book it soon because they fill-up fast. Most of the people that stays here booked a room already for next year. I will recommend this place. Affortable & descent rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Sun Deck Inn at Ft. Myers Beach is a very eclectic and quaint, family oriented property. From the colorfully painted bungalows and stairways to the sea side effects, you will feel right at home. A quick walk to the beach and surrounded by wonderful eating establishments, all equally enthusiastic about your stay. Parking is at a premium so when you find a spot, "park it" and walk or take the local bus to your destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hueckeswagen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

worst stay during our trip through Florida. Office was closed when arriving. Our slogan during the stay was: Just look, don´t touch anything!!! Spend the whole evening driving around in Fort Myers to look for an alternative, but there was not any room available for a reasonable price. Finally, we decided to spend the night in our "New Bedford" room, but covered most of the bed with as many towels and blankets of our own. Did not want to use towels provided. Noisy AC. Filthy bath mats and dirty all around the room. Kitchenette not worth talking about. Absolutely over prized. See pictures and avoid that property!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank panorama-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were really disappointed with the money we spent for this motel. It just felt dirty. We stayed in a single room. The 'kith hen' was a small fridge and two questionable burners on top. We ended up leaving at 5am. For the cost it was certainly not worth it. Ick! Don't do it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
381 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,608 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Suites
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Su...
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Property: Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Address: 1051 3rd St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2644
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West style property just steps from the ocean, bars and restaurants. Owners live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Deck Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Deck Inn And Suites
Sun Deck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Sun Deck Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing