We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel! Would definitely stay at again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel! Would definitely stay at again.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place! The room was nice, comfy and clean. Our room had a little kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove and sink. This along with the overall price was great to help keep us within our budget. The location is good, close enough to the action of Fort Myers Beach but not next door to a noisy bar when it came time to wind down. The owners are some of the nicest hotel operators I've ever met. Right as we checked in we were offered beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, coolers, whatever we needed to borrow to make our beach experience more comfortable. It was even more appreciated since we had flown in and couldn't bring a lot of beach gear with us on the plane. Outside our room was a little courtyard area with a communal grill, which we made sure to take advantage of. If you're in the Fort Myers Beach area and looking for a little beach bungalow for your stay, definitely check this place out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinMinnesota_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
26
62
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have been coming to Ft Myers Beach for years to visit old, dear family friends who have spent winters here since the fifties. With their insights, we have tried a lot of different places to stay, but the Sun Deck is far and away our favorite. It is quiet, out of the way, but downtown, very reasonably priced and so personable!

Rick and Rae have done such an amazing job of creating a variety of public spaces and small, but distinctive and comfortable rooms.

If you are going to the beach, they'll loan you chairs, coolers, even a sand pail and shovel.

Room Tip: In our experience they are all good, but each different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had called the Lani Kai which I know is a dump but wanted a cheap room on the beach. Their cheapest was $250 for the night which I did not want to spend. Did a quick check online and found Sun Deck Inn for $116 for the night, in March!!!! Are you kidding me I took the deal! For that price I expected to find a seedy bug infested room with nothing but a bed and a door to get in. What I found was an eat off the floor ammaculate pristine apartment with a stove top, personal balcony, fridge, two tv's, a separate bedroom and parking space. They could have charged triple for the room I rented and I felt as though I could live in this place personally. 3 min walk to the beach and hot spots and yes just far enough away from the crowded bars if you wanted to find some peace and quiet also. I will return here every Spring as long as their is a vacancy. Also the rooms are not numbered, it is all Massachusetts themed cities instead of numbers. Being from right outside of Boston just another cool perk. BTW I stayed in the Gloucester room...simply an awesome place.

Room Tip: Gloucester (Glouster) they spell it wrong lol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southpaw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Sun Deck Inn and suites is a wonderful place to stay. All the rooms are different with some larger than others. Call a head of time as they usually have return guests. The Inn is very close to everything but far enough away from the hub of Times Square to be ideal. Rick and Rae, the owners go out of their way to make a visitor welcome and the decks are awesome! Enjoy a great place to stay while in Ft Myers Beach.
Kevin and Jane, New York, New York

Room Tip: Go for the 2 largest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsbad, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We just spent one night at the Sun Deck Inn & Suites, but could not have made a better choice with the 8 of us. Being on low budget, this accommodation is very affordable and has space for up to 8 people. The Hyannis apartment is a cozy, clean but small place and located just a minute walk from restaurants and shops. Fort Myer's Beach and Fishing Pier is approximately 5 minutes by foot.
The owner are very friendly and helpful and offered us the usage of their big BBQ which we gladly enjoyed.
You won't get disappointed spending your stay at the Sun Deck Inn, especially when you are looking for your own apartment at a cheap rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Family run hotel 2 minute walk from Times Square area and the beach. THE place 2 stay I have gone with my son the last 4 years and we will never stay anywhere else. Rooms r totally fine and great price 4 the amazing location. They give u beach towels, chairs, toys, and have a grill 2 cook on under the stars! My son was welcome in their house and has become friends w 1 of their kids! SO....good price, family atmosphere, and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION this is the place 2 stay! O and did I mention Ft Myers is the warmest city in the USA in Jan and Feb? Can't wait 2 go back.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reunion, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice, romantic spot for a two night getaway and chose The Sun Deck based on the tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed at all. The two-floor, two-bedroom suite that we booked was bigger then we needed but it worked out perfectly. The place is definitely "beachy", so do not expect luxury. If you like a relaxed feeling inn that is amazingly close to the shops, restaurants and beach then you will LOVE this place. The bed in our room was so comfortable (actually all three were, even though we only needed one) and although it is not outfitted with all new appliances, furniture, rugs, etc...it has everything that you need to enjoy your stay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Suites
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Su...
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matanzas Inn
Matanzas Inn
#24 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Property: Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Address: 1051 3rd St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2644
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West style property just steps from the ocean, bars and restaurants. Owners live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Deck Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Deck Inn And Suites
Sun Deck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Sun Deck Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing