We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach-themed hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is such a cute hotel in a great location. Had a Key West- feel to it with Jimmy Buffett music playing and quirky decor on outside. Very spacious living area with separate sleeping area, kitchen and two decks:) Very clean. Had rafts and beach chairs for communal use. Also had a grill. Will definitely stay here again and reccommend to others. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiansmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband booked based on the reviews and it turned out to be exactly what we were looking for! We had a nice sized room. It was nothing spectacular, but it had all of the necessities and then some. Great location. Short walking distance to everything. The owners were very helpful in guiding us to some great spots for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They had everything we needed to take to the beach with no extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tianaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed in the New Bedford which was a nice sized room for one person. It was also on an upper floor. Room is a good value for the price. Although it has a microwave and refrigerator, there are no utensils or plates provided. The bathroom was a nice size. Parking was provided. The bed was VERY comfortable. The hosts were nice althought I am not one to ask for anything. They allow pets which was the best part. I traveled with my Maltese. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldensForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Have stayed at probably a half dozen or so places on/near Ft Myers Beach over the last couple decades, and this is by far the best value. Our room, the New Bedford, was very cozy....large bathroom w/ stand up shower and small-ish (really only room for the queen size bed and not much else) sleeping area. There is a mini-fridge (always appreciated) and a microwave. The entire unit was clean, but a little 'rough around the edges'....what I'd consider "beachy", but not disgusting by any means. A coat of paint in our room along w/ a few smaller refinements, and I would've posted 5 stars. Even with that, this is not (and would not be) a 'luxury' accommodation, but (for the price and location), I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Greeted by SUPER FRIENDLY owners. The gal offered us beach chairs, an umbrella, beach towels, and showed us the ice machine right away. Also offered up entertainment and restaurant tips....probably really helpful for people not familiar with the area, but we sorta already have our fav spots on the beach (Smokin Oyster and the Beached Whale are top of our Ft MBeach list for drinks and food).

The hotel/motel/apt (not sure what to call the accommodation --- it's sort of a combo of all) is not ON the beach, but it's a very easy walk. But, we saved a bundle b/c we did not stay on the beach. It's kinda charming to be in the Sun Deck's location though....sorta 'behind' the busy Times Square area and kinda 'under the bridge'. Also loved the wraparound decks on all levels. I bet each room has its own patio/chairs/deck area...that's a really nice feature, and would probably be nice if you ended up w/ a cool-ish or breezy day (too cold for the beach)...would be nice to find a sunny spot outside of the wind on the deck.

Other thoughts....free and convenient parking (at least for one car...not sure about a party), good overall value, only bar soap (no shampoo, etc.) in the bathroom, had a couple (real glass) pint glasses as well as dishsoap and dishtowels in the room, small coffee maker (don't think there was any coffee supplied though), no pool, small flat screen TV in room was, well, small (but no biggie to us), location sorta forces you (in a good way) to check out FMB 'beyond the beach strip'...the FMB area is very safe and very walkable, with a very inexpensive trolley available up and down the main strip....motel is very close to a Friday AM Farmer's Market (that was fun to check out) as well as the walkout 'pier' under the bridge.

I'm recommending to all friends and family that come to the area --- at least those that never expect a 'night at the Ritz' while at the beach and those that would appreciate the value and quaint 'beachy' feel of the Sun Deck. Also have to keep in mind ages/health ability of those I recommend b/c some of the rooms are upstairs (highly doubt there's a lift of any sort), and the jaunt to the beach would be a bit much for say...my grandma or someone really REALLY out of shape.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We loved Fort Myers Beach and staying at the Sun Deck Inn with Rae was the best!! She was so informative of the area and things to do, traffic advice and even what seasons to visit to avoid the spring breakers and crowds. Our room (the New Bedford) was exactly what we needed and we received fresh towels daily. Will definitely be back down for a visit and would absolutely recommend checking out the Sun Deck Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floridagrrrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We loved our stay at the Sundeck. It's owned by a nice friendly family. The rooms are very clean and the rates are very reasonable. It's a cute little resort with lots of room options, depending upon your needs. Best of all, it's close to everything - short walk to the beach and "Fort Myers Times Square." Tons of restaurants and shopping only steps away! Even a weekly farmers market just down the street! Great place!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I'd been in Fort Myers for a few days for work and my departure date kept getting pushed back, so I decided to switch to a hotel in Fort Myers Beach. I am so glad I chose this one! The managers were extremely nice and accommodating. The room was pleasant and clean and the location good. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and the beach is just a 5 minute walk.

The only thing I didn't like as much was how loud the music that plays through speakers outside the hotel was played in the evening. I enjoyed it during the day, but in the evening I was wishing it was a bit softer.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
418 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Holiday Court
The Holiday Court
#24 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Suites
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Su...
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
891 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tip Top Isles Waterfront Resort and Marina
Tip Top Isles Waterfront Resort ...
#41 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Address: 1051 3rd St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2644
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $86 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West style property just steps from the ocean, bars and restaurants. Owners live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Deck Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Deck Inn And Suites
Sun Deck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Sun Deck Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing