We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Views - With a Catch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location and Views - With a Catch”
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Pros:

Great location - directly on gulf.

Family owned. Staff was very friendly (from reservationists to bar staff).

Room was spacious and clean (seperate kitchenette w/sink, micro and fridge) and sofa, table and chairs. We asked for and did get a smoke-free room. No bad smoky smells as with some places. Climate control and built in hair dryer worked great.

Private balcony overlooking gulf was exactly as promised. Great views from room and from roof-top bars/outdoor restaurant.

Food was good and drinks poured generously. Good value for money there.

Cons:
Bathroom was a bit dingy - toilet was loose at base and tiles had been painted over - some paint peeling/mold).

Elevators were nasty and slow to arrive - no circulating air at all. Very hot and unpleasant odor, especially after other guests had smoked in elevator! We did our best to hold our breath each time we had to take the elevator (no stair access up to roof top restaurant!). Were told by a staff member AC was going to be added to elevators in near future.

The other guests: at 41 and 43 my boyfriend and I were probably the oldest guests at the hotel on this Saturday night. Not a big deal except for the noise coming from other rooms/guests and from the beachfront bar on the first level. Fortunately, I'd read the other reviews and brought us ear plugs in case we needed them. We did. While the security staff did a fine job of shutting the bar down promptly at 2 am they didn't get all the revelers off the beach and there was quite a bit of interaction between hotel guests on their balconies yelling down to partiers on the beach.

Other guests on our floor were having a loud party that spilled out on to the walk way in front of our room at 4:00 AM. One call to security got it shut down almost immediately

The outdoor nightclub on the first floor is clearly a local hot spot with the young drinking set and draws a fairly rowdy crowd to the property from morning to late night.

Upstairs bar was more sedate and had great music/drinks.
As long as you know what to expect in advance and come prepared (no young kids and bring ear plugs if you want to sleep!) you can make the most of this good value and great location.

We would stay there again.

PS Eat breakfast at property just north of Lani Kai - great food, view and service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The other guests
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    188
    147
    115
    308
See reviews for
201
318
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I were planning on staying friday thru sunday but the bed was more than disgusting, mold on the ceiling, walls pulling apart, the tub felt as if it would fall through the floor, the little bit of carpet under the bed was soaking wet (?) and the most disgusting part was trying to kill the roaches that were crawling on the walls in the morning. Oh yes have the pictures to prove it. The front desk also got the roaches in a plastic bag promptly set on the counter!!!!!!! I also told them that I would NOT pay for the night of hell. The best they could do was half price. Even after I said I'd take the bag of roaches to the health department. The man in the back room (who never got up from his desk) stated "Go ahead". What a total nightmare.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank tomdorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

My family and I went to Spring Training in Ft. Myers and stayed at the Lani Kai after seeing the nice pictures on the web site - what a HUGE mistake. Put this dump in the category of "Motel Hell"

The hotel was totally overrun with people on Spring Break. We arrived at the hotel late (1AM) and underage people were drinking in the lobby, there was a fight in the parking lot and the police and an ambulance were called. We got to our room to find that it was full of beer bottles, the bed was unmade, their was popcorn all over the floor and there were bugs crawling on the bed. When we called the front desk and asked them to change our room they said someone would be "right up with a room key for another room". No one ever showed up. We had to call three more times before someone arrived. An hour later when someone did show up they didn't even come up to our room and instead seeing us on the balcony yelled up at us "Hey get your --- down here, I've got your key". When my 5 year old son and 7 year old daughter were walking down the stairs (the elevator was broken) the person with the key became impatient with them and said "Kid - hurry the @$#% up!!!" We left the hotel rather than putting up with their abuse - it was now 3AM.

In all my years of traveling I've never stayed at a hotel that swore at a 5 year old, had a parking lot full of people fighting that required police and and ambulance and to top it off a bunch of beds and beer bottles scattered around all over the place.

I actually am shocked that this lousy hotel is still in business. The only way this can be possible is because the web site makes it look like it's nice. Trust me - sleep with your family on a park bench before considering a stay at this disgrace of a hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing - it's a disgusting pit that isn't suitable for a cock roach to live in
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING - This is the worst hotel ever. I can't believe they stay in business.
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fincanorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My family and I planned a 2 week vacation to Orlando and then on to Ft. Myers beach for a week of relaxing. After driving for several hours we reached the Lani Kai... As soon as we pulled up I knew that the description online was far from true!
The first thing we witnessed in the "family hotel" was the young spring breakers toting kegs of beer up the stairs on dollies! Of course after our ride in the "elevator" it was no wonder they were using the stairs! Although I am quite sure my 12 year old son loved the half naked women running around everywhere!!!
Next the rooms ~ at that time I believe the rate was around 400.00 a night. For this we were going to get furniture covered with plastic (I'm sure for all the kids that got sick from drinking), the place was filthy, and it sounded like the whole building was having a party...
We went back to the desk where they rudely gave us our money back and then we drove several more hours up the coast until we came to a lovely little town called Venice Beach. We rented 2 rooms at a local hotel with adjoining suites for less than one room at the Lani Kai. The town was beautiful and we loved our stay ~ in Venice, not Ft. Myers!
I would never again take my children to that awful place and I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
BEWARE ~ DON'T ALWAYS BELIEVE PICTURES ON THE WEB!

  • Liked — the door out
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gtjmfrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Unbelievable!!! This hotel was very interesting to say the least. If you are more family-oriented, it was good in the sense that it was close to many other attractions in the area, but other than that I can't say much. My husband and I were there for a relaxing weekend and witnessed a circus-like atmosphere. A lot of drinking goes on at this place and I even saw 10 or so young men get naked and run out to the ocean chanting "10 Naked Dudes" and their fraternity letters... I believe! We were entertained by this and all-around, we enjoyed the stay. But this place is not the place to bring a family.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank withlove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My girlfriend and i had an incredible time here. This was the only beach where hot chics come up and serve you drinks. Many chics in thongs on the beach also.The bar is fun especially at night. Highly recommended if you want to go and party.Not recommended if you are bringing family or kids.

  • Liked — fun bar and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankiepOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

This must be the worst place I have stayed in. The first night the AC was broken, after unpacking thinking the AC just took time to cool, we had to move rooms. The next room we stayed in, the sliding door was broken, which made it nearly impossible to open, and there was roaches inside the roo. Big roaches! Disgusting. Never again! You can't take anything to the beach, so you can buy their food and drinks. People are not the friendliest either!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lissy526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
#45 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Property: Lani Kai Island Resort
Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2798
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing