We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great family time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“We had a great family time!”
Reviewed September 19, 2004

We had reservations for the beach in June. I was very nervous due to reading some of the reviews that were online. The staff was very nice, the room was nice and i loved not having carpet with all the sand. The pool was never overcrowed and was a large pool to boot. It was nice to have the pool and the ocean. The music was enjoyable also, even at night. The Lani Kai was patrolled well when the band started and the kids were not allowed any where near. Both of us and our son enjoyed the stay very much and would go back. The beach was wonderful and the boats did not bother us , there was still plenty of room to swim and have fun. Lots of things to see and do. We look forward to going back next year.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    190
    149
    115
    311
See reviews for
206
320
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2004

We stayed at the Lani Kai Bayside for one night in February, 2004. The idea was to enjoy the beach/ocean and the rest of our vacation we spent in a timeshare in Orlando. This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have travelled extensively in South America, North America and Europe. My husband backpacked through Turkey and he said he never stayed in a hotel this bad. However, we were stuck there with two little kids and it was horrible. Thank goodness it was only one night. Our room had a sofa bed, which had lost most of the supports and the requests for sheets were ignored, until we walked over to the front desk to get them ourselves. The door to the 'suite' (ha!) was quite flimsy. In the morning someone had turned over the garbage dumpster and there was broken glass all over the parking lot. NO, this was not spring break.
I hated this place and didn't think a lot of Fort Myers Beach either. It also wasn't cheap for a February stay. What a waste of cash!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank calenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2004

We ate at this rooftop restaurant on our last night in Fort Myers Beach. What a disappointment! My husband and I both got shrimp, he got scampi, I got the buffalo. He said the scampi tasted watered down, my shrimp were very greasy. What made it so bad, was everyone of the waitresses were smoking, they would put their cigarette down, get a drink or food and deliver it to a table...to me, smoking should not be allowed when serving food. I do not recommend this restaurant. Try the Beached Whale...very clean, very good food...the wings are excellent!

Helpful?
8 Thank blue_eyes0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CC Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2004

This place really is a dump. We were checked in by a very congenial front desk clerk who said she'd give us room 506, the very best. Well, here are the problems we found with the 'very best'. The ceiling was falling, the bathtub wouldn't drain and the room was filled with ants. We reported all this to the front desk upon checkout and was met with a blank stare...obviously, they either knew of the problems or didn't care.

Even if the problems were solved, the room was old and, even though it had been recently painted, reeked of stale smoke. We had reserved a 'no smoking' room but this one had certainly been a recent smoking room.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sunburst61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2004

Each room has a private balcony with an awesome view of the water. The place is very old and a dump. Sliding glass doors hard to open and keep on the track. It looked like someone kicked our door in and looked like if you pressed hard on our door although locked would open. Battery in smoke detector started beeping in the middle of the night. They told me to get up on something and dismantle it and hotel staff would handle it in the morning. I told them I don't think so. The staff acts like they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there. On the weekends they have a band in the bar, although they told us at check in it plays until midnight, which we thought we could handle, it truly plays until 2 am, and the half of the hotel over the bar are just out of luck for sleeping until the band stops and they won't guarantee you a room not over the bar no matter how much you beg. If you have a spring breaker attitude you will love it. It is a party place right on the beach. If you are looking for any kind of luxury at all, this is not your place.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FLReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2004

My husband and I took our 7-month old son for a little getaway in the middle of the week (because we know how rowdy it gets there on the weekends) hoping to get some R&R. WHAT A MISTAKE!!

I don't know why their rates have more than doubled since we stayed there in 2002. Their rooms are beyond substandard. They are really gross. Mildew on the ceilings, stained linens, not enough towels--and the ones we had were tiny and scratchy. The door to the room was almost impossible to open. The tiny (19") television only got about 8 channels, and only 3 came in clearly. Very poor housekeeping-- never cleaned our coffeepot or swept or vacuumed. Our feet were black from walking on the tiles. Our dinner in the restaurant was substandard. The elevators were under repair the entire time we were there. The maintenance guys blew cigarette smoke in my face while I was waiting to get on the one working elevator. The pool was really dirty and cloudy--couldn't see the bottom! The only good thing about this property is the location right on the beach.

The bartender upstairs and the manager Drew were very nice but the rest of the staff were very unfriendly. As if THEY were doing US a favor by letting us stay there. The front desk guy told us "good luck sleeping on Thursday, it's Ladies Night." He was right! The locals totally destroy the place. I had to step around beer cans and cigarette butts in the sand to get to the water's edge.

We returned from dinner at 9:30 on Thursday night to find our A/C not working. I called the Front Desk and he said he'd send maintenance right up. I kept our baby awake waiting for him...and waiting...till finally I called back at 10:15. It turned out that the guy sent maintenance to the wrong room, and maintenance is only there till 10pm. So we had to move rooms (without any offer of help from Mr. Friendly at the front desk) at 10:30 pm. It took over an hour to settle the baby enough for him to sleep, so we asked for a late checkout and was told "around noon would be OK." Well at 12:15 the next day we were greeted by OSCAR who rudely asked us when we were leaving, because checkout was at 11am and whatever the night guy told us was "his deal." The reason we were late leaving was so that our son could get an extra long morning nap to make up for his 11:30 bedtime the night before, compliments of the Lani Kai. When we tried to explain it to OSCAR, he put his hand up and said "don't yell at me. You need to leave. The manager's name is Drew and my name is Oscar." We weren't yelling at him! He was practically daring us to complain...so we did. Hey Oscar, next time we stay there we will be comped, so thanks for the attitude, you did us a favor. That is, if we ever decide to give this rat trap another chance. We also got a break on our rate. Drew was very apologetic, especially seeing the dark circles under our son's eyes.

My recommendation to any traveller is DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mary_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2004

I have been vacationing in Fort Myers Beach for 6+ years. The Lani Kai has always been a beautifully fun & exciting hotel...until last November 2003. I should have known when I got such a great deal for a room ($50/night for what normally costs $150/night). Well, I definitely got what I paid for. The Lani Kai bought the crappy motel across the street (which is NOT oceanfront or have any of the amenities of the Lani Kai). The motel was dingy with mold *everywhere* & there was no way to block the light coming in the window in the morning without putting the cheap, cigarette-burned comforter over the top. Also, watch out for the potholes & huge puddles in the "parking lot."

If you are staying in this hotel, make certain you are staying in the actual Lani Kai & not the Bayside Motel.

Helpful?
10 Thank HellzKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Property: Lani Kai Island Resort
Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2798
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing