We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'd read some bad things and was prepared for a bad hotel but it was really nice.
Our room was fresch, clean and big.
The best night sleep in the entire 3 weeks in USA.

The wifi was only in the lobby but that was ok.

You got a little confused when you looked for the lobby, it's in the second floor.

The beach was wonderful, saw dolphins in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeppoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniKai1978, Guest Relations Manager at Lani Kai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Zeppomia,

I hope your trip back to Sweden was a pleasant one! I'm sure all your friends will love your amazing Florida tans.

Some of our reviews are very harsh and it's always refreshing to see one like yours. We have so much to offer here and I'm glad you were able to experience everything on property. It's so amazing to have guests like you and when you're back in America be sure to stop by and enjoy a good nights rest here at our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    194
    152
    119
    319
See reviews for
219
325
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went here for weekend getaway despite the reviews. This place is great if you want to party!!! We thoroughly enjoyed the beach entertainment & the food! Not a place to get R & R but we knew this from the reviews. The place needs sprucing up & some paint but other than that it was a blast. Just plan an extra day off before returning to work! College kids here party late into the night! View of the gulf very beautiful. Wouldn't bring kids.

Room Tip: 4th floor beautiful view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniKai1978, Guest Relations Manager at Lani Kai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hi Julie,

I'm glad you survived the first week of spring break here with us! This time of year is quite loud and exciting, definitely for the young and the young at heart. I can here our fantastic bands right now while sitting in the back office :)

If you are ever in need of some R&R be sure to come back and visit us in the off season. In a short few months we will have our quaint, quiet area back and would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel was extremely loud, would only recommend if you are looking to stay up all night, yelling and screaming with drunken college kids. The food was moderately good. We left a day early because didn't want to stay up all night listening to drunken people and band right outside room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Prior Lake
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lani Kai! no problem with noise at night for us. the drinks were a little bit expensive. we found some huge shells on the beach when the tide went out in the afternoon. That was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khafermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We might have booked elsewhere due to the huge number of very bad reviews but, when we booked barely a month in advance, there was nothing else with rooms directly facing the beach without paying twice as much. We booked 4 nights only, then stayed elsewhere (with no view) for a few nights just in case we were desperate to get out of there.
In contrast to most of the reviews, all the staff we interacted with was friendly and helpful. The room was really quite nice. The bathroom was clean and new looking. The floors throughout were all nice clean tile.
The one really big problem was the music. We were directly over the bar where they played loud (live) music until midnight and until 2 AM on Friday and Saturday night. It was really loud. We wanted to watch some of the winter Olympics that were about finished but there was no way to hear the TV over the music. If you like to be at the bar all evening listening to the music, our room would be perfect for you.
We were told by 4 or 5 people (including some of the outdoor staff) that we would NOT want to be there during the spring break weeks. I believe them. Of course, this place would be perfect for college students who plan to be up half the night anyway.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a specific floor, even though some reviews warned everyone to avoid the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniKai1978, Guest Relations Manager at Lani Kai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Steve,

Thank you for your review. We have been trying to get all of our rooms updated and I'm glad you noticed the changes. On the weekends it can get loud, but we do have rooms away from the music on the south side of the building. If you ever come back or make a future reservation we try our best to accomodate any requests. During spring break there really is no quiet area so I would advise coming back off season for a nice relaxing vacation. Again, thank you and I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manito, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had so much fun, it was great!! Yes it is old but it was exactly what we were looking for! Excellent location all rooms are beach front! No it's not the Ritz but for the price it was great! People are very friendly and happy! The music was great, they have bands playing all day and all night til 2 am! It was a girls weekend and we had a blast! 80* everyday, just wonderful! We didn't want to leave and come back to Illinois! Planning our next trip!! Thank you LANI KAI for making our trip special!!

Room Tip: They are all good!! They are all ocean side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniKai1978, Guest Relations Manager at Lani Kai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Lisa,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and that you were able to get away from the awful winter you've been having. All of the staff really is friendly, but what's there to be mad about when we live where people vacation? I'm glad you and your girlfriends came and experienced our own litlle paradise! We can't wait to see you all again.

From your friends at the Lani Kai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This resort is on the beautiful Golf beach and has a roof-top restaurant with pretty good food but terrible cocktails and lousy service. The room cost $200 and had bugs, cracks and stains. The partying was loud and crazy until 3am. This was not what we were hoping for, traveling with 2 very young children.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2teach03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Property: Lani Kai Island Resort
Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2798
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing