We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewed August 2, 2012

look this hotel is NOT FOR FAMILIES.i stayed here with my husband and daughter.live music keeps you awake all night,there was someone knocking on the door at 3:00 AM.the manager was very friendly.the second night we had to move with our luggage across the street because someone else "booked the room".then the third night we had to move AGAIN to the old room.much more other reasons to not stay in this hotel but if i put all the reasons my computer would get outta charge and my arm would fall off.WARNNG:DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL the only good thing was the 8. 95 buffet.

Room Tip: any hotel but lani kai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

we live local and decided to visit the beach and have a drink ... the number of "spring breakers' that stay here is insane.. of course it is cheap to stay..if youd dare..ughh... their rumrunner w a floater is 9 dollars out of a frozen machine..sometimes its 8 dollars..once they tried to charge me 10.. the cup is the size of a childs drink at mc donalds.. absurd.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mattie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Bar is terrible:
Example: Wife orders "dirty martini" at beach bar. Bartender agrees and says he can make one. She tastes the "dirty" martini and asks for more olive juice. Bartender tells wife "We don't have olive juice" ... WOW ... YOU CAN'T MAKE A DIRTY MARTINI WITHOUT OLIVE JUICE. He responds with "we don't normally get a lot of people that ask for martinis down here." Well then don't tell her that you can't make a dirty martini before asking her to pay for it. The bloody marys and shots were poured sloppily. Beer is only served in cans. Frozen drinks are premade in machines with very little alcohol. Mixed drink cups are small and overpriced. The crowd there is disgusting and creepy
The rooms are terrible:
Dirty, dirty dirty. The bathroom windows are painted over instead of covered properly. The "paint" in the tubs is chipping. The floors are sticky. The "chairs" and "couches" are plastic. The bed is hard. The room smelled like weed.
The infrastructure is terrible:
Riding in or waiting for the elevator will cause you to stand in the air from the AC registers being blown on you at about 110 degrees. The bathrooms that are public usage when you are hanging out downstairs make you gag when you enter. The "murals" on the walls look like cheap graffiti
The people are terrible:
The only nice people in this building work behind the front desk on the 1st floor. Everywhere else in the building people are actually offended when you engage with them. Every single staff member I interacted with acted like serving a drink, checking id, affixing a wristband, etc. was a burden that I had placed on them and I was wasting their time. There was only one exception to this rule, there was a really nice lady at the outside beach bar named Val that remembered our name after 3 hours away from the bar.

Go here if you have no standards whatsoever for
Drink quality, service experience, cleanliness, quality of people and place, or money spent on where you lay your head.

The location is great, a new owner, preferrably a professional hotel chain needs to buy the land when this place goes under, demolish it and rebuild.

Room Tip: Get on tripadvisor, and find a different hotel, TRUST ME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't pass go - turn your car around and just stay anywhere but here. The beach chair would have been a better option.

Dirty and had seen better days.

We booked the room for two days - attempted to stay for the first night just could not do it left at 12:00 in the morning.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at the Lani Kai with husband and two dogs for the 1999 - 2000 New Years week. The owner made an exception for us and allowed our dogs.
Our room was above the Tiki outdoor bar, and yes, there was noisy music all night long, did not sleep much.
At the time, we were so grateful to be able to have our dogs there that the partying at the outdoor bar was overlooked, plus, it was the Millenium, 2000!
The restaurant on the top floor faced the ocean and had enough seafood for me. The view at the restaurant of the Gulf was awesome.
But now, even if they allowed dogs, I would have to think twice after reading these reviews, cockroaches, ... dirt, ... crime out your window, ... who needs that?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConanJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lani Kai's rooms are NOT worth your money!! I was extremely dissapointed that our air conditioning didn't work all night and that the toilet moved as I sat and the closet door to the air conditioning unit was completely off the hinges and was just leaning up against the wall....the tile floors were NASTY and the shower head pushed hardly any water. Complaining to the hotel Manager, Larry, did NOTHING!!! He actually defended this trashy room!! Really!? I will NEVER stay there again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are going to party on the beach with loud bands, boats clogging up the water, and people running around the hotel screaming to people in their balconies till 3 am this is your place. Clean but outdated. If you are going with a family and want a nice Place I suggest you keep looking. The food in the restaurant on the top floor is mediocre and over priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $132 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing