We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing on the pier”
Review of Fort Myers Beach

Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 4, 2014

We have enjoyed fishing on the pier. The variety of fish is amazing and the people we have met are always interesting. The biggest rush is when you catch a fish and people rush over to see what you caught and take pictures. The shop on the pier has all the bait, munchies and drinks you might need and there are plenty of places to eat and shop at the base of the pier. Parking is available in the county lot for $2 per hour or the private lots run about $8 for the day.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"white sand"
in 232 reviews
"warm water"
in 46 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 86 reviews
"restaurants and bars"
in 54 reviews
"the north end"
in 85 reviews
"spring break"
in 87 reviews
"within walking distance"
in 54 reviews
"times square"
in 172 reviews
"estero blvd"
in 68 reviews
"sea shells"
in 44 reviews
"fort myers"
in 162 reviews
"laid back"
in 56 reviews
"fishing pier"
in 49 reviews
"water sports"
in 52 reviews
"live music"
in 55 reviews
"traffic"
in 353 reviews
"powder"
in 95 reviews
Filter

3,328 - 3,332 of 5,015 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2014

This is the first time we stayed in Fort Myers Beach. We loved the condo we rented but the beach was a little disappointing. The walk to the water was about half a mile which made a nice way to exercise on the way out but not coming back. The water in the gulf was too warm in the afternoons, almost like a hot tub, not pleasant. So we went to the beach only in the mornings. Maybe this only happened this year because I don't remember the water being so hot in Sanibel Island. I would choose another month if I go back again.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank virginiaweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2014

Great beach, slow drop in depth. The waters are quite warm from May till September. Just watch out for the bull sharks and stingray. Or else yo will do the stingray hop!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank MontyBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Wow. To me, Fort Myers Beach blew away Vence and Englewood Beach.

After walking on the sand we went swimming and wow was the water nice!
You can walk or wade out pretty far and still be able to stand.

The pier is nice also.

Afterwards I had a blackened Mahi sandwich and a cold drink at one of the restaurant bars on the beach.

I love Florida.

Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2014

What a fantastic beach to walk and pick shells. The wildlife and sea birds were abundant. The pelicans were diving and the gulls feeding. During one walk we saw two dolphins about 50 mts from the shore

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank fatcatdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing