We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sand, but brown colored water”
Review of Fort Myers Beach

Fort Myers Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.20*
and up
Dolphin and Wildlife Cruise in Fort Myers Beach
More Info
$42.40*
and up
Fort Myers Coastal Sealife Dolphin and Shelling Cruise
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Private Back Water Light Tackle Fishing Charter
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful sand, but brown colored water”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We envisioned clear water and was surprised by how dirty brown the water was. We didn't use the beach one time in front of our resort but instead explored surrounding beaches in hopes of finding the clear water we were looking for by visiting the gulf. We finally found clear water on our last day in Naples which is not that far away. Hopefully the water clears up in FMB, Sanibel, and Captiva, otherwise we will be heading south to the Naples area or more north in Tampa on our next trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyfrompa216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,519
    1,137
    349
    123
    77
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful sandy beaches”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

clean...water pretty clear and clean. The pier is fun to walk around. The shops are cute....Nice restaurants to choose from and a great place to people watch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 11trish54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beach for tourists.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I say it's a great beach for tourists because of the nearby shopping, restaraunts and bars.
There is a fishing pier that does not charge a fee or require a fishing license. There are many gift shops and beach wear shops and the restaurants range from McDonalds and Dairy Queen to Some more full service restaurants serving steaks, seafood and alcoholic beverages. Everything is in easy walking distance of the beach.

The beach itself is a well maintained white sand beach. It can get crowded during tourists season and parking can be difficult to find. Usually you can park in the main lot which offfers metered parking at $2.00 per hour. Credit cards are accepted.

If you are looking for a less crowded beach with fewer amenities. There are several nearby. My personal favorite is Bonita Beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good time in spite of the water releases”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The murky water from the Okeechobee water releases does take away from the experience a little but it won't last forever. Fort Myers beach has calm waters due to the barrier islands so it makes it a great place to take your children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank r_l_spiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great beach if it was the only beach in Florida.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Fort Myers Beach is crowded, dirty, and the water is NOT clear. The main bridge is only two lanes, so traffic can back up for hours in season. Parking is very limited and cost $$$. If you want clear blue water and white sand, try Boca Grande. Naples is also much better. Actually every beach in SW Fl is better than Fort Myers Beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing