We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Not a Match for the Gorgeous Gulf View”
Review of Fresh Catch Bistro

Fresh Catch Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Lee Tran beach trolley stops directly in front of the restaurant
Description: SIT BACK, RELAX AND ENJOY. Indulge in a great bottle of wine, a fine bourbon or scotch and the best food and service on Fort Myers Beach. We at Fresh Catch Bistro work tirelessly to ensure your dining experience is simply the the best!
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food Not a Match for the Gorgeous Gulf View”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Took a friend visiting to Fresh Catch Bistro due to menu (he wanted seafood), gulf-front outdoor dining and on-line reviews. OK, seafood a plenty but at the pricey end. Beautiful gulf-front outdoor dining BUT I gather due to location, it is not a direct west view so we could not see the sunset which was why I made the reservation at the time I did. Bummer; but still lovely gulf-front and on an unseasonably hot day, quite cool and breezy (so facing sunset is not always the best). Now the food -- a big disappointment for all three of us. Skip the escargots; we sent them back -- while very tender there was just no garlic and didn't taste the way they should (and they don't come in the shell which we prefer). The lobster mac and cheese was just ok -- the lobster meat was very tender but I've had much better. My blackened mahi entrée had so much blackened seasoning that I got sores in my mouth and it wasn't the tastiest mahi ever. Our friend said his day boat diver scallop entrée was so-so. My husband sent his dish back -- grilled mahi just tasted awful (what could they have done to it?) so my husband sent it back. As for service, it was excellent and very responsive to our issues. The desserts, however were excellent. Friend's crème brulee he said was one of the best he's had and my husband's molten lava chocolate dessert was yummy. Disappointing overall...wish Fort Myers offered better dining -- when in doubt head to Naples.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,675
    337
    114
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must Stop For Dining”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went there last week while on vacation. Used tripadvisor to make our decision. Everything was great and not expensive for the quality of the meal you get. I had the seared tuna, superb, (always need to eat tuna medium rare at most or wasting money BTW) and the quantity was twice what you would get in Boston (where I live) for same price. Key lime pie was excellent. Finally, a good test of a restaurant is the quality of the martini's and you should be able to taste the alcohol and they were great. Only should need one before dinner and that is all we needed. This may sound selfish, but I also appreciated not having little kids running around or throwing fits. Sat outside , but indoor atmosphere was also very nice. Should make reservations during busy season and on weekends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mysaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan
2 reviews
“Early Sunday Dinner”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Last Sunday, May 4, my two friends and I enjoyed a delightful meal at your restaurant. Everything was top notch. The food, the setting, the view and most of all, the service. A lovely lady by the name of Iris took care of us in the most enjoyable and professional way. She was always near us to make sure we had everything we needed. When I mentioned that I'd like stuffed anchovies with my martini, well, Iris came through in a big way. The three of us thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and, again, were treated to the best service by your classy server Iris :) Good luck to all in 2014.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geronimo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood preparation + great view”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Arrived early for our 7 o'clock, Saturday nigh reservation and were treated warmly, made to feel like a million bucks. We were meeting friends from out of the country who were staying on the beach and wanted to share a special meal. We were given an outstanding table and had a drink before they arrived. Wonderful dirty martini! Derek, our server, was very good, accommodating, friendly but professional.

I enjoyed the Shrimp Mediterranean, delicious sauce, beautifully presented with crab risotto. My husband had grilled grouper, very good as well. Garden salads were very nice with a balsamic vinaigrette served on the side. We both splurged on dessert which was nice as well, not too much or overpowering, but a nice way to end a meal.

Beautiful for a special occasion, the view of the Gulf is outstanding. This time of year the sunset was a little bit to the North of the restaurant. The atmosphere is upscale but not stuffy. All of our food was prepared exactly as it should be and presentation excellent.
I would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious rich food with great views”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Loved the scallops and the beautiful sunset and upscale atmosphere. We will definitely recommend to others

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fresh Catch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing