We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE”
Review of Fresh Catch Bistro

Fresh Catch Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Lee Tran beach trolley stops directly in front of the restaurant
Description: SIT BACK, RELAX AND ENJOY. Indulge in a great bottle of wine, a fine bourbon or scotch and the best food and service on Fort Myers Beach. We at Fresh Catch Bistro work tirelessly to ensure your dining experience is simply the the best!
Bay Shore, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The main room is pleasantly appointed with great views of the beach and sunset. The food was excellent and expertly served by our waitress Susan , whose personality and pleasant conversation added greatly to the experience. The cioppino, seafood casserole and stuffed portobello mushroom were all excellent.
Be sure to make a reervation and give yourself plennty of time to gat to the restaurant as the traffic on FT Myers Beach can be bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,667
    333
    114
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening at Fresh Catch!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous experience at Fresh Catch. We made a reservation as was recommended here, and it was a good thing we did! The place was packed. We sat on the outdoor patio and enjoyed the beautiful ocean views. Our server Gina was fantastic...very knowledgeable on the menu items, helpful with decisions and attentive throughout the evening. If we are ever back in Fort Myers area, we will be sure to return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kmckenzie1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Craving seafood, we turned to Tripadvisor for recommendations. It did not disappoint.
The restaurant scene in Fort Myers Beach is scattered, to put it mildly. Situated between Sanibel and Naples, it caters to a clientele who expect, and are perfectly happy with, beach bars, t-shirt shops, and restaurants featuring burgers and deep fried food. All of which is great for family fun, but if you expect a slew of really fine restaurants .. this isn't the place.
Which is what makes Fresh Catch Bistro all the more exceptional.
This is a restaurant that would be right at home with the Mercedes and Jag folks of Naples, but without any pretentiousness. They are friendly to a fault, and work very hard to provide a great dining experience. Really good food, really good service, all served with a fabulous sunset view.
My wife and I started with a couple of apps. I ordered the calamari with linguica, she ordered their portabello mushroom stuffed with crabmeat and topped with mozzarella. Both were delicious. And let me say, another reviewer wrote the calamari and a salad would have been enough for a full dinner. He was absolutely right. The portions were quite generous.
We followed with our main courses. I ordered pecan and cranberry topped grouper with a mango salsa. She had the pan friend scallops, which were quite large. Again ... delicious and perfectly prepared and beautifully presented.
For dessert, we enjoyed a mocha cheesecake which we found out later was made fresh, in-house, that morning by their resident pastry chef.
There was one hiccup in our evening.
We ordered a bottle of wine for $35. We were later told they were out, and the waiter suggested another bottle which cost more. I asked whether they would give us a break on the price, and he called for the manager, an amiable, wonderfully welcoming gentleman by the name of Antonio. He began by apologizing and immediately said, of course. It is not your fault we are out of that wine. We were given the pricier bottle for only a couple dollars more. Should have been free, but we weren't complaining, as it was a truly outstanding wine.
The chef, we found out, flies in from Italy just for the season. He is a master in his kitchen, and his dishes come out not only well prepared but beautifully presented on the plate.
The restaurant used to operate under another name for about 20 years, but had fallen in popularity and its menu had gotten "tired". About a year ago, they reopened under the new name, having redone not just their menu, but their interior as well. There is sound proofing material inconspicuously hung throughout the restaurant to keep sound levels down. There is also an outside seating area, protected by screens, with the same white linen tablecloth settings. Had it been a tad warmer, it would have been open.
Oh, and halfway through our meal, between courses, a table opened next to the window. Antonio came by and asked if we would like to move over so we could have a view of the beach, illuminated by spotlights. Within moments we were at the window enjoying the view.
I mentioned the portions were generous enough to take home. In fact, the food was so delicious we had it for an encore at breakfast the next morning. A brief zap in the microwave at our hotel, and we were back enjoying the wonderful meal from the night before.
From the extremely personable manager, Antonio, to the well trained and friendly staff, to the terrific food ... Fresh Catch Bistro is a winner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, KS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fresh Catch Bistro came highly recommended by the resort at which we were staying, and were they on target! Located right on the ocean, there is the option of dining inside or outside. The menu has a nice selection of appetizers, fresh seafood, meats and desserts. Everything is exquisitely prepared and presented. You MUST leave room for dessert - my personal recommendation, you ask? The (warm chocolate) volcano cake! Be sure to introduce yourself to the owner Antonio; he is charming and genuinely interested in ensuring that his guests have a truly wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great on the beach restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Fresh Catch Bistro has outdoor seating overlooking the beach and the water. Protected from the wind, so even on a cool night it is comfortable. GREAT food and service. Make sure to call ahead for reservation. Very busy place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fresh Catch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing