We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to the "beach"”

Heidi's Island Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: American, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: After over 30 years of experience in the restaurant business in Europe and Canada, we have made our dream come true and opened July 2012 our restaurant Heidi's Island Bistro in Florida, Fort Myers Beach. We want you to feel comfortable & that you enjoy our great German and local dishes under the Sun in Florida. Heidi's serving Breakfast from 7 am - 11:30 am, Lunch from 11:30 am - 4 pm & Dinner from 4 pm - 9 pm. In our small attached bakery you will find some nice selections of sweets, Bread, German Rolls and Cakes & of course the famous Black Forest Cake. The team of Heidi's Island Bistro will do their best so that you have an unforgettable dining experience.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great addition to the "beach"”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Based on Tripadvisor reviews, I made reservations for the Sunday night buffet (held the first Sunday of each month only) to celebrate our anniversary. They reserved a table a little away from everyone else for us (very appreciated). The buffet was excellent!! From the salads, fresh shrimp, and a lot of German dishes I can't spell, everything was fresh and well prepared. The trays were not overloaded so they kept putting out more, keeping everything hot and fresh. Our server was friendly and helpful, and a German woman wandered by to see how we liked the desserts (I think she might have made them). They were delicious! Overall, this was the perfect restaurant for our anniversary. The décor was nothing special, but the food was terrific and that counts much more for us than atmosphere. The buffet was $19.95pp and very worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seagull296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    182
    66
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely high-quality restaurant.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

From the warmth & professionalism of our hostess, Donna, to the superb quality of food prepared by owner, Axel, this was a gem of a restaurant.

We could not fault the food: the grouper and desserts were fresh, beautifully presented & cooked.

Thank you very much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrahamMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heidi's was disappointing compared to the high reviews in Trip Advisor”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had dinner at Heidi's about a week ago. We were the second couple when we arrived and eventually, the only couple in the restaurant . We ordered the special as well as an order of veal wiener schnitzel. The service was good but the food was disappointing. The pork was tough. The wiener schnitzel had a lot of Grissel throughout the meat and the side dishes had a strange taste. We would not return nor recommend. Total bill was over $60 US and we only had one beer with the dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esnedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had lunch there today and going back for dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had lunch at Heidi's today. Had read the reviews on this site and found that we are staying very close to the restaurant. Walked down the street to check it out because we were thinking about having dinner there tonight. Decided to have lunch and was very satisfied. We are so very happy that we not only discovered this place, but we don't even have to get in the car ( it is truly a 2 or 3 minute walk from our condo). We are going back this evening for the Schnitzel. If it is as good as the reviews claim it is (and as good as lunch was) we will probably return often in the next week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronmar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very convenient, excellent service, wonderful selection of German beer. The personnel are always pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Island Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heidi's Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing