We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant of the week!”

Heidi's Island Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: American, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: After over 30 years of experience in the restaurant business in Europe and Canada, we have made our dream come true and opened July 2012 our restaurant Heidi's Island Bistro in Florida, Fort Myers Beach. We want you to feel comfortable & that you enjoy our great German and local dishes under the Sun in Florida. Heidi's serving Breakfast from 7 am - 11:30 am, Lunch from 11:30 am - 4 pm & Dinner from 4 pm - 9 pm. In our small attached bakery you will find some nice selections of sweets, Bread, German Rolls and Cakes & of course the famous Black Forest Cake. The team of Heidi's Island Bistro will do their best so that you have an unforgettable dining experience.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant of the week!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This German American restaurant is fantastic! They serve excellent quality food. We ate there three times because we liked it so well! They have a different daily lunch special at a very reasonable price of $6.95. We ate their wiener schnitzel and two types of brats, all of which were very tasty. They do have American dishes on their menu if you are not into German food. Although we didn't try them, their desserts also looked delicious. We highly recommend them and look forward to our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    179
    63
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most excellent service and breakfast.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Clean. Fast and courteous service. Everything was very tasty. Nice ambience. I recommend you visit. Donna dod a great job. Tell them I sent you.

Helpful?
Thank dvmweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent German food!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant never disappoints us! The food and service are excellent!
Tonight three friends joined us for dinner. We all agreed this is the best
German food in southwest Florida!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLINGTON
Level Contributor
274 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Why German in Ft. Myers Beach?”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

So the owner can have German food! Located in a older shopping building, it is recognizable by the German flags and windsocks flying in the breeze. It is has a dark interior, typical of most German restaurants. When we arrived for lunch we were promptly seated and attended to by our server with a German accent, a plus. The lunch menu contained typical German offerings, weiswurst, schnitzel, and my favorite Nuremburger wurst plus others. We both had the Nuremburger wurst platter with spetzle and they were just as I remember them from the Kristkindlemart in the Nuremburg cathedral square. If you want bread, you might have to ask for it. It didn't matter to us as we are trying to be a gluten free as possible.

To the right of the dining room, near the kitchen is a bakery where various breads, pastries and cakes are available. They had Napoleons and we took one home for dessert later.

Highly recommended for lunch or dinner if you are in the mood for authentic German cuisine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JHAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food , Best at FMB”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We saved Heidi's for our last night at FEB. Sorry we waited so long. Meal was best during our trip to Clearwater Beach and FMB. Staff (Donna) did excellent job and introduced us to Heidi's Mom.Excellent food, good service and nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank samjwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Island Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heidi's Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing