We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place”
other travelers have booked this property
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Relax at Pool and Spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Relax at Pool and Spa
Plenty of Chairs
Deck leading to Dock
Backyard
Dock and Canal
Enjoy Dock Side Sun and Fishing 2014
Back of Home
Back of Home
Widgeon Cottage. Plenty of parking.
Living Room New Jan 2014
Living Area
Counter Bar
Bedroom 3 Queen
Master Bedroom and Bath
Master Bath
Queen Bedroom 2
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Second Bath
Dining for Six
Dining and Sitting Area
Counter Bar
Sitting Area
Dan's office
Dan's assistant in the canal
View from dock
View from dock at sunrise
Downtown Just 4 Miles
Just Two Blocks Away Largest and Best Beach On Island
Sunset At The Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AndrewS91...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place Widgeon Cottage is. It's clean, spacious and everything you can think of is catered for. The owners are brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The local wildlife is amazing. We fed Pebbles, the wild heron that comes to visit most days, saw a dolphin chasing fish up the canal and even a manatee made a very brief appearance. We made good use of the kayaks and one day were surrounded by a number of dolphins swimming around us. We used the pool every day, usually later in the afternoon when it was in shade. It was a very welcome relief from the August heat. The local restaurants are great, many of which overlook the bay or the gulf. All in all a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kayaking
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful,relaxing,amazing cottage!!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just beautiful ,a real home from home but much better thankyou to dan and his lovely wife who made us feel so welcome in their lovely cottage , there was everything you could possibly need in this holiday home ,we had a fabulous few days the boys enjoyed the fishing,and kayaking while us girls enjoyed lounging around by the pool ,the beach is 5min walk and there was everything you could possibly need for time on the beach which we used a couple of days,the bikes were great too ,we had a couple of lovely meals at the beach grill restruant next to the pier watching the sunset with a cocktail AMAZING !!!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrowtonPF
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a perfect week at Widgeon Cottage. Colleen and Dan were discreetly helpful, the place is clean and has everything you would need.
Dan taught us to fish from the back of the house and also lent us kayaks.
To top it all the weather was perfect.
Really great week.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned to Sweden after spending the last week of our vacation at Widgeon Cottage, Ft Myers Beach. And it was the hightlight of our trip! We enjoyed every second of it! The bicycle rides, kayaking alongside dolphins, relaxing in the pool, breakfast at the dock and much more!

The house was terrific, very clean and well equipped. And Dan what a host. Such an easy going, warm and welcoming person! Thank you for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Med vänner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck D
Dade City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Supercalifragilisticexpealadosus”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A great home away from home.
We just returned from 2 weeks @ Widgeon Cottage and our stay could not have been better. Dan & Coleen are terrific hosts. They live on the property and help and serve all your needs. They even hosted a Superbowl party for us while we where there.
This is a home away from home and all you need to bring is clothes & food.
This condo has a heated pool & spa,a fully furnished home and kitchen including a dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee pot, dishes , etc. 2 TVs,free WI-FI, barbecue grill, pool/beach toys & chairs, kyacks, fishing equipment, bikes, washer/dryers etc.
Located in a quiet residential area close to beach, restaurants,shopping,entertainment etc.
Great for seniors, family's, nature lovers, bird lovers (Ospreys,egrets, blue herons, pelicans, etc.)
This is our second year here and we are coming back next year.
We could not have found a better place and hosts to spend our vacation with .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Traffic on the island
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchipman1
Fremont, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage with Wonderful Pool and Hot Tub!”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Fort Myers Beach, FL. and we absolutely loved it! The cottage was very nice and clean. Everything we expected from the pictures and reviews! The reason why we chose this cottage was because we loved the idea of using the pool and hot tub when ever we wanted. Most hotels and condo's make you get out after 9 pm. We also loved that this cottage included the bikes and kayaks which was really convenient and made our stay more enjoyable. The cottage was an easy short walk to the beach and to one of our favorite bars at sunset, the Outrigger Tiki Bar! We also enjoyed fishing right off the canal using the fishing poles that were provided! Dan, the owner really takes care of you and makes sure to answer any questions that you may have. My family highly recommends this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the Amenities!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing