We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Want TO Leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2009

What a vacation. Should have been alot longer than the few days we had. Rooms were not large but very sufficient. Balcony overlooking the Gulf was wonderful. We ate breakfast and lunch there. Publix was down the road about 1/2 mile so we got food and stayed at our hotel. Full size fridge was a plus instead of dorm size that is usually in the rooms. The kitchen areas had a 2 burner stove, coffee maker, toaster, and microwave. All the things that were needed. It was great. Beach towels were available upon asking. No fee. We had our own chairs and umbrella so I didn't need them from the resort, although they had them if needed. I'm not sure if there was a rental fee or not. Everyone was very friendly and pleasant to talk with. The maintainence hosed down the sidewalks to get rid of the sand every morning. We didn't use the pool but it looked very clean. There was some construction (renovating) going on while we were there, but it didn't disturb us at all. The resort is away from all the crowds which is what we wanted. It was wonderful. Do not hesitate to stay at this resort. We will definitely be back. Hopefully, soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adustyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

We just came back for FL and stayed at the Sandpiper we seemed to be the only family there that were first timers at the resort. People there have been going there for years. It was very clean and laid back the kids played and we relaxed. Loved the set up of the pool so close to the beach. There were things that were not perfect but who cares, as long as your having fun. I would rather stay in a clean affodable place that my kids could play and every one is friendly. We grilled and ordered pizza, the store is just a block or two away. Prices were no different for food or gas. We have four kids ages 8, two 13 and a college student 19 and every one was happy. Now thats hard to do! We will go back. the room slept 6 with a nice view. By the way you can get pool towels at front desk we didnt figure that out intill last couple days. I suggest staying beach front or pool side. The first floor pool side rooms seemed very easy if you have kids in and out going to the pool. All and all great time. Watch a man catch a hammer head on the beach at dusk so stay out of the water at night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyDesMoines_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

You know I cant say enought about Sandpiper Gulf Resort. The place is so clean,quiet,relaxing. I had such a great time wile on vacation there. I am going to tell everybody I know and meet about this beautifle place to visit.

The customer service is the best ever. The people at the front desk are so welcomeing and warm when you walk in. They great you with respect right away and they go OUT OF THERE WAY to help you out anyway they can. How awsome is that!!

There is NO BETTER place to STAY but at the SANDPIPER in my book!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

If your tired of paying for alot of extras you and just want the enjoy the beach with great rooms then you'll love the Sandpiper. The rooms are very clean and the views are great. My family just had a wonderful beach vacation and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelabrooks2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I stayed here in January 2008 with my mom for a short girls trip. We found it online and they honored a discount my mom had through her credit card, so we got 5 days for $400. Our room was big with a kitchenette for us to have some of our meals in. The fridge was plenty big to hold my margaritas and cans of coronas. The grills pool side were perfect for soaking up the sun while getting lunch ready, and there was laundry facilities if you choose to use them. We had coffee on the beach every morning and watched the sun set every day. There was a little damage to one of the walls in our room, but all in all it was clean and well kept. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cprzybyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Relaxing Resort right on the Gulf!
Spent a wonderful February at the Sandpiper - great resort and great mid island location. Sandpiper has a nice friendly staff and also a nice group of guests, many of whom return each year as we do. A great place to enjoy the gulf views, as well as walk the beach or just find a spot to read a book.
Marian
Plainfield, IL

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayPlainfield_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We hope to return to the Sandpiper Gulf Resort--for two weeks--next year! The location is great--away from the Times Square hubub but close to the grocery and a nice plaza with shops and restaurants. Darlene at the front desk booked our reservation and it was such a delight to meet her in person. Part of the reason things went so well is she had great tips on where to eat, what to see, and was just a lovely person. The fact that we met people around the pool who had been coming here for 20 years or more says something! I should also mention the man who took care of the pool; he was so personable as well and told us about Heavenly Biscuits. Even on his day off he saw my sister-in-law and I walking on the beach and stopped to chat! We do not feel the urge to shop for a different resort next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YesDearIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,704 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,874 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $151 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing