We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Refreshing Change of Pace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We hope to return to the Sandpiper Gulf Resort--for two weeks--next year! The location is great--away from the Times Square hubub but close to the grocery and a nice plaza with shops and restaurants. Darlene at the front desk booked our reservation and it was such a delight to meet her in person. Part of the reason things went so well is she had great tips on where to eat, what to see, and was just a lovely person. The fact that we met people around the pool who had been coming here for 20 years or more says something! I should also mention the man who took care of the pool; he was so personable as well and told us about Heavenly Biscuits. Even on his day off he saw my sister-in-law and I walking on the beach and stopped to chat! We do not feel the urge to shop for a different resort next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YesDearIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 827 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2009

We found The Sandpiper Gulf Resort via on-line search and were not disappointed. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised that everything about our stay beat our expectations. Location is great, rooms are very clean and well maintained, and the staff is absolutely superb. Darlene at the main lobby and Dwight the groundskeeper are simply wonderful to interact with day to day. They both truly care about the quality of the experience that their guests enjoy. I would recommend The Sandpiper Gulf Resort to anyone who is interested in a top notch vacation getaway experience at a price well below the top-tier prices along the beachfront.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParksTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We just finished 8 days at the Sandpiper and had a wonderful time. The staff worked hard to make our stay trouble free and comfortable. The entire resort was freshly painted and looked great. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We had a great time here, very cordial staff,in fact helpful staff, very clean and if you have children its the place to go. We have been several places on the beach and keep coming back here, its the Best!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, Regional Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2009

Thank you for your time in writing a response on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you staying with us at The Sandpiper and sharing your experience with others.

Perry Landis
Regional Manager
Resort Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This is our third trip to Ft. Myers Beach in 4 years. As an empty-nest couple, we are avid Red Sox fans who usually choose to vacation on the East Coast of Florida, but the Sox brought us to the Ft. Myers area. As a former travel agent ...and Cape Codders, we are picky about beaches.... because this was a shorter trip we wanted to be right on the beach.

We looked here in trip advisor and narrowed it down to three, choosing the Sandpiper as opposed to a high rise and a property similar to Sandpiper but closer to the Times Square area.

This is a property that sells the units for ownership (not sure if it is time-share or full-ownership). There are clearly people who seem to have spent the winter there.

We wanted to be facing the beach so that we could see the spectacular west-coast sunsets from our room/deck. Their website offers a map of the property and you actually book the room you will stay in, which is a huge plus.

We discovered the building that sits to the side of the main building over the adult pool - and booked a room facing the ocean... The decks beach-side allow a view of the sunset and the concept of an adult pool is nice when traveling without children as a room over a pool can be noisy in the mornings, and we like the option of sleeping past 8am....

The rooms are clean, nicely appointed, kitchen (no dishwasher) full size fridge, two burner stove, no oven, but large microwave. All clean and working. Bathrooms with shower and toilet in a separate room from sink - (I always wish I had this at home!)

Maids will exchange towels if needed on the off-days of maid service.

We never went out to dinner - but bought local seafood (get fresh shrimp from the shops where the shrimp boats come in on the other side of the river and fresh produce from the stand in front of the nearby gas station on Estero .....) and cooked on the grill that is out by the pool and in the kitchen in the unit.

Location - right on a quiet section of the beach, far enough away from the party hotels but with access to grocery stores, bars and restaurants within walking distance. This section of beach has shallow water, but so nice. One of the "beach toy" rental companies is set up in front of the resort and if you want to splurge and not use the resort chairs on the beach (they are just fine) ... you can rent a pair of nice canvas chairs with an umbrella for $15 a day or wooden padded chairs with a cover for $20 a day ... we did one one day and one another and it was worth the fee. My husband rented a jet ski for half hour -- $60 -- big indulgence for us, but he said is was worth it.

The pools were heated, which is nice because it can get cool in Feb. and march ... and it was actually refreshing on a hot afternoon.

The staff was helpful by putting us in a unit where we could pay for a late checkout but not a full night ...as our flight home left at 9pm ... this is hard to do when you are in a bigger more impersonal resort, and these are the kinds of things we like about smaller places where the owners or managers are nearby.

The only complaints were little annoyances in an overall wonderful experience: dish soap is provided, but there is no cleaner for counter and stove and maid service is every other day, and maids don't clean the kitchen - (we've stayed in places that do this despite minimum maid service.) After a meal that involved fish and butter and onions and garlic (so good!) we had a little trouble cleaning the stove and counters with dish soap. And, there is a salt and pepper shaker but they are empty - disposable condiments would be nice, as we weren't about to purchase both for a 4 night stay. Also as in other places we've stayed, there is no paper towel or napkin supply, make that part of your initial grocery list.

The other issue was trash ... we realized when we were leaving there was large trash barrel in the back staircase... trash from fresh seafood doesn't do anyone any favors the next day ...as it were... Simple signs about what to do with trash in between maid service days would solve problem and my guess is the management would do this if requested. .... These are just little things that were slight annoyances, but the pluses more than make-up for this and next time we will know. We didn't even think it was enough to complain about, but it helps to know ahead of time, which is we felt the need to mention it here.

If you are looking for a party atmosphere ... it isn't here. If you are looking for rooms that are self contained with beach access and a pool, and pure relaxation - this is the place.
Sunsets ... ocean birds ... seashells, long walks on the beach are here.

And for us, after the longest and coldest winter we can remember, 3 red sox games in two days and two full days on the beach, quiet nights, long walks, this was perfect.

Photos always say it all, so I am posting as many as they allow!!

A note about Ft. Myers Beach
Regardless of where you say on Ft Myers beach, add a 1/2 hour to 45 minutes to your plans when heading off the island! Sat night it took us over an hour to get off the island.... longest trip yet, but that is the same all over the island.
And, if you are not into the party scene, or at least don't want to stay in the middle of it, (especially in the spring break season!)
don't stay in or near the Lani Kai (sp?) that is near Times Square.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandjCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, Regional Manager Resorts at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to rate The Sandpiper Gulf Resort. We appreciate your time and Patronage. Excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

If you like modern, high rise hotels with a full range of services, this is not the place for you. The Sandpiper is a throw back to earlier times when life was at a slower more relaxed pace. The buildings are low-rise (2 stories, 3 beachfront) so there is not the feeling of hustle and bustle nor crowds to contend with.
Since our stay last year the exterior of the building was refinished which it definitely needed. I hope they continue their renovation efforts because some of the rooms are showing their age.
All rooms are like an extended motel room. They have two double beds, bath and at one end a small living / sitting area and kitchen. We had a first floor beach front unit with large patio. We enjoyed the view, sunsets and sounds of the surf.
Many people have been coming to the Sandpiper for years (our first stay was in 1975) so it is an older group, although there were some young families there. Many people keep coming because they enjoy seeing the same people year after year. And there is something special about getting up in the morning, going to the courtyard to get fresh coffee and seeing the same people you were in the pool with the day before or enjoyed the sunset together the night before. There are better facilities at similar prices on Fort Myers Beach but I believe the small, friendly facility is the reason they get so many return customers. It is for us. We spent the first week on Fort Myers Beach in a high rise, luxury hotel and the second week at the Sandpiper. We enjoyed the Sandpiper more.
There were two negatives, both having nothing to do with the Sandpiper or its management. Since last year the beach concession operators have moved in with their noisy machines and equipment. The other is the condition of the beach. The Sandpiper manicures the beach near its buildings but close to the water line there is much seaweed and algae that smells when it decays. There was also litter such as bottle caps, cans and piles of dog do.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Booked this just the day before as a last minute deal and were unsure what to expect, we got a good deal over the phone a the manager explained that some work was going on and they were offering a 30% discount, the work did not interfere at all with our 2 night stay, the apartment were listed as sleeping 6 but to be honest you wouldnt want to do that for a week, but for a family of 4 they are brilliant, the pool is really warm and clean as is the spa, the whole complex is spotless and the location is unbeatable, a great spot and would have no hesitation recommeding it for a family of 4, but not for 6.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, Regional Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Sandpiper Gulf Resort.

We appreciate you choosing A Sterling Managed Resort for your vacation.

Respectfully

Perry Landis
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,706 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,876 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $151 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing