We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort myers
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Staycation”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

As a local I try to stay twice a year. I love the Sandpiper, it is perfect for my lil family of 3. The convenience of the kitchens in the room and the BBQ grills on the pool deck are priceless with a two year old. We love the staff and the location. We have not been back this year but definitely will plan for a fall trip. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltenbummler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sandpiper as we really enjoy serving our local guests! We look forward to seeing you in the Fall.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    215
    44
    22
    7
See reviews for
331
308
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week nice and relaxing place beachfront resort. It was nice to get away from work and do some fishing,sun tanning ,wave runners,one pool for kids and another one for adults. Small kitchen also four BBQ to grill your fresh catch or steak. Store are close to the place . Watch the fireworks from the balcony was great. The place did get crowded for the 4th July weekend so reserve early.It was nice to walk thru the beach and not wanting to go home.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob5by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am so delighted you had an enjoyable week over the 4th of July holiday. The beach is a fun place to be and as you mentioned, the fireworks are visible from our location. We would love to have you back again next year.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANNON FALLS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

we stayed at Sandpiper end of June 2014, we were very happy with the property, the staff would do anything for you, the pools were great, room clean and had everything we needed. Next time we come to Ft Myers Beach we will be back here to stay. The only item that could be improved on would some room updates such as carpet.

Room Tip: corner room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSALIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be clean and our associates to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I didn't actually stay at the Sandpiper, but visited family there that came in for a wedding we attended. Because of the location of the wedding and the fact that we needed to be closer to the venue, we opted to stay closer to Downtown. Next time I think we will be staying here. The rooms were nice and spacious and looked much better than the initial online pictures I viewed prior to seeing them. The pool is small but nice and at the time we visited uncrowded. There were facilities to BBQ and the beach itself was very nice, white soft sand and very clean. There seemed to be plenty to do in the area as well. If you have a family with you, I highly recommend it. In the future I hope to be staying here myself!

Room Tip: First floor if you don't like stairs. I would choose a room with a view of the gulf if I had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandemoniumaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of your first impression of the Sandpiper. We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've stayed here several times and I keep coming back. I've had a courtyard view, a partial beach view, and an island view. All of the rooms were clean, accommodating, and the beds were comfortable. I love the key bracelets so I can wander the beach and not worry about holding anything. The staff is very helpful and answers to any concerns. The only drawback I had was the island view room layout. I like to sleep in very cold temperatures and the air tends to blow directly to the kitchen area so the bed area closest to the door stays warm. Other than that, every time I've ever stayed there was absolutely excellent and I will definitely be back. I hope to do ocean front next time and have the comparison of all the different types of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachesandbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for returning to the Sandpiper year after year! It is our pleasure to provide you with the kind of stay that inspires you to come back. See you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room fits our family of 6 perfectly. The kitchen comes fully equipped and has a small table with 4 chairs. The room has 2 queen beds and a queen sofa sleeper. Clean rooms, pool area very nice and maintained. Love that the keys for the rooms that are actually rubber wristbands you wear and they can get wet. No loosing the key card. Staff is friendly and helpful. Coffee served all day as well as hot water for tea, They also have books in the lobby you can borrow while you stay and inflatable rafts that you can borrow. They do have beach towels you can get on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great, you get a large balcony or terrace on the first floor. The courtyard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPartyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Sandpiper. We are happy to offer the amenities you mentioned to enhance your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper from April 29th until May 9th, 2014. We had a pool suite, number 120, first floor with a private terrace on ground level, right next to the pool deck, with a low shrub for separation. All the first floor pool suites are alike. There are 2 double beds which have upgraded mattresses. There is a front entrance door off the parking lot and a sliding window wall at the rear for pool deck and patio areas access. The layout is great. A small private bathroom with updated fancy tiling has bath and shower, with adjacent powder room, sink and mirror, open to the sleeping area, and a large (for a hotel room) closet.

The kitchen was very well equipped as far as cookware and dishes and flatware and all of the necessary gadgets like toaster, can opener, spatulas, dish towels, etc. A small bottle of dish soap was furnished. We did most if not all of our own dish washing. A modern programmable microwave floats above the 2 burner electric range, which has seen better days but worked fine. The fridge was full sized with a handy ice box but no ice maker. Kitchen table and 4 chairs. Old fashioned A-C unit in the exterior wall back of the eating area at floor level. Nice flat screen TV right in front of the left hand bed.

Fellow travelers vacationing here at the Sandpiper were family types and many came from Germany. They are mostly a well- behaved bunch, not rowdy in extremes, and the kids were respectful. The staff consisted of a large percentage of Island people, which lended to the British west Indies aura that Sandpiper Gulf Resort is known for. The mid- island gulf beach location is the finest on all of Fort Myers Beach, and the low -rise intimacy of this boutique resort is something I, for one, would like to keep secret.

Away from the pool suites where we stayed, which is the ‘family pool area’, there is another area with a block of rooms several stories high in close proximity to the ’Adults only’ pool area. I can only say that we are glad that we were in the family pool suites area. Close by to the shuffle board are grills for barbing by guests, and they were seen in use most evenings.

The staff were attentive. When I mentioned a bug sighting to the management, they took it very seriously. There is a washer and dryer for guest’s use and supplies available for purchase in the lobby.

The only reason I could not rate this resort a 5 star is the condition of the wood cabinetry and old carpeting, which are worn our and in need of serious replacement. Other than that we just loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Sandpiper. I appreciate your comments on the eagerness and attentiveness of our associates. We aim to please every guest so that you may have a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,804 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
550 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing