We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay here, but wished I had!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I didn't actually stay at the Sandpiper, but visited family there that came in for a wedding we attended. Because of the location of the wedding and the fact that we needed to be closer to the venue, we opted to stay closer to Downtown. Next time I think we will be staying here. The rooms were nice and spacious and looked much better than the initial online pictures I viewed prior to seeing them. The pool is small but nice and at the time we visited uncrowded. There were facilities to BBQ and the beach itself was very nice, white soft sand and very clean. There seemed to be plenty to do in the area as well. If you have a family with you, I highly recommend it. In the future I hope to be staying here myself!

Room Tip: First floor if you don't like stairs. I would choose a room with a view of the gulf if I had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandemoniumaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of your first impression of the Sandpiper. We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 823 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've stayed here several times and I keep coming back. I've had a courtyard view, a partial beach view, and an island view. All of the rooms were clean, accommodating, and the beds were comfortable. I love the key bracelets so I can wander the beach and not worry about holding anything. The staff is very helpful and answers to any concerns. The only drawback I had was the island view room layout. I like to sleep in very cold temperatures and the air tends to blow directly to the kitchen area so the bed area closest to the door stays warm. Other than that, every time I've ever stayed there was absolutely excellent and I will definitely be back. I hope to do ocean front next time and have the comparison of all the different types of rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachesandbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for returning to the Sandpiper year after year! It is our pleasure to provide you with the kind of stay that inspires you to come back. See you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room fits our family of 6 perfectly. The kitchen comes fully equipped and has a small table with 4 chairs. The room has 2 queen beds and a queen sofa sleeper. Clean rooms, pool area very nice and maintained. Love that the keys for the rooms that are actually rubber wristbands you wear and they can get wet. No loosing the key card. Staff is friendly and helpful. Coffee served all day as well as hot water for tea, They also have books in the lobby you can borrow while you stay and inflatable rafts that you can borrow. They do have beach towels you can get on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great, you get a large balcony or terrace on the first floor. The courtyard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenPartyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Sandpiper. We are happy to offer the amenities you mentioned to enhance your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper from April 29th until May 9th, 2014. We had a pool suite, number 120, first floor with a private terrace on ground level, right next to the pool deck, with a low shrub for separation. All the first floor pool suites are alike. There are 2 double beds which have upgraded mattresses. There is a front entrance door off the parking lot and a sliding window wall at the rear for pool deck and patio areas access. The layout is great. A small private bathroom with updated fancy tiling has bath and shower, with adjacent powder room, sink and mirror, open to the sleeping area, and a large (for a hotel room) closet.

The kitchen was very well equipped as far as cookware and dishes and flatware and all of the necessary gadgets like toaster, can opener, spatulas, dish towels, etc. A small bottle of dish soap was furnished. We did most if not all of our own dish washing. A modern programmable microwave floats above the 2 burner electric range, which has seen better days but worked fine. The fridge was full sized with a handy ice box but no ice maker. Kitchen table and 4 chairs. Old fashioned A-C unit in the exterior wall back of the eating area at floor level. Nice flat screen TV right in front of the left hand bed.

Fellow travelers vacationing here at the Sandpiper were family types and many came from Germany. They are mostly a well- behaved bunch, not rowdy in extremes, and the kids were respectful. The staff consisted of a large percentage of Island people, which lended to the British west Indies aura that Sandpiper Gulf Resort is known for. The mid- island gulf beach location is the finest on all of Fort Myers Beach, and the low -rise intimacy of this boutique resort is something I, for one, would like to keep secret.

Away from the pool suites where we stayed, which is the ‘family pool area’, there is another area with a block of rooms several stories high in close proximity to the ’Adults only’ pool area. I can only say that we are glad that we were in the family pool suites area. Close by to the shuffle board are grills for barbing by guests, and they were seen in use most evenings.

The staff were attentive. When I mentioned a bug sighting to the management, they took it very seriously. There is a washer and dryer for guest’s use and supplies available for purchase in the lobby.

The only reason I could not rate this resort a 5 star is the condition of the wood cabinetry and old carpeting, which are worn our and in need of serious replacement. Other than that we just loved this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Sandpiper. I appreciate your comments on the eagerness and attentiveness of our associates. We aim to please every guest so that you may have a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Firstly, it took me weeks to pick a hotel in Fort Myers. I read and re-read all reviews I could find. Sometimes when reading reviews there are polar opposite ratings and this was the case with sandpiper gulf. However, as the positive reviews heavily outweighed the negative reviews I went for it and was glad I did.

The lady who checked me in was polite and efficient. We got there quite early but our room was ready and there was no problem getting in. I had warned my partner that judging by reviews the room may not be that great - but boy was I wrong. We got, as booked through a third party agent at a much reduced price, a fantastic suite with a huge balcony overlooking the adult pool and the beach.

The free beach towels were excellent quality - no cheap facecloth sized towels here.

The room was a studio, but had sliding louvre doors that closed the bedroom off from the living room. There was a TV in each area. The bedding was good quality and the kitchen very well equipped. This resort was everything we could have wanted and more. It is in the quiet end of the beach, but we had a hire car and knew we would be driving for dinner etc (Mel's diner is a must).

I think I can safely say we will be back here in the future.

Room Tip: Beach view is a must in my opinion. If you are a couple a room in the block overlooking the adult po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shopaholic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review of the Sandpiper. I am so pleased that you found your accommodation to be everything you expected. We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Some of us were staying in a time-share and we needed an extra room close by--this turned out to be just right. Room was nice size, clean, had everything we needed. The room/suite we had would sleep 6 but that puts 2 in a hid-a-bed. I'd say that would push it as far as size but you could do 5 well. Nice kitchen area--pool was nice with great beach view. I would go back.

Room Tip: Even thought our room was not classified beachfront we could still see the water...if you want to sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

I am so glad you stayed with us at the Sandpiper and enjoyed your accommodation and the beautiful beach. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next Fort Myers Beach vacation.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

just spent 5 nights (not long enough!) at this gem. we paid for a beachview room, but were upgraded to beachfront. love the size of this resort---it's not a big high-rise like so many others. there are 2 pools, one for adults only, which is very relaxing. all staff are friendly and helpful. the rooms are clean and comfy with beautiful furnishings. there is a partial kitchen with full-size fridge-freezer and microwave, a 2-burner cooktop, toaster and coffee pot, pots/pans, dishes, glassware and utensils. there is an electronic safe in the closet, which is nice to have. we rented chairs and an umbrella on the beach for $13/day. beach is wide and flat and has powder-soft white sand.the only thing missing that would make this place perfect is a poolside tiki bar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

I am pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Sandpiper. Our quaint resort is a great place for relaxation and I am so glad that you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,685 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,114 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $146 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing