We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need is a swimsuit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Sandpiper is somewhere that you want to stay over and over again. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They are willing to go out of their way to find anything you need. The rooms are VERY clean and completely stocked with everything you need to never leave your room. The grocery store is less then 1/2 a mile away so stock up and stay in. With everything from 2 pools to an all day coffee bar why leave. An extra bonus... THE LOCATION!! You are very few steps away from a beautiful beach! The sunsets are to die for! Not to mention the fact that we saw dolphins on multiple occasions! There really are a ton of things to do so plan on being here for more then a weekend! Bring sunscreen!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovesbeaches21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, Regional Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2008

Thank you for choing the Sandpiper for your vacation. On behalf of the management I appreciate you taking thetime to write Trip Advisor.

Perry Landis
Regional Manager
Sterling Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 817 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2008

This hotel is right on the beach. We stayed in the Sandpiper II which had the adult pool in front of it. We had a side room with an island view, but standing on the balcony we could see the ocean and beach. The room was decorated nicely, with a nice little kitchenette and dining table. We loved the space the room gave a family of four. The hotel had two pools, plenty of grills, and lots of beach chairs. There were chairs by the pools and also by the beach. We didn't have to rent any. The only downfall is parking. When we arrived we were told we might have to park a block down the street because non customers park in their lot. They do put signs on the cars that don't belong saying they will be towed, but the cars never are. After the weekend though, parking was not a problem. Also, be aware, if you go anywhere else, to eat, shopping, etc, it will cost you to park. There are meters, people collecting money in parking lots, and pay to park areas.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IllinoisSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, Regional Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. On behalf of the management we appreciate you choosing The Sandpiper.

One of the staff members must have misinformed you about parking off site. This should have only been mentioned if you have a second vehicle. There is one parking space per suite. It is true we rarely tow vehicles but the night courtesy agent is supposed to tag them at night. We occassionally have guests who are so caught up in there beach experience that they neglect to put there parking permit in their window. You have should have been instructed to park in the alternate parking area where our tower is located.

My apologies for any inconvenience you experienced and I am glad it didn't change your experience at Sandpiper.

Perry Landis
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We wanted to do a nice surprise party weekend for my dad's 70th birthday. After much research, we all decided that the Sandpiper Resort would suite our needs. A few phone calls to Darlene and all was set up. We booked 7 rooms and Darlene was able to get us on the same floor all next to each other. This worked out beautifully for our entire family. Check in was fast and easy and the rooms were much nicer than we expected!

The staff was more than accommodating and they went above and beyond in helping us find a place to park our boat and a public ramp to launch it at.

The gas grills were brand new and worked great for our large group. The rooms were spotless and the towels and other linens were crisp and clean.

The location of the Sandpiper can't be beat! Close to Lover's Key, shopping and of course the beautiful beach.

I highly recommend if you are looking for a nice, quiet, well appointed resort, the Sandpiper is the way to go!

We are planning on going back next year and instead of 4 days, we will stay for a full week.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmgalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We wanted to stay two days on the beach on our tour through Florida so we chose the Sandpiper Gulf Resort, which was recommended in several travel guides and it turned out to be a very good choice. The biggest asset of the property definitely is the location right on the wonderful beach. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice, and all this comes at a price which is good.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ooookch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Once again, had the greatest time at Sandpiper from May 12 -15. Everything there is perfect to us. From the resort (so clean and beautifully decorated) to the staff who's always friendly and helpful (Hi Diana & Darlene!) and to the best location (in my opinion). We always check out other places while we're there and, to me, The Sandpiper wins hands down! Keep up the good work. We'll see you in a couple of months (again!)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

My sister and I spent a weekend at the Sandpiper celebrating our birthdays. Everything about the experience was above and beyond our expectations - accommodations clean, more than adequate, location perfect, attention paid to detail such as decor, cleanliness. The price was definitely right! There were two pools - one for adults only. And the beach was just a few feet away. The hostess, Darlene, could not have been more helpful and pleasant. We will definitely make it our annual get-away and plan to extend our stay next year!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank mattrsmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Another great vacation at The Sandpiper Gulf Resort (April 15-29th). This was our third year in a row staying at The Sandpiper and once again, we weren't disappointed. The staff are very accommodating, rooms are nice, grounds and pools are well maintained, beach is beautiful and the sunsets are amazing. Every night we were able to sit on our deck, facing the Gulf of Mexico and watch the most awesome sunsets. Many of the guests are repeat visitors to The Sandpiper and tend to visit around the same time each year so, it's always nice to see familiar faces. There are 52 weeks in a year, for 2 of them we are staying at The Sandpiper and for the other 50 we are thinking about it. It would be great to see more Canadians at the resort. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,662 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,099 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $142 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing