We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at Sandpiper Gulf Resort March 14 - 17, 2008 during Spring Break. The place is a decent stay. Its an older facility, but they have painted it and installed a standing seam metal roof in an attempt to keep it updated. Pros include the fact it offers a full size frig and small kitchenette in each unit. No dishwasher and limited counter space. I question on just how clean and sanitize the dish and glassware are - as most items are washed by hand and the sink water is not overly hot. The swimming pool was nice and we even played shuffle board for a bit. A good grocery store - Publix - is near by. I was impressed with what that grocery store had to offer given its smaller size. I ended up using the gas grill by the adult pool. Both grills on the property are used much and need some TLC - but it is nice to have access to one to use. A few con's - the 5:30 a.m. trash dumpster service each day was annoying - as the large commercial trash dumpster is located unscreened at the end of the parking lot near the street at the south end of the property. My kids thought the TV was too small - but they survived. We ended up renting wave runners for a 2-hour dolphin tour from another rental place to the north - near the Ft Myers Beach pier. The business that rents cabana's and jet skis at Sandpiper is almost twice as much as what was being offered by others near the pier.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Quint2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 823 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2008

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is a great place to stay.
It is quiet when we go there, the people also staying there are friendly and many are return visitors. The place is very clean and there location on the beach is fantastic.
I love that is farther down Estero, on the quiet part of the island and if you spend a little extra money for a gulf view, you can take in the sunsets, and enjoy the sounds of the ocean when you wake up.

They staff is friendly, the pools are nice, and the rate is affordable in my opinion for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We spent three nights at the Sandpiper Gulf Resort. We booked a room overlooking the Gulf on the 2nd floor. The space was more than adequate for us. The kitchen is equipped with the necessities. However, the beds and linens were a bit tired. The pool was lovely and Ft Myers Beach is a treat to walk. The location is closer to the south end of the island so it is quiet. The action/night life is further north near the bridge. Fresh coffee is available outside the office in the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Publix just up the road for provisioning. There are laundry facilities on site. A great location - a perfect spot to take the kids.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Ms_Burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. The ocean view rooms are well worth the extra bucks. The views are breathtaking, especially the spectacular sunsets. The place is *very* clean, you can tell it has been recently remodeled, and staff is super nice and friendly. Really comfortable beds, free wireless internet (although, depending on the room, the signal might be too weak) and fully equipped kitchens. They have two pools, one for adults only, and a jacuzzi but the beach is right there anyway. It is also located on the quiet end of Ft. Myers Beach, so it is perfect to sleep and rest away from the crowds. There is also Publix nearby if one wants to cook. Perfect place for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stayed in a beachfront room. It was right on the beach with wonderful views. Nice quiet, family atmosphere and the people were great. Darlene and Vesse are the best! God bless.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FareAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We've stayed at hotels/motels all over southern FL. We feel most at home at the Sandpiper

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jack3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Excellent location. From our beach side efficiency room we could see dolphins. The best things about this place are its quiet location and that we could walk along the beach and find shells and sand dollars.

Although this motel/resort doesn't have a restaurant or bar, we could walk a mile down the beach to bars & restaurants of the Outrigger & Holiday Inn. As well, one can take a short drive to a variety of eating establishments. Or use the free trolley service. A grocery store is not too far away.

Each room is individually owned and the staff at the front desk is supplied by a management company. Staff was friendly and informative. Rooms were clean. Laundry facilities are available on each floor.

There are two pools, one with a jacuzzi. One pool is intended for adults and the other for families.

We would highly recommend this place especially for its location and its price.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllinoisLaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,684 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,853 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $145 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing