We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased, will be back.”
Review of Edison Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edison Beach House
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Entire staff was very courteous and helpful with information, and also very responsive to requests and needs. Facility was clean,quiet, and well maintained. Location is perfect, a short walk to the Pier and Time Square. Free parking. Most rooms have great views of ocean and beach, with private balconies.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. However, balconies/rooms on the south side of complex are shielded from...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEHFranklin_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Edison Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 613 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I traveled recently with my husband, daughter and one of her good friends. We stayed for one week. We enjoyed our stay very much. We were warmly greeted and given a reusable bag, a small stuffed dolphin and soap. The elevator was consistently slow and even though we were on the 5th and top floor we took the stairs often. The rooms were freshly cleaned and the kitchen was well supplied. A maid came by every day to make beds and "freshen" up the room.

One morning at 3:30 AM the fire alarm went off. Everyone evacuated the building and stood outside in the cold, early morning air while 3 fire trucks and an ambulance showed up. Turns out there was no fire just some mechanical issue in the elevator operating room. However, the wait was caused because the owner of the house had not put the correct new keys in a box for the firefighters. Had the keys been there the firefighters would have been able to detect the problem earlier and we would have been able to go back to bed much sooner.

The pool was small but well heated and maintained. There was a closet that was supposedly filled with beach chairs and other beach items but we never were able to find any. There are some beach chairs by the pool and some on concrete just before the beach. However these cannot be moved. The house is right on the beach. The beach was calmer were the house was located, on the other side of the pier. The house is in perfect walking distance from almost everything needed. The 7-11 right across the street was handy and not that far down was a Publix. The next time we go to Fort Myers Beach we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is SMOKING hotel, period.
We arrived to a room that just stank of stale cigarette smoke.
Almost everytime we exited the elevator, we were greeted by the same.
There is no staff here 12 hours a day.
Guests smoke on the balcony while leaving door to unit open so smoke pours into the hotel.
The hotel PROVIDES ashtrays on every balcony and around the pool.
You figure it out.

I would never stay here again.

If you are a smoker, you are surely welcomed here and the location is good.

If you are a non-smoker who doesn't want a hotel room that smells like your clothes did in 1990 the day following the 5 hours you spent at a smoke filled bar, go someplace else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HUMINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great view of the beach and everything that we wanted in a two room/two bath suite. Our maid service was excellent. Little problems were quickly handled by the staff. Prices were in line with the rest of the area. We'll be coming back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palminator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We've stayed here at least five times now with and without the kids. This time we stayed in one of the newer rooms ending in '01. These look out over the public parking lot and beach. Much nicer than the other two bedroom rooms that seemed to be getting a little dated. However, the new rooms were stocked with wicker furniture like the other rooms. Not very comfortable.

The location is good but not great. Of course, you are steps from the beach but it is near the public beach and very crowded. The beach is bigger this year which helps, but now after several stays here we are tired of being so close to the crowds. It is nice that that you are a few minutes walk to restaurants and shopping but walk in the opposite direction (towards the Best Western) and it is much less crowded and more relaxing. You won't have people setting up camp ten feet from you on the beach.

Beware, over spring break and probably other times, it takes about 45-60 minutes to get on the island during the day. Crazy traffic. There is a 7/11 store right across the street which is convenient.

Overall, you'll like the Edison and I would recommend it but next time we are getting away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

A great view of the parkinglot next to Times Square; you did also get to see the beach. Fairly small suite; not a lot of places to set your luggage. Very outdated decor; bed was fairly small.

Room Tip: felt it was quite outdated.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Edison Beach House is a beautiful, clean hotel right on the beach at the north end of Fort Myers Beach. They've thought of everything here, from beach towels, to chairs, to parasols, washer-dryer in your unit, to beach toys for kids. A great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Several room configurations to choose from.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eilefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,595 reviews
0.8 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $124 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edison Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Edison Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing