We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!”
Review of Caribbean Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribbean Beach
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this resort is a good place to stay in Ft. Myers Beach. Be warned though, rooms are small and I would not recommend more than one couple per room. There were four of us on this stay and living quarters were a challenge.

However, the room was clean with all the necessary amenities. Nothing spectacular, but the expectation shouldn't be the four seasons. There's a large pool and a smokin' hot hot tub in the center of the resort. There are bikes, canoes, and kayaks which can be rented free of charge. There are plenty of new grills to use along with shuffleboard, ping pong and bag toss.

The beach isn't great, I would take a trip down the road to seek out a better one.

There's a trolley stop directly across the street which makes getting into town easy. Lovers key park is a mile up the road.

Would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank JM3RR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife planned this trip as a birthday present for me. We both looked forward to it. I was excited at her choice. Our check-in upon arrival was friendly, quick, and informative. We had a unit directly facing Gulfside. The unit itself was small, but efficiently laid out, with a king-sized bed in the bedroom, a large bathroom to the side of the bedroom. Walking through the bedroom you entered the kitchenette/eating area adjoining the living room.

The best part by far, was the dramatic view directly onto the Gulf of Mexico and beach through floor to ceiling glass sliding doors and a screen-in balcony. We unpacked and settled in, exploring the rest of the resort. The pool was good-sized with a separate whirlpool/hot tub. There was a stand alone, screened in garden room with ceiling fans, wicker furniture, a table and board games. Several brand new large, stainless steel gas grills were installed throughout the resort for guests' use. There was plenty of on site parking, some shaded.

The general area is far enough south of Fort Myers Beach proper to avoid the crowded tourist areas, as most residents in this area call it Estero or Estero Island. It's just north of Lovers Key State Park. Very Old Florida feel. Plenty of bike lanes, and not much traffic.

A very nice, local retail plaza was just up the street with a book store, restaurants, pubs, shops, galleries and more. A community golf course was across the street from the resort. We were delighted to discover, a small lagoon is in between the resort and beach, with the beachfront now on a growing strip of an island, known as Little Estero, most of which is a protected wildlife sanctuary and brimming with seabirds, flamingos, sea turtle nests, and lots of empty beach facing both the Gulf and Lovers Key.

Sunset and sunrise walks on Little Estero are especially spectacular and worth while. We explored the area from Estero south to Lovers Key and Bonita Beach all the way to Naples and back. We especially loved Bonita Beach and it's community, finding Big Hickory Island Marina Restaurant to be the highlight of our eating out. Otherwise, we cooked fresh seafood on the grill most nights, with fruit for breakfast, and our own lunches. We used the screened in balcony often far into the night. The weather was gorgeous, only raining a few times.

Unfortunately, not all of the guests were respectful of everyone else staying here. One group of guests in particular, numbering approximately 50 or more, there for a family reunion, was especially disrespectful to all other guests, partying at the pool far into the night well past 1 AM on several occasions.

Other guests called the police several times due to their drinking, carousing, and violation of strict local sound ordinances which start at 10pm. Resort management were exemplary, professional, and courteous, even to the offending parties involved. The Board of Directors unfortunately refused to provide the authority, resources, financial or otherwise for property management to take care of the situation.

Video cameras were installed, but not working, needing repair. The 10PM quiet time notice was in all of the literature provided at check in and prominently displayed on large signs at the pool and throughout the resort.

The Pool was also supposed to close at 9PM. Unfortunately, drinking, rowdy guests ruined almost every night we stayed at this resort, waking us up with their noisy exploits anytime past midnight to 2 AM or later.

The on site managers hands were completely tied by the Board of Directors, who, incredibly were there also, for their board meeting. They would neither approve private security to stop by and do random patrols, nor would they provide resources to repair video cameras/vcrs/dvrs - both, could have been procured for a modest outlay of funds.

The Board, despite having video cameras with recording devices already installed, repeatedly demanded video proof from other guests and their cell phones, placing the other guests in the uncomfortable position of possible confrontation with the disrespectful, rude, drunken guests, risking retaliation and further confrontation - a distinctly very poor Board philosophy.

Until the Board of Directors steps up and actually ENFORCES the resort rules and regulations, including local strict quiet time sound ordinances, and repairs their camera system, video recording system, vcr/dvr, and stops demanding guests confront guests, we won't be coming back anytime soon. For such a lovely resort, we were extremely disappointed at the Board of Directors lack of both accountability and unwillingness to address serious security, safety, and guest issues.

Poor is my rating for this timeshare resort until the Board either addresses these issues or the current Board is replaced with Board members who actually do address these issues. The fault lies squarely with the Board, not the on site managers who had inadequate resources and no authority, nor support from the Board.

Such Board dysfunction will continue to mar this resort's reputation and needs to be addressed either by Interval or RCI, directly and firmly. This is why timeshare resort travel is average, at best. Look elsewhere in this lovely island.

A final note: If planning a large family get-together (greater than 8 people) at the beach, get a large, multi-bedroom beach home rental. There were several large properties nearby, on the beach, 3-5 stories tall or taller that could have easily accommodated the entire 50+ member party. Split between 50 people, or several groups of people, the cost would have been similar if not lower per group/person. Show some respect for fellow guests, especially if traveling with teenagers and heavy drinkers.

Room Tip: Get a room directly facing the Gulf, do not get a pool facing unit due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Let me start by saying we had a GREAT time on this trip. And the overall property was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. It has a great pool, lovely grounds and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful spot on the beach. That being said, I don't believe it lives up to the RCI Silver Crown award when it comes to the accommodations. Ours was a gulfview suite (I would never call it a 1bedroom condo) which has a lovely screened in porch, unit 214. It was TINY!!!!! We could barely open the door and the bed was in the way. We had to rearrange the kitchen table to make room to open the sliding glass door out to the porch. We had to rearrange furniture to open the sofa bed for my daughter to sleep on each night. Unless I wanted to hang out on the pulled out bed with her, we could not hang out together after the bed was out as all other furniture had to be moved to the other side.

That being said, it was just my 16 year old daughter and I so we didn't need any more space and the furniture rearranging gave us a good laugh. I had asked another couple to join us and fortunately they made other arrangements or it just would have been too tight. We had a GREAT time. If it's just 2 people and you don't mind tight quarters there is nothing wrong with it.

I do not think it should keep the RCI Silver Crown though, not unless they knock out some walls and do a complete overhaul of the property. I've stayed in other Silver Crown resorts before and they were lovely, this was just a tiny efficiency with a wall in the room so they could call it a 1 bedroom...

I recommend staying here, if you're on a budget and don't care where you lay your head. It was great and we got it for only 11,500 points so I'm not complaining.

Room Tip: Definitely try and stay in one of the end units that are gulf front. The other ones only "balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was less than average place to stay. We stayed in room 209 as commented in other reviews - the room is not remodeled unless you believe that the 1970 wear out furniture is new. I went to the store and purchased bleach to clean the bathroom. The kitchen sink is broke, no vent in bathroom, and window unit air conditioner. The bedroom and living room are not separated by wall but bifold doors. The pool and the beach were both nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAURA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in room 209. It was very affordable, especially considering it was spring break and we are used to staying off season in the fall with off season prices. Our unit looked very recently remodeled, very clean, had everything we needed, perfect for the 3 of us. The pool area was nice, too. Nice pool chairs, floats available. Bikes and canoes to borrow, nice gas grills to use. The only problem we had was our a/c kept freezing up. Maintenance came out to look at it, but we were gone most of the day every day anyway, and the ceiling fans made up for it at night. They told us another unit was on order already at checkout. I will definitely try to book this place again on our next FMB vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhiannonsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Paradise for couples or small family. Landscaping, pool, and spa are beautiful. Shuffleboard, corn hole, ping-pong, volleyball, bicycles, kayaks, reading room, free morning coffee, and more. Right on the beach. Units are modern, clean, and well maintained. Home away from home with a view!

Room Tip: No fitness center but bikes and kayaks available at no charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Yes, the rooms are small. They are one bedroom units, and the beds are full size, not queen size. They are very clean and cozy. Definitely fine for a couple, but cannot imagine taking kids or another couple to stay in the same room as you need to move the kitchen table and chairs to pull out the sleeper sofa. Provide a full size refrigerator, micro wave, stove stop, but no oven which I found a little strange. Many gas grills to accomodate your outdoor cooking, and they are covered so rain is not an issue. Had a great time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#29 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#24 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#16 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Beach

Address: 7600 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4999
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $169 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small timeshare resort located on the Gulf of Mexico. We are located on the quiet end of Ft. Myers Beach, but a short drive or trolley ride from the active North end. Our units are cozy with a small kitchen and necessary appliances and household items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribbean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing