We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“A Wonderful Hotel Worth Much More!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lovers Key Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel Worth Much More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon at lovers key. The Hotel was perfect. The condo was amazing with a great kitchen bathroom and bedroom. The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed every minute that we were there. We will go back to this hotel in the future.

All other hotels in the area could not compare to the value of this hotel. Great for relaxing and close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jppasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    121
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
95
307
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2005

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here last year here, and it was perfect! It's so relaxing, the view is breath taking, and we had the pool practically to ourselves all week. We just got back from a vacation at a so-called resort in Myrtle Beach, and the whole week, we kept wishing we had the luxuries of Lovers Key, and Fort Myers! Yeah, there is no beach at this resort, but it is just different, and nice! The rooms are so spacious, and clean. Never once did we have to ask for towels. We were given plenty. The room was thoroughly cleaned daily. The bathroom is huge! My dream bathroom!!
The front desk staff makes you feel like royalty! The lobby area and downstairs entrance way is beautiful. I can't wait to go back again! This Resort will spoil you, and it will be hard to stay anywhere else afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sanddunes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2005

We stayed at the hotel from 6/28 till 7/1 . With an infant, 2 yr. old and 11 yr. old in tow, we found the 1 bdrm. luxury suite with a complete kitchen to be perfect. We had an amazing view of the bay and a side view of the gulf. Each afternoon around 5 you could see the dolphins swimming in the bay and we even saw a few jump. True, there isn't much of a beach at all, but with an infant we weren't looking for one. The pool is great for kids, the deepest is four six and it has a waterfall. You need to drive to the Times Square with the long pier which was nice, parking was not a problem, but this is summer time. We also drove to the nearby state park which , although beautiful, for us it was way too hot to stay b/c of baby. The beach there had no umbrellas and the shelling wasn't much to write home about. In short, as a family with very young kids, the hotel met our needs as far as cleanliness, space and comfort. The only thing we would advise them is to have better channels on the TV. There was no disney channel or cartoon network . In fact, the only channel for kids was the family channel , so you had to buy a movie or two. They have on demand.
Also one of the doors to the bathroom did not lock.
The bathroom, by the way, is extremely spacious with a separate shower stall and a whirpool bath. However, this made bathing our two year old rather difficult. All in all, we would definitely return there for another vacation since it really met our needs.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trakme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

We had the pleasure of spending the 4th of July weekend at Lover's Key Resort. I must say that everything was A+. The entire staff was very professional and personable from the time I booked the room till the time we paid our bill upon check out. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the bay and Gulf and it was beautiful. The room size was perfect for two people but we could have had four if need be. The only disappointment we had was the couch in the living room. It was narrow to sit on and there fore we spent the evening laying across our king size bed to watch TV. The pool and patio area was always clean even though there we alot of people on the patio area for a holiday weekend. Guests even obeyed the request of management not to have glass or coolers on the patio which I was quite impressed with. The common areas were quiet and I never even heard our neighbors, but hen maybe we didnt have neighbors thats why we didnt hear them. We definately will return to this resort for a weekend of pure pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Lovers Key for Memorial Day Weekend in 2004 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in one the Luxury Suites. The suite is comprised of a living room with multiple couches and TV with a kitchen nook that has a small stove and a separate room for the bed room. The bathroom has wonderful Jacuzzi spa for two and there is an enclosed water closet room from the vanity area.
The hotel has a much laid back attitude and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are larger than your usual hotel because they are condo style. The complimentary continental breakfast was fair. My wife and I stopped by at a local supermarket so we could cook our own breakfast in the room. Just at sunset, sitting outside your balcony, you can hear the bottle nose dolphins singing. The hotel is located just north from Lovers Key State Park where they have a great public beach. This is a great location for collecting sea shells. The pool at the hotel is nice. They ran out of towels when we wanted to use the pool, but the service was nice and brought them to us by the pool when they were ready. The Flippers restaurant was ok. Take advantage of the coupons on the Lovers Key Beach club and resort for a free dessert, yum yum. I would recommend driving north to Fort Meyers Beach where there are many different choices.
This is not a super fancy resort, but it is a nice alternative for Florida residence instead of going to the Florida Keys.

Helpful?
4 Thank saxmanlee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds. England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2005

Stayed at The Grandview (now renamed Lovers Key Beach Club) for our third visit, and it was just as good as when we first visited five years ago.
Minimum stay is one week, but we could have stayed a lot longer. We Had a Gulfview room with breathtaking views and watched the dolphins from our balcony every morning and evening. Each unit has a separate bedroom with kingsize bed and sitting room with a kitchen area. It's not luxury but very clean and more than adequate,and the location is unbeatable. The building has it's own stretch of white sandy beach and this carries on into the Lovers Key Park. We totally chilled out, fishing, swimming, relaxing in the hot tub, and barbequed most days. Trolley bus runs from the building to the busy centre till 9.30pm. It may be a bit quiet for older kids but is very safe for young children.
We would recommend this place and we can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorniloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2005

We recently got married at Lovers Key Beach Resort. To be honest I have a love/hate relationship with the resort. Firstly let me start off with the neagtives of which their are few. Our biggest annoyance was that the resort allowed (Did not seem to mind) non paying guests to pulling up at the bay in boats or wave runners and using the facilities. We had no problems with the resort allowing non guests to use the restaurant (Flippers) but on at least 2 days (both weekend days) people pulled up with coolers of beers and music systems and started using the pool facilities much to the annoyance of existing guests that left the pool to seek quite from the obnoxious crowd that had invaded the pool area.To be fair to the front desk on the second time this occurred and following complaints from guests the crowd was ushered away from the resort. On our last night we were woken by about 15 people in the pool at gone Midnight despite the fact it clearly states that night swimming is not permitted. The crowd stayed in the pool for over an hour without being removed which was suprising. It is also fair to say this is not a beach resort. There is a very small strip of beach on Estero Bay but a 5 minute walk to the Gulf side of Bonita Springs takes you to a wider white sandy beach which is very nice. Flippers has strange opening hours which we believe is to accomodate the feeling that the resort is for total relaxation and not for younger crowds. The food at flippers is good. Now for the positives. The wedding was truly a magical experience. The wedding marquee and setting of the ceremony as well as the food and attention to detail was first class. The front desk staff and the staff at Flippers were excellent and extremely friendly. A member of our wedding party missed their flight home and the hotel provided her with a further stay in the resort free of charge which is exceptional customer service. The room was also exceptionally spacious and extremely clean (We were on the 12th Floor) and the views were magnificent. Dolphins visted us on a daily basis in the bay and our regular walks to the penninsula of the gulf beach opposite the resort was always accompanied with more dolphins. In conclusion our stay and the resort was great and warranting of a 5 star review apart from a few instances that could have been handled by the resort slightly better.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Property: Lovers Key Resort
Address: 8771 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5127
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing