We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Resort was absolutely wonderful. The view was fabulous from our room. The condo was spotless and had a great decor along with the gorgeous view. The bathroom was amazing! Flippers restaurant was excellent! We had a relaxing time. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    120
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
90
295
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Peaceful, relaxing stay for our anniversary. Resort is a condo hotel, with each unit individually owned and 8 units per floor. Our first night was in a room on the 8th floor with a large balcony overlooking the bay with a beautiful sunrise, saw several dolphins and with low tide, an exposed sandbar attracted many wading birds. A bottle of chilled champagne was waiting for us, along with a card wishing us a wonderful anniversary - nice touch. Unit has a small kitchen, main area with dining table, couch and TV, nice size bedroom with comfortable king size bed and bathroom (combo shower and jetted tub). Very clean, basic unit but looks like all original appliances and TVs, could use a refresh. On the afternoon of the 2nd day, some rowdy guests checked into several rooms on our floor. Instead of waiting to see how loud they might get later, we inquired at the front desk to see if another room was available. (On plus side, we only heard them when they were in hallway going between their rooms, didn't hear them when they were in their units - walls seem solid and soundproof). Staff was great and not only moved us to another room, they upgraded us to the 11th floor. This unit is the same size but facing the other direction, to the Gulf. It was a cloudy evening but my guess is that it has a gorgeous sunset view. This unit is more recently renovated with granite countertops, a modern shower and larger TVs.
Our room rate included breakfast at Flippers, a cute open-air restaurant next to the resort. Breakfast was delicious - I had eggs and breakfast potatoes, husband had pancakes. Our dinner the first night was also good - coconut shrimp (4 large shrimp with mango salsa) and blackened grouper sandwich.
Nice size pool and hot tub added to our relaxing stay.
Beware the lowered speed if you take a right out of the resort and go over the bridge towards Fort Myers Beach. Very small sign for dropping speed limit down to 25 going over the bridge. There was a sheriff checking speeds on the other side of the bridge. Drop in speed limit is marked much more clearly coming from the north, heading south. Speed limits seem to drop a lot on the bridges in area, so be careful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLostTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had the best holiday ever. Beautiful condo with amazing views over the bay. The kitchen was fully equipped and the bed comfy. Downstairs there was a room where you could use the WiFi. The outdoor swimming pool was good and so were the barbecues. What I loved the most was that you had direct access to the beach and you could watch the sunsets from your balcony. I can't wait to visit again. We stayed here in 2011 but due to health problems were unable to travel for the last couple of years. We are coming to Fort Myers this year and we are hoping to book here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better view although you can get excellent views from the 3rd floor onwards. The con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great spot for a long weekend as long as you don't want a resort right on the beach. Spectacular views from every window; refreshing pool with waterfall is like a tropical paradise; loved the convenience & again, scenic, dining at Flippers for breakfast & lunch. Saw dolphins swimming in the bay. Staff was friendly & rooms are spacious, comfortable, & clean. Price was reasonable too, we had a Florida residents rate. We were on 6th floor this trip & 9th floor previously. Like I said fabulous views from anywhere!

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view. We had a "luxury" room; it was bigger than the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridianbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We usually try to stay at bungalow, cottage type places, but once in a while we go for a little more luxury. Lovers Key Resort did not disappoint. The service was great and the room was more than we expected for the price. We had a 2 room suite with a kitchen and hot tub for about the same price as what most of the other hotels were asking for a single room. With the Florida resident discount they offered, it was quite reasonable. We opted for an upper floor room for a few dollars more and the view was spectacular from from our balcony. The hotel is about 20 feet from the inlet water on one side and there is a Gulf view on the other. We were lucky enough to have a view of both. We watched the lightning from the usual summer storms on the horizon and dolphins swimming in the channel in front of our room. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

Flippers, the restaurant that is on the property is excellent also. I will review that under restaurants.
.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4th of July weekend. Have a great time. We had two rooms, both overlooking the water. 12th floor was perfect for watching the fireworks. You really don't have to leave the resort. Everything is there. What really made our stay though we're the staff, both in the Hotel (Kristi was so accommodating and very professional) and the restaurant. The entire staff at the Restaurant (Flippers) were so much fun and just made you feel like you belong. Chris, Ray, Jay and Jono thanks for the awesome service and special thanks for the chef. We ate there every night and the food was spectacular. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful resort, love the amenities and the food/drink at Flippers were great. Only complaint is the woman who delivered our complimentary breakfast was incredibly rude and unprofessional. The rest of the staff (front desk, etc.) were very friendly and hospitable unfortunately that was not the case with the staff delivering room service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
6.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.0 mi away
GullWing Beach Resort
GullWing Beach Resort
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Property: Lovers Key Resort
Address: 8771 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5127
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing