We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Needs Updated & A Friendlier Front Desk”
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Needs Updated & A Friendlier Front Desk”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Some of the units in this condo building have been updated and some are still the same dreary original worn out carpet, ancient furniture, unpainted walls and outdated decor condition from years of use. Guess which one we had?
The view is great of the intercoastal waterways. There is no beach on the property but Lovers Key State Park is across the highway.
The front desk people are rude and unhelpful - the most constant face there is a gal named Kim and she rules what she will help with and what she won't with an iron-will that you'd think every courtesy was coming out of her pocket. The manager guy is super - but you don't see him often.
Housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful - obviously trying to make your stay as comfortable as they possibly can.
The pool has limited sunshine (only from 2-5pm), the rest of the time it is shaded by the building itself.

Room Tip: They say you can request a certain room but they won't guarantee you get it. Maybe you CAN requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff615, General Manager at Lovers Key Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for anything less than a pleasant experience that you had with one of our staff members. Please know that I have addressed your comments and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    127
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
97
324
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed here for a short getaway. The rooms are basically small condos. It is right on the bay- maybe 15 feet from the water- so the views are wonderful. The rooms have huge windows where you can watch dolphins and boaters. As others said, the rooms are a little dated but were very clean. This is a resort- there is no room service and luggage help, but that was fine. The attached restaurant, Flippers, has outdoor dining on the water and the food was great. I deducted a star as their website states there is a continental breakfast (there isn't) as others have mentioned. The front desk told me "it is only offered certain seasons- they were supposed to change that on our site". As others have mentioned this, I find it hard to believe that she was surprised. Any other top hotel I have stayed at would have offered something to compensate, not here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooseconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switz City, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at Lovers Key Resort for our 40th anniversary and we absolutely fell in love with this resort! We had a very nice condo, very comfortable with everything we needed, wonderful friendly staff, beautiful pool area and waterfall, and Flippers bar and restaurant was everything and more!! We will definitely stay here again!! The area is quiet and away from all the hustle and bustle, but it is on the water so we had beautiful views all day long. A wonderful anniversary vacation that left us with beautiful memories!!! Thanks, Lovers Key Resort, for making our short vacation a memorable one!!! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 701, a corner suite, and would choose it again. High enough for the beautiful water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaC195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I selected Lovers Key based on location. We wanted to be in Fort Myers beach area without being right off of Bonita Beach Rd, where there is a lot of traffic & congestion and were not looking for the typical hotel amenities for this trip.
The upside was that the area is secluded, quiet, in walking distance to a private beach, access to pool & marina and great for relaxation. The downside is that it is not near any other restaurants excpet for Flippers Restaurant located on hotel & condo property, no shopping or stores at or near the hotel and you need to drive thru Fort Myers beach to get to your destination. The drive itself is very nice and scenic, but not convenient if you want to be near your hotel.
The hotel room was a very cozy, spacious 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen, jacuzzi tub and balcony. We booked floors 9-12 which are more expensive but have beautiful views of dolphins swimming and Estrero Bay. I don't get the reviews about the hotel room being out of date, it is not a full service hotel such as the Hilton or Westin. It has a nice laid back waterfront condo feel to it. If you are looking for a fancy room, or a hotel with entertainment, activites, room service, concierge & spa services, etc. this is not the hotel for you, but is great if you are with adults and are looking for rest & relaxation.

Room Tip: The Lovers Key Website says there is continental breakfast included which is falsely advertised sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbcruisingrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I made reservations at Lovers Key Resort based on all the good reviews. We simply don't get it. We reserved a "luxury room" (an upgrade from their "resort rooms") on the 9th floor. Yes, the views were great, but that was the only thing that was good. The room was so outdated, I actually called down to the desk to make sure we were in a luxury room. The TVs were old style, the blinds and furniture were worn out, the garbage disposal smelled rotten, the shower was tiny and the bathroom needed updating. But probably worst of all were the fake potted plants and flowers on the front room and dining room tables and in the bedroom--which were dusty and grimy! To top it off we went to have a drink at Flippers and the bartender was extremely rude. I realize Flippers is not owned by the resort, but it was the straw that broke the camel's back. We had originally made our reservation for 3 nights, but stayed for only 1. I will say that the staff was cordial about giving us a refund, so I thank them for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family was looking for a quiet few days near nature with comfortable, upscale accommodations. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the bay and the large living space in our unit. We had delightful breakfast meals at Flippers, and my husband and I enjoyed our drinks/dessert at Flippers one evening. I thought the furnishings, toiletries and interior of the accommodations were slightly below standard for the price we paid for the room, but they were sufficient. I'm sure we will come back. Staff at Flippers and housekeeping staff was very nice. Would have been great for front desk staff to offer information about the local area when we arrived. There were used sheets on the pull out sofa when we got there and opened it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gropius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and i just spent Christmas here. 5 days 4 nites. Words can not express the views from your room....we saw manatees and dolphins from our balcony every day. Lovers Key State Park beach is so private and pristine.
The food at Flippers was fantastic.The staff was so helpful and polite.
This is definatly a place we will return to.
If you go make sure to book directly with Lovers key Resort so you can enjoy the amenities.
Im at a loss for words, you just have to see it for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1mikey112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,587 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,755 reviews
6.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,044 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,503 reviews
5.3 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Property: Lovers Key Resort
Address: 8771 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5127
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing