We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect. Great for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We stayed at the GullWing at the end of April-begining of May 2005. Perfect weather for this area. We had requested a 2-bedroom bayview suite but got a 3-bedroom at the same price (I assume they were supposed to lock the third bedroom but didn't). This worked well for us as it gave us the choice of which spare bedroom was best suited for our 10-mo. old's crib. We could see both the bay and the beach/ocean.

The hotel is located on the middle-southern end of the island. It is much quieter than the northern end. But that means you have to find parking when you drive up to the northern end or take the trolley. Our best meal was in a strip mall across the street at "Loggerheads". We ate there the first night and I spent the rest of the trip trying to find fried grouper that tasted so good.

We rented the "large" crib from the hotel as opposed to the smaller/play yard option which they also offered. The crib was smaller than a standard crib but was plenty big for our daughter who is on the tall side. They also rent high chairs if you want one. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Plenty of plush towels were available for our use. The pool was a bit small, and there were lots of people around the pool, but that may have just been the time of year. Pluses in the pool area...plenty of shady areas/umbrellas, a patio area where you can eat lunch (they grill out by the pool on certain days), and there is a ledge that runs all the way around the pool which is nice to sit on with little ones who can't swim yet. The beach is so WIDE. It is also well packed so that walking is easy and you can push a stroller if you want without using those ski things on the wheels.

The only bad thing...the beds. They are too soft!!! My back ached every morning. The couch wasn't very good for sleeping on either. My parents stayed at GullWing too and this was thier only complaint also. Gullwing is one of 6 hotels run by Sunstream Hotels & Resorts. We've contacted them to see if they have different beds at thier other properties, but Sunstream says they have the same beds in all of their hotels. I've heard that another Sunstream property, the Point Estero Beach Resort, is being newly furnished this year. It is right next to GullWing, so that might be worth trying if you want to be in this area.

Stayed: April 2005
6  Thank eilonwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for GullWing Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 618 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2006

Just got back from 5 nights at the Gull Wing Beach Resort. We booked a 3 bedroom condo overlooking the beach. My expectations were exceeded. My teenager even smiled upon seeing our condo. The unit was immaculate, well stocked with needed (small sized) items (paper towel, dish soap, laundry soap, shampoo, lotion, etc). The rooms were so large and nicely decorated. The view was outstanding. The sand at the beach was so soft and clean, and not too hot. We collected lots of shells and saw a dolphin. The pool was warm, the hot tub was hot. The Publix store down the road did not overprice. Only one restaurant within walking distance that we would go back to ... Charlie's Boat House. Another highlight was going to Everglade City (1 1/2 hours drive) for an exciting air boat ride. Although it cost a lot of money per night, we went home happy, tan and relaxed. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patricadenstaedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2006

We stayed at the GullWing in early December, What a great place! The rooms were beyond our expectation. We reserved a two-bedroom gulf front condo. Upon our arrival we were provided a three-bedroom gulf front at no aditional cost! Condo was very large and immaculate. Amenities included a fully equipped kitchen, laundry room, dining area, wet bar and a screened lanai. Master bedroom suite had floor to ceiling windows overlooking the gulf, large walk-in closet, huge master bath, and a private door that led to the lanai. Two other bedrooms were at the opposite end of the condo and included a full bath for sharing. The pool was well maintained. Hallways and entrances were consistently maintained throughout the day. Staff were very helpful and courteous. This is located on the quiet end of Ft. Myers Beach which was an added plus to us. Publix and CVS were a two-minute ride in the car. Recommend going to Charlie's for dinner -- great food at a good price! Would return in a nano-second!!!

8  Thank hartherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We had a blast at the gullwing. We payed for the 2 bedroom suite but they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom with no extra charge. The beds were wonderful! We had a good veiw of the bay and the gulf from our private screened balcony. The location was great also. It was a short drive from great dining and shopping. And you can't beat being right on the beach. The water was warm compared to what we are used to in California. Sand dollars were plentiful and we enjoyed the sunsets. We were there when a hurricane passed through the gulf and hit the panhandle but we still had a great time. The eastern thunderstorms were amazing. The pool was warm but nice, a nice hangout for after the beach. The price wasn't bad either. For a place this nice, on the beach, in California, you would pay over $400. We would recommend the Gullwing to ANYONE.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank annette2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis
19
Reviewed July 2, 2005

Another great vacation!

Gullwing offers a terrific package of beautiful luxury suites and great service. The only improvement to make this a perfect destination is a slghtly larger pool. We stayed at the beachfront 3 bedroom suite and loved the view! Overall I would highly recommend this destination for those seeking a top end property with a beatiful beach.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, Missouri
110
Reviewed June 19, 2005

We just returned home from a week at Gullwing Beach Resort and are ready to return again!! The suite was beautiful as well as spacious and comfortable. The fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer in the suite was a must. The view was amazing and staff was friendly. I highly recommed bringing friends or family to enjoy with you. There is plenty of room. We will definately be returning to Gullwing. Thanks for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2005

This was our 2nd visit to GullWing for a long weekend. As before, it did not disappoint us. We had a 2 bedroom beachfront unit. 8th floor. Perfect views of the Gulf and Sanibel Island off in the distance. Weather was perfect all weekend. Lots of families gather here for vacations/family reunions and quick get-aways. There was even a wedding there this weekend right on the beach.

Everything you need is right in the unit, including the washer/dryer. There are also bbq's in the pool area for your use, if you wish to use them. Many did. Did not have much interaction with the staff, except to request a late check-out on Monday, which was granted. Our unit was huge -- the kids were walking around saying, "Mom, where are you?"!! A quick shopping trip to Publix and you are all set. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jimmarysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,655 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
4.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $159 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing