We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Gullwing now every year for the past 4 years. This is a lovely hi rise condo with great views, great location, extremely nice living quarters, fitness room, and well kept pool and patio area with gas grills.

Room Tip: All the rooms are outfitted identically...there is no bad choice. You may like higher rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ziggynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Ziggynettie,
Thank you very much for staying with us for the past four years! We can't tell you how much we appreciate your loyalty and are happy that you have enjoyed your large accommodations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. All guest feedback is important to us. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 628 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here almost a week. Hated to check out. Great location out of the hussle and bussle of Downtown Ft. Myers beach. The beach in front of the resort is amazing and has a lot of shells to hunt for. Facilities are very well kept. House staff were very friendly. 4 Weber gas grills for the guests to use was a plus. Pool and whirlpool were always warm.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. All rooms have the same furniture and appliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteakGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear SteakGuy75,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Gullwing Beach Resort. We really appreciate all your kind words and I will be sure to pass them along to our team. Our staff strives to give each guest a fantastic experience. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been to many properties on the beach as I live in the area. This condo was great! We went for a girls weekend and got a 3 BR unit. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was fantastic. I will definitely stay there again. The property is located on the South end of the beach which is by far the biggest and best stretch of beach in Ft Myers. We were also able to walk to Santini Plaza which has many restaurants and bars. The trolley can pick you up and take you downtown so you don't have to drive. Great job, Sunstream!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Heather C,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your girls weekend. We appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your large 3-bedroom unit and that our staff was able to suck good care of you. We strive to make sure each guest has a fantastic experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Gullwing. We had another great trip... weather was great, and the beach was clean.
The pool and grounds, were in great condition, clean and well manicured.
For the first time I was a little disppointed that certain items are starting to show their age. The rooms were clean, but a lot of the amentities need replacements, and updates. The bathroom needs a complete facelift... shower plumbing, sinks faucetts...are very worn out. The shower faucett felt like it was very loose and ready to fall off. A lot of the finishes in the unit required touch ups corners beat up, trim work damaged.
The grills located out on the deck, need to be repalced. Only 2 out of the 4 grills would heat up past 350F... luckily it was not that busy, and we were able to use the two that worked (the two closer to the pool). I have the exact same Weber grill at home... they are a great grill, but they are starting to fall apart (literally one of the doors fell on my foot, because the hinge rusted off).
Last issue was the internet service... one word "frustrating". I understand that it is free, but i would sooner pay a fee and regular consistent service. it is wone thing to be slow (very slow - comparable to dial up) but the service would cut out every few minutes. My wife and I tried to get some work done after putting the kids to bed... needless to say... very frustrating.

I have to admit that I am a Facility and Maintenance Supervisor, so I have an eye for these type of issues.
The past few years I have booked directly with the resort, without looking at my options. Next year (visit number four to Fort Myers Beach) I will look around and price out a few options. In the past i would look ignore the premium associated with staying here, becuase it was a far superior resort compared to others orignally. Now i am afraid it is only slightly above average.

I do not want to come across that the resort was terrible... i am very confident that a young family visiting will enjoy themselves. Maybe jsut take a peak around and do your home work.

Next year we may stay at the Pointe Esterio next door... same great location... just a few bucks cheaper.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the beach view room on the second or third floor close to the grills... might be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValdyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 24, 2013

Dear ValdyM,
Thank you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We use all guest feedback to improve our property and services. I will look into the details you mentioned. We are rated as one of the top resort on Fort Myers Beach and are very happy you have chosen to stay with us for your last 3 trips to the island. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

very pretty,clean bit high but understand why.staff sweet and nice help with all our needs.good places 2 eat around them and you can be just lazy.beautiful city love the beach was not hot so nice.u can have a drink and relax and than go dancing and out 2 eat

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmomma334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 23, 2013

Dear BigMomma334,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. All guest feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve our services. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff truly strives to make sure each guest has a fantastic experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom beachfront condo. The space was amazing and very clean. It is so great to be able to stay at a property and feel like you are at home and not crowded in a hotel room. We are leaving tomorrow and I am already feeling sad. Our kids loved it also. They loved to be able to have a TV in their rooms to watch. It is a very kid friendly place. They loved the pool and the hot tub also. It is a very nice beach and is not overcrowded with people. Everything was in the kitchen that we needed for preparing meals and there is a Publix close by for grocery shopping. They also have washers and dryers in the room so you can wash your clothing. It is also great that they provide grills for you to use and grill out a meal. I am hoping to be able to go back again next year for our family trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryantfamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 23, 2013

Dear BryantFamily05,
Thank you so very much for giving us all your positive comments about your stay with us. Guest happiness is our number one priority and I'm happy to hear that you had a fantastic experience. Yes, we are very family friendly. Our large rooms are perfect for families and do make you feel like you're at home instead of a regular hotel. Thank you for choosing Gullwing Resort and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Don't quite know where to start.....This was our first time and did'nt know what to expect and were delightfully surprised! There was a birthday in our group and they went above and beyond to make it a special one to say the least! Customer service was outstanding, rooms were great, view was breathtaking...........an overall treat for the senses. Well within walking distance of bars and restaurants and a short trolley ride to where the action is (if that is what you desire). Weber grills on the property are a nice touch if you would like to make a special dinner. Special Thanks to Haley for going the extra mile to make this one of the most memorable vacations in a long time.....we will recommend to all and expect us back soon!

Room Tip: Trolley runs until 10m nightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear SteveandFaye,
Thank you so much for giving us your great feedback. I can't tell you how good it feels to know we helped make your vacation a special one. Our staff truly works hard to make sure each guest has a special experience. I will relay your message to our team. Thank you for choosing to stay at Gullwing Beach Resort and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,684 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
558 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,664 reviews
3.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $179 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing