We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed on the Gullwing the end of September. Our arrival and check in was flawless. We were upgraded to a beach front 3 bedroom suite (it was huge for the 2 of us) without even asking. It was room 306, which was just above the BBQ area. As other reviewers have said, it can get noisy around the pool, but we did not mind. This time of year it is families and by the time we went to bed around 10:00 it was all quiet so no issues. Dinner on our balcony was not real peaceful, but the view of the beach was great. The rooms are a bit dated, but nothing of concern and the bed was comfortable. There is a Publix a couple miles towards Fort Myers. Small wine section, but other than that no complaints about the store. I would strongly second the motion to bring aqua sox. First, there are whelks (snails) at the edge of the ocean that have sharp spines on their shells. Second, we had to walk through a large area of shallow water on the beach that was from the week before. This water was gross with bird crap. You would not want to be barefoot walking through that. We had two occasions to ask the staff for assistance, and both times they were handled quickly and curteously. I would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from BBQ and pool, but oceanside any floor is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornbread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear cornbread35,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us at the GullWing Beach Resort in Fort Myers. My staff and I are happy to hear you enjoyed the upgraded room and balcony beach view. We are also glad to hear you took advantage of our local area offerings. I also thank you for your feedback on our staff's high level of customer service and quick response time, we all strive to offer the very best products and services to all of our guests. We all look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner, General Manager
GullWing Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 627 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed in an island view condo for 5 days. The suite was spacious and had everything we could possibly need. The bed was extremely comfortable. The walk to the beach was so convenient. I would definitely stay at the GullWing again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Molly V,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our GullWing Beach Resort. My staff and I are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Island View Condo and our beach location.
We look forward to the future opportunity to serve you and your family again on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner, General Manager
GullWing Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A return vistor to Gullwings this year for 3 weeks with 8 year old grandaughter. Excellent. If we have a slight comment to make the lack of supervision around pool area ie people drinking when it clearly says NO and rude noisy children/teens being allowed to jump into pool area continously unchecked or stopped. Think it should be supervised.

Room Tip: Beach Feront High Floor a must if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueBerry63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear BlueBerry63,

Thank you for taking time to comment on our GullWing Beach Resort property about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our resort but we do wish to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during our busy pool hours. Our management team at the resort are currently considering a couple of options that would increase overall supervision in the pool area. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to serving you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner, General Manager
GullWing Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Overall, very great modern property with spacious & clean units. Very good family location and great for lounging at the beach or at the pool. Only drawback to this property and sister property Estero Point next store is the parking shortage. During the busy weekends, leaving the property to drive the coast or go to a local restaurant for dinner, there's a good chance you won't be a parking spot when you return and your screwed! A major dilemma for staying at the GullWIng again - great units/great location, but maybe out of luck trying to park your car!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear wjgoodman,

Thank you for commenting on our GullWing Beach Resort property located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your unit as well as the beach and pool amenities during your stay.

We do, however, apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with parking. My staff and I have been working on the issues and are currently in the process of planning alternate options for parking over the holiday weekends. We are also making sure that all guest arrivals over future holiday weekends know that we will only allow 2 parking spaces per reservation.

We do look forward to an opportunity to serve you again in the future and thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner, General Manager
GullWing Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Will be back if I ever get a chance,..great condo on a great beach with a great view...Spacious and comfortable with a very friendly staff...Wifi was free which is always good since i brought netflix along with us...Between the room,the island and the friendly people who live on it, We felt like we were at home the whole trip...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is our 6th time back to GullWing Beach Resort. We love the place, very family oriented, our kids love the location and beach. We always choose a 3 Room Beach Front High Floor and they have the best view of all the beach and best sunsets as well. The Condo concept is excellent for a few days to enjoy. You really need to choose the right times to be there, beaches are not crowded at all, the umbrella/beach rental station is right in front of hotel and very convenient for everyone, very friendly people.
Just the walk down the beach in the afternoon when there is low tide, makes it so nice and if lucky you will be able to see Dolphins swimming around. There is also a Jet Sky Rental, down from the hotel beach, very convenient as well. We recommend this place for any family. Also, great restaurant across the street as well.

Room Tip: Always choose high floor beach front, a little more costly, but you will have the best view ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear jcastillo99,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our GullWing Beach Resort property in Fort Myers Beach. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your 3-room condo with a view of our beach location.

My staff and I work hard to offer all our guests the very best amenities and customer service for each and every guest. It is great to know you took advantage of the beach rentals and optional Jet Ski rentals located nearby. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner
General Manager
GullWing Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the resort for 5 nights as a last getaway before school started. The rooms were amazing, and so many everyday items were already there to make the stay just perfect. Publix is just down the street so you can go there and get everything you need for lunch and dinner. The beach was great. We saw a few stingrays, and one early evening we saw dolphin. Pretty amazing. We will definitely be back. My wife also loved the coffee and tea they offered all day.

Room Tip: I had the bay view, and we were still able to see the ocean. The ocean view rooms would definitely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flvacationer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,681 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
557 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,662 reviews
3.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $179 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing