We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be returning. :(”

Captain Tony's Fishing Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Half day, all day and night fishing excursions. Half day trips venture up to 20 miles off shore , catching a variety of fish, including snapper, grunts , and grouper, providing great family fun. The all day and night trips venture up to 35 miles offshore. These trips are geared toward the avid fisherman.Fishing for, a variety of snapper, grouper, and grunts.The 90ft great getaway and 90ft fishin xpress each have a full galley where you can purchase breakfast, lunch and cold drinks, or you are welcome to bring your own cooler with food and drinks. Both boats have a large air conditioned cabin with dinette seating, and large sundeck for enjoying the sun .
Greeley, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Won't be returning. :(”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have visited Ft. Myers Beach for 5 years in a row now. The past three years we have gone out fishing for a day with Captain Tony on a shared charter. Not the head boat, but a smaller boat with a max of 6 people. This would have been our fourth year. The past three years, it has been a great experience. And so we were super excited to return this year. I called before leaving our home state to put our name on the list to share a charter. We got into Ft. Myers Thursday evening, Saturday Morning at 6am we got a call saying our charter had been cancelled due to the captain being sick. We were very confused as no one called us to tell us that we were scheduled that day. But were excited that it was rescheduled for the next day. We got a call later Saturday evening that due to bad weather the charter was being cancelled again. The next time she had available for us (Monday night) didn't work so we said to keep us on the list. A matter of minutes later we got a call again saying there was an all day charter available on Wednesday. We of course accepted the reservation and confirmed the price, time and location and gave them our credit card info. We then booked a babysitter and made all the arrangements to be gone all day. We showed up on the dock at 7:00am Wednesday. Said Hi to what we thought were our fellow fishermen for the day. After a few minutes and one of the other people talking to the captain, he (the captain) came up to us and pulled out his reservation sheet, which we were not on. There was no explanation or phone call to the office. We were just told we could join the 8am head boat cruise. Which is AWFUL (and many of these reviews confirm that). We called the lady's cell phone who had booked our charter and weren't given much of an explanation, but essentially told it was our fault cause our reservations was "confusing" (they were the ones who had cancelled and called us multiple times) and she offered to give us a list of other captains. There was no apology or anything.
We have had so much in previous years this was really a disappointment and was handled so poorly we have been soured and insulted and won't be returning ever.

If you want the piece of mind of knowing that you will be going fishing and that your reservation has been properly handled go somewhere else! If you want to risk it and hope that you go out on a boat, try it out. We won't be "hoping" again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    25
    10
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was great to get out on the water. Boats were clean and the mates were very helpful and awesome. Would give them five stars, but it seemed a little unorganized at the dock. We were all on one boat and it was extremely crowded, there were no outside seats left and we were a little put off that they fill it so full, then a mate came on our boat and asked 20 people to go onto the second boat so we happily moved over but were stopped by a salty old guy on the docks saying "stay on the boat I didn't tell anybody to switch boats" Another couple said "well someone just moved us over here" and the old guy said "well I'm the captain and I didn't tell you to change boats"...... we still got on the new boat, and there was lots of room. It was great to have a kitchen on board for breakfast and lunch, very reasonably priced.

Would definitely recommend, but would check to see how many people are booked to be on your boat. If we didn't move to the less busy boat we probably wouldn't have had as great of a time. You can also bring your own coolers with drinks and food if you want.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A true description of this Adventure”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

1) Fun Factor- Very high for average fisherman
2) Amount of fish caught – both times I went, we caught over 15 fish each. We ended up with 7 pounds of filets.
3) Catching the fish – You need to “Hook” them and in some spots you will have bites as soon as you enter the water.
4) Types of fish – we caught mostly smaller snappers, white fish and groupers. The grouper need to be over 20 inches to take home. Others caught a range of fish.
5) Crew – I think all the reviews mention the crew as being absolutely super. They fileted all my fish for tips.
6) Crowding – Could definitely be a problem. We did have tangled lines a few times. The crew was there to untangle very quickly.
7) Cruise and fishing times- Boat leaves at exactly 9:30am, arrives at fishing grounds at 11:30am, moved 3 times, left fishing grounds at 2:00pm and arrived at dock at 4:00pm
8) Food – there is a nice little galley with a friendly cook to grab breakfast (under 5) and lunch and snacks. You can bring your own food and we brought lots because you get hungry.
9) Booze – Some patrons brought their own beer but I saw no rowdiness.
10) Kids – I would NOT recommend for young kids (Under 10) or you will be helping them fish and not able to fish yourself. Don’t waste your time and money fishing with 6 years olds!
11) Accessibility – there were no wheelchairs on board the cruise that I did but they may be able to accommodate them. (Ask) My son uses a walker and that was NO PROBLEM at all. The crew was great!
12) Things to bring- Seasick med, sun screen, food and drink.
13) IMPORTANT – Get there an hour early and choose your spot. Sun side or shade side, also grab a table in the galley to sit in on the way out or back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DutchCanuck58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of fish, lots of fun!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

On an all-girls long weekend to the Fort Myers, FL area, my neighbor and I decided we wanted to go deep sea fishing. We contacted Captain Tony's Fishing Adventures and booked ourselves on the Queen Conch boat with Captain Chris. Three other men of varying ages were also booked. We paid the half day price, but the boat left at 8 a.m. and didn't get back to the dock until 3:45 p.m. We took a nice boat ride approximately an hour and half out into the middle of the Gulf of Mexico and then dropped anchor. I should mention that the boat was clean and very comfortable. There was a small bathroom on board. At our first of three stops, Captain Chris provided us with our own deep sea fishing rods and reels, showed us how to use them and baited our hooks. As we pulled in fish, he was very informative on what type of fish we caught, how big it needed to be to be kept and he showed us all the intricasies of each species (i.e. the Groupers' interesting gills, the Snappers' tongues, etc.). He was very attentive to everyone on the boat. If bait was needed, he was there. If large fish needed to be brought in with a hook, he was there. Between my neighbor and I, we pulled in approximately 40-45 fish in total. We were able to keep and filet 16 (those that were large enough). The fish was so fresh and tasty! We brought our own cooler of drinks and food, as did the other fishermen. We had such an enjoyable day and were so happy that our fishing expedition was so successful. I felt guilty that my husband, whose an avid fisherman, wasn't there with us. We plan to travel to the same location soon and are really excited to contact Captain Chris again. He said that the summers are shark season, so I think that's what's next on the agenda. We really had a great time and hope that you do too!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Caught fish & great crew!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We caught 21 fish, and my son-in-law caught the biggest Snapper and received the cash pot for the day! Hardworking crew and nice boat. Highly recommend this outfit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tony's Fishing Adventures also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Tony's Fishing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing